We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Onse Khaya, Onse Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Onse Khaya Lodging & Conferencing
Ranked #13 of 43 Summerstrand B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bloemfontein, South Africa
1 review
“Onse Khaya, Onse Excellent”
Reviewed October 26, 2013

Always friendly and professional service with a personal touch. Great setting in a great city. Rooms are always neat and is very luxurious with great value for money. Very safe area and close to shops and restaurants.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank JacquesErasmus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    33
    8
    3
    3
See reviews for
20
22
8
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
East London, South Africa
Level Contributor
94 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2013 via mobile

This is a perfect location. Close to the Boardwalk conference centre and other attractions. The staff are super friendly and helpful. The rooms are very comfortable well appointed. The dining room / lounge area offers space to sit and relax and read. Breakfast is prepared and served with a personal touch and warm hospitality.
And at the price, it is great value for business travel.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CJD_D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed September 24, 2013

What an absolutely lovely venue. The Staff were wonderful, from the owner that met us at the doorway, to the lovely lady that bid us farewell and a safe journey at the reception desk. The breakfast was really enjoyable and extremely satisfying portions were served, the accommodation was comfortable and the room and bedding spotlessly clean. And all of this for a very reasonable tariff.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Lynne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013

THis is the second time we stayed in one of the owners' properties. The service and friendliness has always been very good. The rooms are exceptionally clean, neat, spacious, modern and well equipped. Only a shower (which I prefer), satellite TV with limited channels, large double bed, enough electricity plugs, small table for evening work on the laptop and small fridge.
The option to have breakfast either included or not makes it ideal for business trips where one does not always breakfast at the guest house.
I recommend them very strongly. Rates are very reasonable.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HendrikDuToit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 25, 2013

Both my wife and I stayed here during the 9th instalment of Ironman South Africa during April 2013. Rooms are well equipped and the communal living area is welcoming for people wanting to get out of their rooms.

The location is idea for competitors as well as supporters with a very short walk (less than 1km) to race start.

I would highly recommend Onse Khaya which is ideally located and well equipped.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Myburgh123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed April 15, 2013 via mobile

My boyfriend was doing the ironman, we stayed at Onse Khaya guest house. I travel a lot and stay at many guest houses as part of business trips. I have never seen people go to this extend in service and hospitality. Jannie and Lizelle even supplied the ironman team with tools for their bikes. I needed to work and they assisted me with copying and emailing work documents.

The food was amazing, the rooms are very clean and spacious. Jannie and Lizelle went over and beyond to make sure that we enjoy our stay as much as possible and to make sure that we have everything that we need.

This guesthouse is highly recommended! I will not come to PE again without staying at Onse Khaya guesthouse!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ancois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howick, KwaZulu-Natal, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed February 5, 2013

This was a delightful experience for a family of five who shared two large comfortable adjoining rooms. A full breakfast was supplied and the rooms were well equipped to self cater. Host and hostess delightfully helpful and friendly. Definitely worth a revisit

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Figment10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Summerstrand hotels
0.4 mi away
The Boardwalk Hotel
The Boardwalk Hotel
#2 of 13 in Summerstrand
469 reviews
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Port Elizabeth
0.3 mi away
The Beach Hotel
The Beach Hotel
#9 of 13 in Summerstrand
425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Beachwalk Bed and Breakfast
Beachwalk Bed and Breakfast
#2 of 43 in Summerstrand
325 reviews
0.0 mi away
No 5 Boutique Art Hotel
No 5 Boutique Art Hotel
#1 of 13 in Summerstrand
258 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pine Lodge Resort & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Onse Khaya Lodging & Conferencing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Onse Khaya Lodging & Conferencing

Property: Onse Khaya Lodging & Conferencing
Address: 9 Brighton Drive, Summerstrand, Port Elizabeth 6001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Port Elizabeth > Summerstrand
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Summerstrand
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Onse Khaya Lodging & Conferencing 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Onse Khaya offers modern, up market, spacious, comfortable and affordable accommodation for the tourist and discerning business man in Summerstrand, Port Elizabeth, South Africa. We are located within walking distance of the warm Indian Ocean, safe bathing blue flag beaches, surfing, fishing and many other water sports, beach front activities and all the amenities, just 10 minutes from the Port Elizabeth International Airport. 9 Beautiful appointed rooms with en-suite bathrooms, covered patios and private entrances in a beautiful tranquil garden. All of our bedrooms are generously proportioned, have ample facilities for sitting and relaxing, guests also have at their disposal, remote controlled TV with access to DSTV channels. Guests can enjoy a delicious breakfast and dinners (on request),served in the comfort and conviviality of our guest dining room/lounge. Subject to prior arrangement, guests can also make use of the billiard table, and communal braai/barbeque facility. Mini Bars and snacks available in all rooms for purchase. Please note by law only alcohol bought from Onse Khaya Lodging may be consumed on the premises ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Onse Khaya Lodging & Conferencing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Onse Khaya Lodging & Conferencing Port Elizabeth/Summerstrand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing