We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overcharged and substandard room” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Protea Hotel by Marriott Port Elizabeth Marine

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Protea Hotel by Marriott Port Elizabeth Marine
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Summerstrand
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
75 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Overcharged and substandard room”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

We were charged for breakfast 310R. Breakfast staff said meal was included in our room. However we were charged on our credit card later. $33.68 Canadian. Beware of Rip off. Also we could not regulate our water temperature in bathroom. Stay clear!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chances99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PHMarine, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Port Elizabeth Marine, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear Chances99

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us!

Firstly, please accept my sincere apologies for the issue with being charged for breakfast, whilst being under the impression it was included in your rate. There was an obvious breakdown in coomunication with you and it should not have happened. I would like more details to investigate and I will gladly refund you the amount charged. Please e-mail me your date of stay, reservation or room number and name under which booking was made to gm@phmarine.co.za.

Kind Regards
Danie Smit
General Manager
Protea Hotel Marine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    101
    41
    15
    10
See reviews for
48
86
10
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
SA
Level Contributor
94 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2013

We recently spent a night at this wonderful hotel. The Hotel was very busy and they were so accommodating. I was booking late and they managed to find me a room. When we arrived they allowed early check in. The service was brilliant. the rooms are clean and large. The location is excellent, right on the beach. The only thing that i was disappointed about was the hotel pool but if I stay in PE again this is where I will book.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SaLouise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
168 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

If you are in Port Elizabeth then this is a good destination. It is very well renovated and was a very comfortable stay. The deck overlooking Algoa Bay is certainly a winner for sundowners and a light meal. It is very near the main PE attractions so you are in the centre of activity and all the main attractions are within easy reach.

Access is easy from the airport and by car and you can easily walk to the nearby Boardwalk shopping centre and Casino.

Room Tip: The higher up you are (6th floor is best) the better and do get a sea facing room - you will sleep w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PeterV1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012 via mobile

We stopped over for one night. Hotel is very comfortable and has good ocean views. De Kelders resturant next door was excellent and is part of the hotel building. Breakfast in the hotel was very good. Handy as a stop over. Not sure what was nearby as we didn't have time to venture out. The Boardwalk is within walking distance.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Johndeirdre1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laguna, philippines
Level Contributor
405 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 211 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2012

The hotel is near the boardwalk- two blocks away from the grocery store, and two blocks the other way to the casino. Breakfast was very good- I enjoyed it very much. There's a small gym and a swimming pool on top.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mamabelz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
São Paulo - Brazil
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012 via mobile

Very convenient location near to Boardwalk, where you can find a bunch of restaurants and stores. Overall good, but not fantastic. Just cross the road to get to the beach.
The furniture was not that new, but room and bathroom were very clean. Breakfast was very good, big buffet with many choices of bread And juices.
Although, its a big Company hotel, much more impersonal and not as cosy as a b&b.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Renatamsg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London,ON
Level Contributor
58 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

We were here for three nights and thoroughly enjoyed the Hotel. Staff was courteous, helpful and check in and out was a breeze. Room was very comfortable and roomy!. beautiful view of the Bay. Dinner Buffet and Breakfast Buffet were each spectacular. Food was delicious, lots of choice and wait staff were very pleasant. Chef was a great person with a real accommodating sense of service to the people. I wold highly recommend this hotel and felt it was good value.

Room Tip: Ask for a Sea view room, if available, a beautiful view of Nelson Mandela Bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Scottyjas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Summerstrand hotels
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Port Elizabeth
0.5 mi away
The Boardwalk Hotel
The Boardwalk Hotel
#2 of 13 in Summerstrand
4.5 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
0.7 mi away
Courtyard Hotel Port Elizabeth
Courtyard Hotel Port Elizabeth
#10 of 13 in Summerstrand
4.0 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Beach Hotel
The Beach Hotel
#8 of 13 in Summerstrand
3.5 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
0.8 mi away
City Lodge Hotel Port Elizabeth
City Lodge Hotel Port Elizabeth
#12 of 13 in Summerstrand
4.0 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
0.5 mi away
Isango Gate Boutique Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Protea Hotel by Marriott Port Elizabeth Marine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel by Marriott Port Elizabeth Marine

Property: Protea Hotel by Marriott Port Elizabeth Marine
Address: Marine Drive, Summerstrand, Port Elizabeth 6001, South Africa (Formerly Protea Hotel Marine)
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Port Elizabeth > Summerstrand
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Summerstrand
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Summerstrand
#7 Luxury Hotel in Summerstrand
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Protea Hotel by Marriott Port Elizabeth Marine 4*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Protea Hotel by Marriott Port Elizabeth Marine - Adding value, always. Among the superior beachfront hotels in Port Elizabeth, the 4-Star Protea Hotel Marine is unparalleled. Overlooking the sun-drenched sands of Pollock Beach, with sweeping views of Algoa Bay, this hotel, in the heart of the Friendly City, is renowned for its quality facilities, personal service and luxurious atmosphere. From the moment you enter the Protea Hotel Marine, you know you are in an exceptional establishment. The large reception area is elegantly decorated, offering the first taste of a stay that promises an unforgettable experience in comfort and style. Ideal for holidaymakers, families and executives alike, the 4-Star Protea Hotel by Marriott Port Elizabeth Marine offers luxurious accommodation in a range of comfortable en-suite rooms that boast spectacular sea views. Delicious meals can be enjoyed in the hotel restaurant and there are excellent conference facilities which can cater for 10 - 90 delegates. A secluded roof top splash pool for hot summer days overlooking the ocean, ideal for adults and kids to enjoy. The Protea Hotel by Marriott Port Elizabeth Marine is situated within walking distance of safe, sandy beaches, various swimming pools, a casino and entertainment complex, not to mention the Museum and Snake Park, and various sporting facilities, including golf. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Marriott and Travelocity so you can book your Protea Hotel by Marriott Port Elizabeth Marine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Protea Hotel Port Elizabeth
Protea Hotel By Marriott Port Elizabeth Marine Summerstrand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing