We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean neat and spacious”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Courtyard Hotel Port Elizabeth
Ranked #11 of 13 Hotels in Summerstrand
Reviewed January 5, 2014

Stayed at the Courtyard on 20 December 2013 our way to Cape Town. Staff were friendly, accommodation spacious, clean and well priced. Only draw back, no restaurant on premises, but loads in the vicinity.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carla L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (154)
There are newer reviews for Courtyard Hotel Port Elizabeth
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

87 - 93 of 154 reviews

Reviewed December 30, 2013

Used hotel for one night as stopover to Safari. Nice comfortable room for family of 3, they had placed a full size single bed for my 14 year old which was nice. Clean, comfortable and very handy for the boardwalk.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wiltsKeith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Courtyard Hotel Port Elizabeth, responded to this reviewResponded December 31, 2013

Happy New Year - thanks for staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2013

We have stayed here four times and enjoyed every one of them. The rooms are large and comfortable, the views over the ocean are great. We stayed in Port Elizabeth for many years and loved the place. The only problem we had was the black mould in the shower. This means that the shower is not cleaned and disinfected regularly. Unacceptable! When I reported that to the front desk, the lady was mildly amused. We were not.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SouthAfricaDeon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2013

Very well located with Boardwalk just a walk away. Rooms are nice with spacious bathrooms. Please note that WiFi is free only for 15mins and furthur use is chargeable. I would advise choosing a room on ground floor which is convenient to park your car and load/unload luggage.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rohit_1801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2013

Stayed here for just one night passing through PE for Lesotho. The central lobby is grand and reminds one of a great colonial palace. The rooms are large with great views over the indian ocean. Staff are friendly and the free nibbles and drinks in the afternoon were much appreciated. The pool is on the small size but great for refreshing dips. Breakfast was great but no restaurant meant you had to order take away if you didn't want to go out.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank binnysays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Courtyard Hotel Port Elizabeth, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2013

Thank your for your review. We hope you will visit us again in the not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2013

This is one of the best choices for accommodation in Port Elizabeth. I have stayed at the Courtyard three times and have enjoyed every stay. This time we stayed in a suite - two huge bedrooms en suite and a connecting lounge/dining room/ktichenette.The suite is great value for a family or group of friends and you can park right outside the back door. The view is over the sea and it is within walking distance of the Boardwalk casino complex next door. Some people might find the limited services a disadvantage (the hotel only serves breakfast) but we loved the choice of surrounding restaurants and the fact that there are menus of the room for delivery from some nearby ones. Another disadvantage may be the sounds of passing traffic and ,music from a nearby late-night club, but that is one of the prices you pay for being right on the beachfront. It didn't worry us unduly. So, top marks for this clean, well-located hotel. This is the premier brand in the City Lodge Group and you can find cheaper options at the City Lodge, Road Lodge and Town Lodge outlets nearby,

Room Tip: We like the floor level with the car park, which is usually the ground floor or first floor, no step...
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank peterxhosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Courtyard Hotel Port Elizabeth, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2013

Thanks so much for your very comprehensive and very kind review of our hotel - we look forward to your next visit! It's also great to know that you fully understand the difference between our four brands.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

The Couryard Hotel in Port Elizabeth was a good choice for many reasons: Firstly, the location was perfect, walking distance from the Boardwalk Convention Centre and right on the beach. The rooms were very, very nice. It was huge by any standard, especially the bathroom was larger than most European hotel rooms. I found everything to be clean (my most important criteria) and cannot fault anything.

Room Tip: Ground floor suites can be a bit noisy when people walk past, but you can park your car right next t...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VPK-CT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Courtyard Hotel Port Elizabeth, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2013

Thank you so much for your kind comments - we really appreciate them - hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Summerstrand
0.1 mi away
City Lodge Hotel Port Elizabeth
City Lodge Hotel Port Elizabeth
#12 of 13 in Summerstrand
120 reviews
1.0 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Port Elizabeth
0.2 mi away
The Boardwalk Hotel
The Boardwalk Hotel
#2 of 13 in Summerstrand
485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Port Elizabeth Marine
0.2 mi away
Town Lodge Port Elizabeth
Town Lodge Port Elizabeth
#11 of 33 in Port Elizabeth
112 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Beach Hotel
The Beach Hotel
#8 of 13 in Summerstrand
439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Hotel Port Elizabeth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Hotel Port Elizabeth

Address: 1 Lodge Road Cnr Beach Roads, Summerstrand, Port Elizabeth 6013, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Port Elizabeth > Summerstrand
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Summerstrand
Price Range: $103 - $129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Courtyard Hotel Port Elizabeth 4*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Courtyard Hotel Port Elizabeth is situated on Marine Drive in the Boardwalk Casino and Resort complex, directly opposite the famed Humewood International Beach of the Eastern Cape. The hotel consists of 91 suites and studios some with sea facing views. Situated 8 minutes from the CBD and 5 minutes from Port Elizabeth Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Courtyard Hotel Port Elizabeth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Port Elizabeth
Port Elizabeth Courtyard
Courtyard Hotel Port Elizabeth Summerstrand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing