We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Veery satisfied.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Protea Hotel by Marriott Port Elizabeth Marine
Ranked #9 of 13 Hotels in Summerstrand
Reviewed June 30, 2014

Very happy with our stay there. Beautifully renovated. Lovely spacious room. Very good full breakfast. First stayed there as a child in 1946 and in 2104 still a top hotel. Near the beach and beautiful walk ways in Summerstrand. Very good value.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HenryBl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PHMarine, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Port Elizabeth Marine, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2014

Good day HenryBI,

It is truly amazing to have welcomed you back to the hotel and thank you for your loyal support over the past many years. It is great that you were still able to receive the same amazing level of service as the first time you stayed with us. I truly hope and believe that we will continue to deliver on our promises even past the year 2104.

All the best,

Deleur Stander
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (281)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

169 - 175 of 281 reviews

Reviewed June 23, 2014

Spent one night on the 18th of June. Very friendly staff make you feel welcome from the moment you arrive. Had a nice big room and it smelled fresh and clean when I opened the door. Breakfast was nice and a waiter was frequently there to refill the coffee cup and to take away used plates. I was also handed a complimentary newspaper without even asking. Will without hesitation stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Sa-bozo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PHMarine, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Port Elizabeth Marine, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2014

Dear Sa-bozo,

Thank you for the positive review. I am pleased that you received great service and that you enjoyed your stay with us. I will be sure to share your positive comments with the rest of the TEAM.

Kind regards,

Deleur Stander
General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2014

After a long drive from Durban we were pleasantly surprised by the protea hotel everything was great the service the location and the friendly staff too. Being honeymooners upon arrival we received a basket full of fruits and snacks and even a bottle of champagne. The view was great and lots to do in the area. Breakfast buffet also well worth it.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chants03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PHMarine, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Port Elizabeth Marine, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2014

Hi Chants03, how are you?

Congratulations again on you wedding fro all here at the Protea Hotel Marine. I trust you had a great honeymoon! It was out privilege to play a small part in making your honeymoon memorable.

Thank you for the great feedback, I will definitely share it with the rest of the TEAM!

All the best,

Deleur Stander
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2014

The last 2 nights of our travels were spent here. Super big family suite. Consistent across the group, aside for the over abundance of oily foods available at breakfast. Service there a little haphazard. Clean, comfortable and welcoming, what more could you want.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GautengLad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PHMarine, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Port Elizabeth Marine, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2014

Dear GautengLad,

Thank you for the review and your feedback. In particular I am glad that you are sharing what you think we can improve upon. I have shared this with the rest of the TEAM so that when we welcome you back, you will have an even better experience.

Kind regards,

Deleur Stander
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2014

We stayed at the Marine Hotel in Port Elizabeth over the weekend of the 25th April and what an experience. The view was fantastic and the staff were so friendly and helpfull. Breakfast delicious and the overall experience very enjoyable.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jessemy67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PHMarine, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Port Elizabeth Marine, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2014

Dear Jessemy67,

Thank you very much for your kind comments regarding your recent stay with us. I am glad that you were well-looked after and had a great time.

We hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,

Deleur Stander
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2014

Friendly and helpful staff. Lovely location on beach front and can go walking along promenade. Excellent little restuarant next door to the hotel. Rooms clean and neat but could do with update. Did have problem opening room door which meant going all the way back to reception to get key card fixed.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank genilocke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PHMarine, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Port Elizabeth Marine, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2014

Dear Genilocke, are you well?

Thank you very much for the kind comments, as we use our GUESTS' comments to know where we need to improve. We are indeed looking at doing some upgrading of some of our rooms during the course of the next year, so hopefully you will notice the difference when staying with us again.

Kind regards,

Deleur Stander
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2014

I stayed here for 9 nights for the Test match, South Africa v Australia. Easy to find when driving from the airport.

I was in an Executive room, 733 which had great views over parkland to the sea about 150 metres away and away to the right. A huge room with a King bed and a two seater settee and two large easy chairs - you could easily hold a meeting for say five in there very comfortably. A slight negative was the absence of a bath but the shower was very efficient. For some reason, I understand it is not company policy to have a bottom fitted sheet to the bed so the under sheet did tend to crumple a bit which didn't add to the nights sleep.

I like an early room make up which I asked for and this was honoured every day. I also like the fact that the supervisor? - Chantelle did a daily room check to see that everything had been done as it should - she was very helpful. The maintenance staff were prompt and efficient - Nelson & colleague

There is a nice large bar that overlooks the sea front - the large adjacent restaurant does good breakfasts and very nice buffet dinners - no a la carte. There is car parking at the front with more secure parking at the back which I preferred. Free WIFI is provided and there are two computers in the business centre accessed by your WiFi code. Plenty of nice settees near the business centre, just up the stairs from reception and I reckon a good part of the hotel had recently been re- carpeted.

The hotel has a brilliant location in my view in a very nice area. It is about 5 minutes from the Summerstrand shopping centre which whilst not large, has a Pick N Pay supermarket, newsagents and 2 liquor shops etc. It is about a 10 minute walk to the Boardwalk casino, theme type shops and numerous eateries. Pollock beach is about 150 metres away and is a truly lovely place to walk from early in the morning to when the sun sets. You can very safely walk along the front for about half an hour and it is a really nice walk.

I was there for the cricket and St Georges Park is about a 10 minute drive with easy parking very close to the ground. I found the hotel staff to be helpful and accommodating and apart from those already mentioned, Natasha - bar, Cherylanne -reception, the two Johann's and 'Training' - Bianca were all very good - hope Bianca now has her own name badge rather than just Training!

In summary, this is a very nice, comfortable hotel in a good area and helpful staff with the sea 150 metres away and good shops only 5 minutes away. I would be very happy to stay here again.

Room Tip: Go for a sea facing room - lovely views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PHMarine, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Port Elizabeth Marine, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2014

Hi Andrew B, I trust you are well.

Thank you very much for the staying with us during the past cricket test and for the giving us your feedback. This is important to us as it allows us to know where we can improve in our service to our GUESTS.

I will also share your great comments with the rest of the TEAM.

All the best,

Deleur Stander

PS: Yes, Bianca's name tag finally arrived...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Summerstrand
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Port Elizabeth
0.5 mi away
The Boardwalk Hotel
The Boardwalk Hotel
#2 of 13 in Summerstrand
509 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Beach Hotel
The Beach Hotel
#7 of 13 in Summerstrand
456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Paxton Hotel
Paxton Hotel
#7 of 33 in Port Elizabeth
353 reviews
0.8 mi away
City Lodge Hotel Port Elizabeth
City Lodge Hotel Port Elizabeth
#12 of 13 in Summerstrand
126 reviews
0.5 mi away
Isango Gate Boutique Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Protea Hotel by Marriott Port Elizabeth Marine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel by Marriott Port Elizabeth Marine

Address: Marine Drive, Summerstrand, Port Elizabeth 6001, South Africa (Formerly Protea Hotel Marine)
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Port Elizabeth > Summerstrand
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Summerstrand
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Summerstrand
#8 Luxury Hotel in Summerstrand
Price Range: $98 - $185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Protea Hotel by Marriott Port Elizabeth Marine 4*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Protea Hotel by Marriott Port Elizabeth Marine - Adding value, always. Among the superior beachfront hotels in Port Elizabeth, the 4-Star Protea Hotel Marine is unparalleled. Overlooking the sun-drenched sands of Pollock Beach, with sweeping views of Algoa Bay, this hotel, in the heart of the Friendly City, is renowned for its quality facilities, personal service and luxurious atmosphere. From the moment you enter the Protea Hotel Marine, you know you are in an exceptional establishment. The large reception area is elegantly decorated, offering the first taste of a stay that promises an unforgettable experience in comfort and style. Ideal for holidaymakers, families and executives alike, the 4-Star Protea Hotel by Marriott Port Elizabeth Marine offers luxurious accommodation in a range of comfortable en-suite rooms that boast spectacular sea views. Delicious meals can be enjoyed in the hotel restaurant and there are excellent conference facilities which can cater for 10 - 90 delegates. A secluded roof top splash pool for hot summer days overlooking the ocean, ideal for adults and kids to enjoy. The Protea Hotel by Marriott Port Elizabeth Marine is situated within walking distance of safe, sandy beaches, various swimming pools, a casino and entertainment complex, not to mention the Museum and Snake Park, and various sporting facilities, including golf. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Protea Hotel by Marriott Port Elizabeth Marine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Protea Hotel Port Elizabeth
Protea Hotel By Marriott Port Elizabeth Marine Summerstrand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing