We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent hotel in great location.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Protea Hotel by Marriott Port Elizabeth Marine
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Summerstrand
Certificate of Excellence
Gandia, Spain
Level Contributor
179 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel in great location.”
Reviewed August 13, 2013

This is a very good hotel right on the beach of a pretty seaside village on the edge of
Port Elizabeth. The staff are excellent as is the food. The rooms are large and clean as is the whole hotel. It is particularly well suited to the disabled as there are unobtrusive ramps everywhere. The only bad point is the lack of sound insulation between rooms. This was a very noisy hotel. You could hear sounds from other rooms above, below and to either side. We heard toilets, showers, hair dryers and even other alarm clocks which is very annoying at five in the morning!

Room Tip: Bring earplugs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    104
    42
    15
    10
See reviews for
49
86
12
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

After a long drive from East London to PE and a number of long meetings we were looking forward to a nice dinner a few beers and a good nights rest!

When we arrived the it was windy and rainy at about 7:30 pm. The porter ran out, grabbed our bags and ushered us in. Knox (guy at front desk) greeted us like in a very friendly manner and if we were regular visitors. THIS ALONE WAS A 10000% IMPROVEMENT from the hotel we stayed at the night before!!

Dinner was great, breakfast refreshing and the friendliness of the staff was top class!

I will definitely visit again and recommend this to other managers and directors!!


Keep up the good work!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BiggyC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Largo, Florida
Level Contributor
85 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2013

We were in South Africa for a 3 week tour, and this was prearranged for us, as were a couple other hotels in the Protea chain in other cities. This particular one was new, roomer, more chic and the rooms themselves were more spacious that others in the chain. The seafront location was stunning. The walk east toward the main shops, casino, restaurants, etc. isn't too bad, provided it isn't raining or cold. It is very windy there so be prepared if you are on foot.

The breakfast buffet was above average, with two stations for eggs & omelets, and many other protein, carb & fruit selections.

The outdoor lounge is so pleasant in the evening, as the moon shines on the ocean, and the waves crashing into the beach. If you book there, pay the upgrade fee for the seafront view, and the view to the rear of the building is a bit sad.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Beachlifelinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
40 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2013

We were a large group that stayed at the hotel on a business trip and received excellent service. The rooms were clean and comfortable. The hotel well positioned in a quite area but still close to the CBD for business purposes and restaurants.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andre d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
140 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013

We found this hotel fine, similar in furnishings etc to the Protea we had stayed at in Knysna, but we were not offered a complimentary upgrade (as we had been there), so we had a view of the carpark/scrubland at the back, rather than the lovely seafront we enjoyed from the bar terrace! The bed was comfortable and the bathroom of an acceptable size.Breakfast was South African buffet and was fine, with eggs/omelettes cooked to order. Location is quite a walk to town, but the seafront walk is pleasant during the day (A little less so after dusk, main street was fairly deserted apart from one or two less than desirable 'characters'!)
The staff let the place down a little, being somewhat surly, and front desk was not able to help us with good driving instructions to our next destination. Luckily I was able to find this myself, then, using the internet, as wifi is free. Also, housekeeping were at the door at 8am, presumably expecting us to be ready to check out already!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pob-Bob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2013

I stayed here for Bly one night while on a business trip.. I wish it were for longer! The rooms are very stylish and roomy. The sea view is spectacular and with the one window ajar I woke up to the sound of the ocean. Bliss. Buffet dinner and breakfast was a feast of flavour and well prepared food. Pricing perfect. Highly recommended. It was unfortunate that the manager-appearing man who greeted me for breakfast was grumpy and the front-desk staff were not attentive and seemed very blasé with all guests, myself included. The rest of the staff were attentive and friendly, especially my barman for the night - what an asset to Protea Hotels! The deck overlooking the ocean is a MUST.. P.E. the Windy City lived up to its name.. But I loved the wind through my hair with the excellent snacks and drinks never in short supply. You can't go wrong with PH Marine

Room Tip: Sea facing, higher floors!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Freddie v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Very nice quick stay in Port Elizabeth. Big, clean, comfortable, well furnished rooms. common areas are well designed and kept spotless. Staff is friendly and professional. View is spectacular. Restaurant was terrific, great food in a lovely location served by a fantastic staff. Wish I had planned a longer stay!

Room Tip: Ocean view, if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MMoranski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Summerstrand hotels
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Port Elizabeth
0.5 mi away
The Boardwalk Hotel
The Boardwalk Hotel
#2 of 13 in Summerstrand
457 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Beach Hotel
The Beach Hotel
#9 of 13 in Summerstrand
411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Courtyard Hotel Port Elizabeth
Courtyard Hotel Port Elizabeth
#12 of 13 in Summerstrand
150 reviews
0.8 mi away
City Lodge Hotel Port Elizabeth
City Lodge Hotel Port Elizabeth
#11 of 13 in Summerstrand
112 reviews
0.5 mi away
Isango Gate Boutique Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Protea Hotel by Marriott Port Elizabeth Marine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel by Marriott Port Elizabeth Marine

Property: Protea Hotel by Marriott Port Elizabeth Marine
Address: Marine Drive, Summerstrand, Port Elizabeth 6001, South Africa (Formerly Protea Hotel Marine)
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Port Elizabeth > Summerstrand
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Summerstrand
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Summerstrand
#7 Luxury Hotel in Summerstrand
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Protea Hotel by Marriott Port Elizabeth Marine 4*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Protea Hotel by Marriott Port Elizabeth Marine - Adding value, always. Among the superior beachfront hotels in Port Elizabeth, the 4-Star Protea Hotel Marine is unparalleled. Overlooking the sun-drenched sands of Pollock Beach, with sweeping views of Algoa Bay, this hotel, in the heart of the Friendly City, is renowned for its quality facilities, personal service and luxurious atmosphere. From the moment you enter the Protea Hotel Marine, you know you are in an exceptional establishment. The large reception area is elegantly decorated, offering the first taste of a stay that promises an unforgettable experience in comfort and style. Ideal for holidaymakers, families and executives alike, the 4-Star Protea Hotel by Marriott Port Elizabeth Marine offers luxurious accommodation in a range of comfortable en-suite rooms that boast spectacular sea views. Delicious meals can be enjoyed in the hotel restaurant and there are excellent conference facilities which can cater for 10 - 90 delegates. A secluded roof top splash pool for hot summer days overlooking the ocean, ideal for adults and kids to enjoy. The Protea Hotel by Marriott Port Elizabeth Marine is situated within walking distance of safe, sandy beaches, various swimming pools, a casino and entertainment complex, not to mention the Museum and Snake Park, and various sporting facilities, including golf. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Marriott, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Protea Hotel by Marriott Port Elizabeth Marine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Protea Hotel Port Elizabeth
Protea Hotel By Marriott Port Elizabeth Marine Summerstrand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing