We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, excellent stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Courtyard Hotel Port Elizabeth
Ranked #11 of 13 Hotels in Summerstrand
Reviewed January 6, 2013

The location of the hotel is excellent, and is walking distance from the beach, resturants and the boardwalk casino area. The rooms are spacious and clean, excellent bathroom facilities and excellent view from the room, as we stayed on the 3rd floor. Would however prefer more comfortable seating on the balcony. The kichenette in the room was very convenient and having the basics was great. Will definitely stay here again, staff are friendly and helpful. The complimentary 17:00 - 19:00 drinks and snacks time was a great idea for relaxing and enjoying the hotel view overlooking the beach.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GeetaD_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (155)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

104 - 110 of 155 reviews

Reviewed November 17, 2012

The location of the hotel is very good - close to the airport, opposite the beach, close to restaurants, right next to the casino. Rooms were clean and spacious. Only slight negative is the very busy road in front of the hotel, but noise cannot be heard with doors closed at night, so no problems sleeping. Staff were great, especially Andile who went out of his way to help us. Lusanda and Morgan were great too, all staff were great to be honest! Very good experience.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wandy1342
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2012

The courtyard is a good comfortable hotel right next to the Boardwalk entertainment complex in PE and directly across the road from Kings Beach. All the spacious rooms have their own balcony with at least a view of the sea. It serves an excellent breakfast. There is no evening meal option - but the hotel is close to all the local restaurants (so you can eat at different places every night all week). WiFi is available (at reasonable cost).

Room Tip: You do get some noise from 'Barneys Pub' across the road - so ask for somewhere quiet if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chris_from_Dorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2012

We ended up staying in Port Elizabeth unexpectedly and chose Courtyard without any research. Overall a very nice hotel close to The Boardwalk where we had dinner. Large room and bathroom and comfy bed. Would recommend.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank msgoldenhaIr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2012

We have stayed on several occasions at this Hotel we like the situation close to the beach,
restaurants and part of the Boardwalk casino complex with alot of things to do. Ideal for families, kids can swim in the hotel pool , ten pin bowling and kids entertainment centre at the boardwalk. The rooms a very spacious , clean and well stocked with amenities. Shuttel service to boardwalk so you can park your car in secure parking at the Hotel.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms are nicer with balconies and the best would be to the left of reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CapeTownHurdygurdy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2012

We enjoyed our stay at this hotel.The kitchenette was a much appreciated extra to our spacious rooms. We enjoyed the complimentary drinks and breakfast as well as the view from our balcony. The staff were helpful and friendly. We will stay here again. The hotel orgonised transport from the hotel to the airport for us. We were really impressed with the service and the person who drove us to the airport. We did not enjoy the noise from the business across the road!!!!!!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rykoors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2012

We only needed a one night stay in PE, but I still took to Tripadvisor for advice on the best place. We stayed at 5 other places in South Africa which were fantastic, but this was a real dud. The lobby/common area was nice enough but we were placed in the farthest room away which was pretty gross. The room was extremely dated and the bathroom in particular, smelled and there was mold on the ceiling of the shower. Being that this was one of the more expensive places we stayed at, I was pretty shocked. What added to our poor experience was the woman at the front desk-- she was rude & dismissive to us. I will give a good review to the nice gentleman on the evening shift who was very pleasant and gave us a nice wake up call.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelLoverNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Summerstrand
1.0 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Port Elizabeth
0.1 mi away
City Lodge Hotel Port Elizabeth
City Lodge Hotel Port Elizabeth
#12 of 13 in Summerstrand
122 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Boardwalk Hotel
The Boardwalk Hotel
#2 of 13 in Summerstrand
495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Port Elizabeth Marine
0.2 mi away
The Beach Hotel
The Beach Hotel
#8 of 13 in Summerstrand
449 reviews
0.2 mi away
Town Lodge Port Elizabeth
Town Lodge Port Elizabeth
#14 of 33 in Port Elizabeth
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Hotel Port Elizabeth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Hotel Port Elizabeth

Address: 1 Lodge Road Cnr Beach Roads, Summerstrand, Port Elizabeth 6013, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Port Elizabeth > Summerstrand
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Summerstrand
Price Range: $104 - $127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Courtyard Hotel Port Elizabeth 4*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Courtyard Hotel Port Elizabeth is situated on Marine Drive in the Boardwalk Casino and Resort complex, directly opposite the famed Humewood International Beach of the Eastern Cape. The hotel consists of 91 suites and studios some with sea facing views. Situated 8 minutes from the CBD and 5 minutes from Port Elizabeth Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Courtyard Hotel Port Elizabeth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Port Elizabeth
Port Elizabeth Courtyard
Courtyard Hotel Port Elizabeth Summerstrand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing