We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A hotel with style” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Boardwalk Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Boardwalk Hotel
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Summerstrand
Certificate of Excellence
Gillingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
306 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“A hotel with style”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2014

I cannot fault this hotel. It is a large hotel complex adjacent the beach but somehow retains the personnel touch. The staff are friendly, helpful and very well trained. The rooms are spotless and regularly well serviced with all the facilities and well appointed. It has indoor and outdoor pools and spa facilities.

The surrounding area offers very little outside the complex although you can access the beach. The complex itself has a wide variety of inexpensive restaurants to suit all tastes, mainly around a small lake where there is also a casino. There are shops too with a wide variety of goods aimed mainly at tourists. There are two light shows each night in the small lake. If you want a special meal with a special person, I would recommend the main hotels Kiplings Brasserie Restaurant which is very good indeed and also not expensive.

I don’t think this is a long stay hotel, a night or two at most, but you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TJA950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fiona B, Guest Relations Manager at The Boardwalk Hotel, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Dear TJA950
Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review on our property, your feedback is most important to us and we value all that you have shared.
We trust that you will visit us in the near future again and that your next stay will be as memorable as the last.
Kindest Regards
The Boardwalk Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

446 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    297
    107
    28
    8
    6
See reviews for
72
198
17
95
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
johannesburg
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2014

After a stress full day i landed up being booked at the Hotel. The arrival and reception was great. I was escorted to my room and explained all facilities on the way. The room was clean and spacious. I ordered room service and the transaction from ordereing to delivery was what faultless. The Chicken butter curry was very tasty and good. Will definetely stay here again

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hennie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fiona B, Guest Relations Manager at The Boardwalk Hotel, responded to this review, February 15, 2014
Dear Hennie S

Your feedback is most important to us; we thank you for taking the time to write such a positive review on our hotel

We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Boardwalk Hotel in the near future again.

Kindest Regards
The Boardwalk Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2014 via mobile

We have just left after a 4 day stay nd I think I can not find the correct words to express my stay, since MAGNIFICENT, WONDERFUL, EXTRAORDINAIRE, fall short. Everything was amazing, from the porters who always received us with a huge smile to the manager. We wanted to do some sightseeing and the concierges always went the extra mile even in setting lunchboxes for our self drive to Addo Park. I will leave it up to here since it would ve too long to tell you the wonderful tome we had. Thank you Boardwalk Hotel for giving me the memories of a lifetime, your hotel and your staff are amazing!!!!

Maria Elena Montiel
Caracas, Venezuela

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank María S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fiona B, Guest Relations Manager at The Boardwalk Hotel, responded to this review, February 15, 2014
Dear Maria S

Thank you for the positive feedback on our hotel, we are pleased to hear you enjoyed your day trip to the Elephant Park and it was an absolute pleasure arranging all that for you and your family.

We trust that you will visit out hotel in the near future again.

Kindest Regards

The Boardwalk Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2014

As a frequent guest at Sun Internation Hotels, I still rate The Boardwalk Hotel one of the best yet. spent another amazing week there. The staff are all extremely friendly and always willing to go the extra mile. From managers to bell hops nd doormen can be commended on their excellent service.The rooms are elegantly furnished and immaculate. The food is excellent and room service is fast and efficient. the same applies to the staff in the Prive at the Casino i.e the Staff, food and service. The hotel boasts a spa, indoor nd outdoor swimming pools, gym, conference centres etc. i would definately recommend this hotel whether on a business trip, leisure or family holiday. loads of thrills and frills! everything u'd expect from a 5* hotel.

Room Tip: I usually request a room on the 1st floor, pool deck. fantastic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank allisonh92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fiona B, Guest Relations Manager at The Boardwalk Hotel, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Dear Allisonh92
Thank you for the positive feedback on our hotel, it’s always such a pleasure hosting you.
We trust that you will continue supporting the Boardwalk Complex and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future again.
Kindest Regards
The Boardwalk Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballymena, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
119 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I stayed at the Boardwalk for 3 nights. We had a 2 level room on the top floor with a sitting room downstairs and bedroom and bathroom upstairs both levels had large flat screens all in all very comfortable and with views over the ocean The whole facility was immaculate and staff were constantly cleaning it. In the grounds there is a shopping arcade, casino, theatre, cinema, crazy golf and several restaurants and a water display in the evening a la Bellagio in Las Vegas. The main restaurant served a wide range of high quality food both at breakfast and dinner. My only small quibble was the distance from the lifts to the room but that is due to the layout of the hotel which is low rise with only 4 floors. If you are in Port Elizabeth this is the place to be.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Centrehouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fiona B, Guest Relations Manager at The Boardwalk Hotel, responded to this review, January 26, 2014
Dear Centrehouse
Thank you for taking the time to write such a positive review on our property. Your feedback is most important to us and we value every word. We do apologise that you had to walk a long distance to get to your room but we will update your profile and give you a room closer to the lift on your next visit to our property.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Boardwalk Hotel
Kindest Regards
The Boardwalk Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mossel Bay, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2014

Sadly we only booked 2 rooms for one night - wish we could have stayed longer. The staff, food and hotel was amazing. As a frequent visitor to Sun International Hotels I must say this one came out tops!! Would recommend the hotel anytime, lots of fun things for both adults and children to do.

Room Tip: Get a sea / pool facing room preferably on the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hayley J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fiona B, Guest Relations Manager at The Boardwalk Hotel, responded to this review, January 26, 2014
Dear HayleyVR
Thank you for taking the time to write such a positive review on our property, we are thrilled that you enjoyed your time with us.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future again.
Kindest Regards
The Boardwalk Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wassenaar, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
124 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2014

We stayed with our 3 teenage children at the Boardwalk Hotel in order to drop our oldest child off at PE airport. 1 Night was enough for us but our 3 could have easily stayed longer as they very much enjoyed all the activities like Mini golf, casino, cinema and the variety of restaurants and shops.
I booked a suite with interconnecting rooms, brilliant as we could still keep an eye on the children and enjoy the amenities of the hotel like the Spa.
Breakfast was OK, for a 5 star hotel I had expected a bit more like fresh waffles / pancakes / egg choices etc. Capuccino's were very good!
Staff was very helpful and welcoming. Thank you for your service with a smile.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarinaBahrain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fiona B, Guest Relations Manager at The Boardwalk Hotel, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Dear MarinaBahrain
Your feedback is most important to us and we thank you for taking the time to complete this review, we are so pleased that your children had such a wonderful time at our property. We do apologies that we did not meet your expectations during breakfast but rest assured that your feedback has been forwarded to the Food & Beverage Manager to review. We look forward to welcoming you back to our Hotel in the near future again.
Kindest Regards
The Boardwalk Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Summerstrand
0.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Port Elizabeth
0.8 mi away
Isango Gate Boutique Hotel and Spa
0.5 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Port Elizabeth Marine
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Courtyard Hotel Port Elizabeth
Courtyard Hotel Port Elizabeth
#10 of 13 in Summerstrand
4.0 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Beach Hotel
The Beach Hotel
#8 of 13 in Summerstrand
3.5 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
4.5 mi away
Hacklewood Hill Country House
Hacklewood Hill Country House
#2 of 33 in Port Elizabeth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Boardwalk Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Boardwalk Hotel

Property: The Boardwalk Hotel
Address: Corner Lodge & Beach Road | Port Elizabeth, Summerstrand, Port Elizabeth 6001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Port Elizabeth > Summerstrand
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Summerstrand
#2 Luxury Hotel in Summerstrand
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Boardwalk Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Boardwalk Hotel, Convention Centre and Spa charmingly captures the grace and detail of Victorian architecture whilst incorporating every modern convenience. The result is a refreshing blend of refinement and urban vogue set against the azure backdrop of the Indian Ocean. Boasting 140 sea-facing guestrooms with an average room size of 39m², the hotel's unique variety of accommodation options satisfy every requirement and offer modern conveniences such as plasma screen TVs, luxurious beds, mini bars and bijou balconies. The 5 Star Boardwalk Hotel is the most exciting leisure attraction in the Eastern Cape, offering 24-hour entertainment and superior conference space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your The Boardwalk Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Boardwalk Hotel Port Elizabeth/Summerstrand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing