We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly Disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Protea Hotel by Marriott Port Elizabeth Marine
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Summerstrand
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
94 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Highly Disappointed”
Reviewed May 6, 2009

I was looking forward to staying at this hotel as Protea Hotels usually are of a high standard. However, what I experienced did not meet my expectations.

Check in was efficient, even though two of us requested different rooms to those we were originally booked into. However, the check in clerk did not inform me of hotel parking around the back of the hotel, so our car was parked in the street for the night. Also no porters were available to assist.

My room was fair sized and the crisp white bedding looked fantastic, and it was with the bed being very comfortable.

My bathroom was a very long narrow bathroom, which looked great till I switched on the light. I immediately spotted mould in the tile grouting and on the wall next to the bath. It appears as if someone tried to clean it, but was not succcessful, and just left it. The chipboard around the basin was also swollen and deformed. Chipboard in an environment that gets a lot of moisture??? Asking for trouble.

Room service was ok, but very pricey. 70 ZAR for burger and chips, no matter how good is a rip off in my mind.

Breakfast was the usual hotel buffet, but I had to wait halfway through my meal before I had to complain about not being offered coffee.

Both my colleagues had bad experiences as well.

Come on Protea Hotels you can do better than this

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brutus_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    104
    42
    15
    10
See reviews for
49
86
12
64
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2009

Hotel was well fitted out and we had a great family apartment room. fabulously located right across the road from a great beach and running track. Walking distance to the Broadwalk Casino complex that had food shops restaurants and cinemas. Thankfully the Hotel has its own generator as the power went out at 4pm in Port Elizabeth and it was still off when we flew out the next day at 10am. We stupidly left the hotel and headed to the airport via McDonalds only to find out that they had no power and were closed and there was no food available at the airport except for packets of chips and cold drinks, not really what we wanted for breakfast. We would definately stay at the Protea Marine again and make sure we had breakfast before going to the airport.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Elizabeth
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2009

We booked well in advance for our Xmas lunch. On our arrival the drinks order was taken, but my wife could not get coffee. The waiter informed her that they will only make the coffee at a later stage. The table settings was not xmas like. The food was terrible. The beef was still raw. The complete experence was terrible. I will not go back for another Xmas lunch, ever!!

Stayed December 2008
Helpful?
2 Thank cfvanryswyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2008

We stayed here at the end of our trip along the garden route and we upgraded to an executive room. Very spacious, kitchen area, good size bathroom, a couple of arm chairs to sit back and relax in rather than sitting on the bed all the time. As we were staying 3 nights I am glad we were able to relax and spread out a bit in a larger room!

The hotel is well positioned for the beach, and a 5-10 minute walk takes you down to the Boardwalk which is a largish shopping area and I think there was a casino there as well. It literally takes 90 seconds from hotel to beach, so that was great - the major downside to the hotel are the pools. The main pool is by the bar, and it is in the shade pretty early on in the day, so you won't get a tan, it is also BY THE BAR, so unless you're a supermodel with an amazing body, you won't feel comfortable sitting around trying to relax - the area is simply not conducive to relaxing. If you can find it there is a tiny pool a few floors up. It is the size of a jacuzzi and there are no umbrellas., so overall, head to the beach if you want to relax and get a tan.

Slight digression: We also took a days' safari while we were here. Alan Robinson [-] is an excellent tour guide who knows everything about everything, we were in ore! He picked us up from the hotel in the morning and took us to Addo Elephant park (elephants and much more), provided lunch, and then next door to the private game reserve Schotia (giraffes, rhino, lions, zebra etc) and dropped us back to the hotel later that day. We highly recommend both parks, you can easily do them both in a day.

The main downside to the hotel was that the staff weren't particularly friendly, especially on reception. When we checked out, they overcharged us (we booked directly on their website and got a cheaper deal) and they kept on checking our paperwork as if it were fake! She wanted our contact details so her manager could contact us in case we had to pay the difference, no apology for being overcharged, instead we were made to feel like we were in the wrong.... shame to end on that note. (My boyfriend insisted on the lower rate though, and she had to give in as it was on our reservation paperwork).

Very good hotel though, would recommend for a short stay.

p.s There is a good restaurant called Ginger's up the road too. V.V nice (next to Boardwalk).

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MissSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire
Level Contributor
159 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2008

We were on a cricket tour from the UK when we were lucky enough to stay at this excllent hotel. The only disappointment was that our stay lasted only two nights.

Our suite was huge, beautifully appointed, clean and with a lovely view of the beach. The restaurant was excellent although we could have cooked and served a meal in our suite had we wished.

We would definitely recommend the Protea Hotel Marine to anyone visiting Port Elizabeth. We hope to return there in 2010.

  • Liked — The location, the room, and the superb view.
  • Disliked — There was nothing we did not like.
  • Stayed February 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jilllovescricket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NRW
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2008

We (family with 2 children) spent 2 nights in this hotel. Their family suites are really extraordinary: spacious, well equipped, and with a sideward view to the sea. The outside and the location of the hotel are maybe not too attractive, but the beach is very nice for walking. The restaurant is commendable for dinner as well as for breakfast.

  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank AHmNrw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
190 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2008

Arrived here very tired. Quick check in, welcome drink, and big room with side view of sea. Mood lifted! Used the beach opposite, no point in using the tiny pool. Fabulous dinner, with free port with the cheese course. Nice breakfast. Absolutely fine hotel in all ways, although looks a little austere.

  • Liked — Good location
  • Disliked — Just a bit concretey in design
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yamdrachir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Summerstrand hotels
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Port Elizabeth
0.5 mi away
The Boardwalk Hotel
The Boardwalk Hotel
#2 of 13 in Summerstrand
4.5 of 5 bubbles 465 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Beach Hotel
The Beach Hotel
#9 of 13 in Summerstrand
3.5 of 5 bubbles 417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Courtyard Hotel Port Elizabeth
Courtyard Hotel Port Elizabeth
#12 of 13 in Summerstrand
4.0 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
0.5 mi away
Isango Gate Boutique Hotel and Spa
0.8 mi away
City Lodge Hotel Port Elizabeth
City Lodge Hotel Port Elizabeth
#11 of 13 in Summerstrand
4.0 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Protea Hotel by Marriott Port Elizabeth Marine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel by Marriott Port Elizabeth Marine

Property: Protea Hotel by Marriott Port Elizabeth Marine
Address: Marine Drive, Summerstrand, Port Elizabeth 6001, South Africa (Formerly Protea Hotel Marine)
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Port Elizabeth > Summerstrand
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Summerstrand
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Summerstrand
#7 Luxury Hotel in Summerstrand
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Protea Hotel by Marriott Port Elizabeth Marine 4*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Protea Hotel by Marriott Port Elizabeth Marine - Adding value, always. Among the superior beachfront hotels in Port Elizabeth, the 4-Star Protea Hotel Marine is unparalleled. Overlooking the sun-drenched sands of Pollock Beach, with sweeping views of Algoa Bay, this hotel, in the heart of the Friendly City, is renowned for its quality facilities, personal service and luxurious atmosphere. From the moment you enter the Protea Hotel Marine, you know you are in an exceptional establishment. The large reception area is elegantly decorated, offering the first taste of a stay that promises an unforgettable experience in comfort and style. Ideal for holidaymakers, families and executives alike, the 4-Star Protea Hotel by Marriott Port Elizabeth Marine offers luxurious accommodation in a range of comfortable en-suite rooms that boast spectacular sea views. Delicious meals can be enjoyed in the hotel restaurant and there are excellent conference facilities which can cater for 10 - 90 delegates. A secluded roof top splash pool for hot summer days overlooking the ocean, ideal for adults and kids to enjoy. The Protea Hotel by Marriott Port Elizabeth Marine is situated within walking distance of safe, sandy beaches, various swimming pools, a casino and entertainment complex, not to mention the Museum and Snake Park, and various sporting facilities, including golf. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline, Marriott, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Protea Hotel by Marriott Port Elizabeth Marine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Protea Hotel Port Elizabeth
Protea Hotel By Marriott Port Elizabeth Marine Summerstrand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing