We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (327)
Filter reviews
327 results
Traveler rating
102
126
60
25
14
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
102
126
60
25
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sea view nice hotel tour group room was clean and comfortable internet connection opposite the beach room was large hotel is located highly recommend this hotel spent one night buffet breakfast sea front an early flight boardwalk casino marine drive nice breakfast garden route
Filter
Updating list...
208 - 213 of 327 reviews
Reviewed June 23, 2014

Spent one night on the 18th of June. Very friendly staff make you feel welcome from the moment you arrive. Had a nice big room and it smelled fresh and clean when I opened the door. Breakfast was nice and a waiter was frequently there to refill the coffee cup and to take away used plates. I was also handed a complimentary newspaper without even asking. Will without hesitation stay there again.

Date of stay: June 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Sa-bozo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PHMarine, General Manager at Protea Hotel Port Elizabeth Marine, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2014

Dear Sa-bozo,

Thank you for the positive review. I am pleased that you received great service and that you enjoyed your stay with us. I will be sure to share your positive comments with the rest of the TEAM.

Kind regards,

Deleur Stander
General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2014

After a long drive from Durban we were pleasantly surprised by the protea hotel everything was great the service the location and the friendly staff too. Being honeymooners upon arrival we received a basket full of fruits and snacks and even a bottle of champagne. The view was great and lots to do in the area. Breakfast buffet also well worth it.

Date of stay: May 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chants03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PHMarine, General Manager at Protea Hotel Port Elizabeth Marine, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2014

Hi Chants03, how are you?

Congratulations again on you wedding fro all here at the Protea Hotel Marine. I trust you had a great honeymoon! It was out privilege to play a small part in making your honeymoon memorable.

Thank you for the great feedback, I will definitely share it with the rest of the TEAM!

All the best,

Deleur Stander
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2014

The last 2 nights of our travels were spent here. Super big family suite. Consistent across the group, aside for the over abundance of oily foods available at breakfast. Service there a little haphazard. Clean, comfortable and welcoming, what more could you want.

Date of stay: May 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GautengLad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PHMarine, General Manager at Protea Hotel Port Elizabeth Marine, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2014

Dear GautengLad,

Thank you for the review and your feedback. In particular I am glad that you are sharing what you think we can improve upon. I have shared this with the rest of the TEAM so that when we welcome you back, you will have an even better experience.

Kind regards,

Deleur Stander
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2014

We stayed at the Marine Hotel in Port Elizabeth over the weekend of the 25th April and what an experience. The view was fantastic and the staff were so friendly and helpfull. Breakfast delicious and the overall experience very enjoyable.

Date of stay: April 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jessemy67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PHMarine, General Manager at Protea Hotel Port Elizabeth Marine, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2014

Dear Jessemy67,

Thank you very much for your kind comments regarding your recent stay with us. I am glad that you were well-looked after and had a great time.

We hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,

Deleur Stander
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2014

Friendly and helpful staff. Lovely location on beach front and can go walking along promenade. Excellent little restuarant next door to the hotel. Rooms clean and neat but could do with update. Did have problem opening room door which meant going all the way back to reception to get key card fixed.

Date of stay: April 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank genilocke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PHMarine, General Manager at Protea Hotel Port Elizabeth Marine, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2014

Dear Genilocke, are you well?

Thank you very much for the kind comments, as we use our GUESTS' comments to know where we need to improve. We are indeed looking at doing some upgrading of some of our rooms during the course of the next year, so hopefully you will notice the difference when staying with us again.

Kind regards,

Deleur Stander
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews