We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Luxurious Hotel with Friendly and Helpful Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Boardwalk Hotel
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Summerstrand
Certificate of Excellence
Dundee
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A Luxurious Hotel with Friendly and Helpful Staff”
Reviewed February 27, 2014

Unfortunately we only stayed there one night as our trip was with a group. The hotel was in a lovely setting and an added bonus was seeing the Nelson Mandela Bay beachfront from our terrace so relaxing listening to the Indian ocean waves pounding the pier.
The hotel has a lovely indoor and outdoor pool (indoor open 24 hours a day). The room was large and very comfortable with a luxurious bathroom and toiletries of the best quality as you would expect from a 5 star hotel.
Breakfast was a feast for the eyes with many choices to satisfy the most discerning of guests.
Complimentary bottled water and a fold down service completed the excellent service we received.
Shopping and restaurants are in the complex which has a multimedia lake spectacular (water illuminated water jets which are choreographed to dance and move to music) at 8pm.
A thoroughly enjoyable short stay in an elegant hotel with caring staff and excellent food at reasonable prices.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front with the large terrace..
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BishopDundee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fiona B, Guest Relations Manager at The Boardwalk Hotel, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Dear BishopDundee

Thank you for the positive feedback on our hotel. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Boardwalk Hotel Convention Centre & Spa.

We trust that your next stay will be as memorable as the last.

Kindest Regards
The Boardwalk Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

475 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    320
    111
    28
    10
    6
See reviews for
78
207
20
101
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northumberland
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2014

We only stayed one night here on the way to Shamwari Game Reserve, but what a fantastic find. We were upgraded to a fabulous junior suite (room 418), with dining table, sideboard, lounge area, sleeping area and massive bathroom. The staff here are amazing, extremely attentive and welcoming. Very nice breakfast, superb public areas and secure underground parking. Don't miss the evening water fountains/music and lights show - it only lasts 15 mins but is a wonderful spectacle.

Room Tip: Room 418 is massive
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suzieNorthumberland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fiona B, Guest Relations Manager at The Boardwalk Hotel, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Dear suzie Northumberi

Your feedback is most valuable to us. We thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review on our property.

We trust that you will visit the Boardwalk Hotel again in the near future.

We look forward to welcoming you back again.

Kindest Regards
The Boardwalk Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2014

We had an office offsite to Kwantu & Port Elizabeth.

Must say The Boardwalk is a wonderful property, with a superb view.
Wonderful staff - Fiona the manager.... service with a smile.
Good food.
I felt it was a Fairyland experience.

Room Tip: We were on the 2nd flr., room facing the ocean with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PARIZAD S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fiona B, Guest Relations Manager at The Boardwalk Hotel, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Dear Pariastoo

Thank you for the positive feedback on our hotel, we are pleased that you enjoyed your time with us.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Boardwalk Hotel in the near future again.

Kindest Regards

The Boardwalk Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 6 Contributor
52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2014

I stayed here with 37 finance team members and all of them were elated to be here. Staff is awesome who took care of every small detail in terms of food and other requirements. They accommodated us on all time delays due to activities lined up by us.

View from the room is simply breathtaking. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: All rooms on 1st floor have balcony which are connected. This offers a great view and if you are wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ranjan_Narayan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fiona B, Guest Relations Manager at The Boardwalk Hotel, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Dear Ranjan_Narayan
It was such a pleasure hosting your group at our hotel; we are pleased that you and your entire group enjoyed the stay. We trust that you will visit us in the near future again and we all look forward to welcoming you back to Port Elizabeth and the Boardwalk Hotel.
Kindest Regards
The Boardwalk Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull
Level 5 Contributor
35 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2014

Only had one night here as part of our tour but thought the room and especially the bathroom were excellent. Location is good with beach opposite and shops ,restaurants close by. Breakfast was good but not as good as others on our tour. Would have been happy to stay longer.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fiona B, Guest Relations Manager at The Boardwalk Hotel, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Dear Barbara G
Your feedback is most important to us, thank you for sharing your experience and we trust that you will visit the Boardwalk Hotel in the near future again. We value your business and look forward to welcoming you back.
Kindest Regards
The Boardwalk Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gillingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
322 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2014

I cannot fault this hotel. It is a large hotel complex adjacent the beach but somehow retains the personnel touch. The staff are friendly, helpful and very well trained. The rooms are spotless and regularly well serviced with all the facilities and well appointed. It has indoor and outdoor pools and spa facilities.

The surrounding area offers very little outside the complex although you can access the beach. The complex itself has a wide variety of inexpensive restaurants to suit all tastes, mainly around a small lake where there is also a casino. There are shops too with a wide variety of goods aimed mainly at tourists. There are two light shows each night in the small lake. If you want a special meal with a special person, I would recommend the main hotels Kiplings Brasserie Restaurant which is very good indeed and also not expensive.

I don’t think this is a long stay hotel, a night or two at most, but you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TJA950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fiona B, Guest Relations Manager at The Boardwalk Hotel, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Dear TJA950
Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review on our property, your feedback is most important to us and we value all that you have shared.
We trust that you will visit us in the near future again and that your next stay will be as memorable as the last.
Kindest Regards
The Boardwalk Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
johannesburg
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed February 12, 2014

After a stress full day i landed up being booked at the Hotel. The arrival and reception was great. I was escorted to my room and explained all facilities on the way. The room was clean and spacious. I ordered room service and the transaction from ordereing to delivery was what faultless. The Chicken butter curry was very tasty and good. Will definetely stay here again

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hennie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fiona B, Guest Relations Manager at The Boardwalk Hotel, responded to this review, February 15, 2014
Dear Hennie S

Your feedback is most important to us; we thank you for taking the time to write such a positive review on our hotel

We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Boardwalk Hotel in the near future again.

Kindest Regards
The Boardwalk Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Summerstrand
0.9 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Port Elizabeth
0.5 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Port Elizabeth Marine
1.0 mi away
Isango Gate Boutique Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Beach Hotel
The Beach Hotel
#9 of 13 in Summerstrand
427 reviews
4.4 mi away
Hacklewood Hill Country House
Hacklewood Hill Country House
#2 of 33 in Port Elizabeth
274 reviews
0.3 mi away
City Lodge Hotel Port Elizabeth
City Lodge Hotel Port Elizabeth
#12 of 13 in Summerstrand
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Boardwalk Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Boardwalk Hotel

Property: The Boardwalk Hotel
Address: Corner Lodge & Beach Road | Port Elizabeth, Summerstrand, Port Elizabeth 6001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Port Elizabeth > Summerstrand
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Summerstrand
#2 Luxury Hotel in Summerstrand
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Boardwalk Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Boardwalk Hotel, Convention Centre and Spa charmingly captures the grace and detail of Victorian architecture whilst incorporating every modern convenience. The result is a refreshing blend of refinement and urban vogue set against the azure backdrop of the Indian Ocean. Boasting 140 sea-facing guestrooms with an average room size of 39m², the hotel's unique variety of accommodation options satisfy every requirement and offer modern conveniences such as plasma screen TVs, luxurious beds, mini bars and bijou balconies. The 5 Star Boardwalk Hotel is the most exciting leisure attraction in the Eastern Cape, offering 24-hour entertainment and superior conference space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your The Boardwalk Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Boardwalk Hotel Port Elizabeth/Summerstrand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing