We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
City Lodge Hotel Port Elizabeth
Nearby Hotels
$136
$130
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$103
Radisson Blu
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
The Beach Hotel(Summerstrand)
$194
$161
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No5 by Mantis(Summerstrand)
$175
$161
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Singa Lodge(Summerstrand)
$173
$74
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$142
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Boardwalk Hotel(Summerstrand)
$178
$167
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$112
$109
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$118
$98
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Blue Bay BnB(Summerstrand)(Great Value!)
$61
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (136)
Filter reviews
136 results
Traveler rating
29
68
34
2
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
29
68
34
2
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslively barearly morning and eveningbutcher blockcloset and storage spacesize deskterrific selectionamerican style breakfastlive comedyrooms have ocean viewsinteresting crittersking bed was very comfortableamazing menuduring daylight hoursminute walk from the hotelcorporate rateefficient hotelselection of tv channels
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
104 - 109 of 136 reviews
Reviewed June 22, 2012

I went up on business on two occasions and i thought i must make mention of my stay at the City Lodge Hotel. When i walked in i found it to be neat and modern. approaching the reception, i was greeted by very friendly staff who went out of their way to help me. in no time i was given my key card and directed to my room. on entering my room i found it to be compact, with a fresh smell and very clean. the double bed was comfortable and they had coffee and tea in the room. they also have DSTV satellite television, which was a bonus. only Breakfast is served and is reasonable in selection. if you want dinner and lunch, the Broad Walk complex is just up the road< about five minute walk. A pleasant stay by all accounts.

Room Tip: Front Facing rooms if possible, but if you staying for business any room is good
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Andrew L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2012

I have stayed there for one night during a quick visit.

The location is very nice near the beach. The surroundings are aslo save and close to an area with lots of shops and restaurants.

Breakfast was realy good and the staff very friendly.

Rooms were spacious but unfortunally not overlooking the seaview. But all what you want was present in the room.

Overall good experience and I will be back !

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank huguesheylen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2012

Just the place to stay when visiting the Friendly City. After all, the best time to visit PE is between March & June. Best service received from City Lodge management & staff. Rooms were perfect & clean & very comfortable. Breakfast was super & a big variety. Walking distance to all close attractions, and the SUPER BEACH!! I recommend PE & City Lodge for a super Holiday.

Room Tip: Choose non smoking with sea view. Super!!
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Linda V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2012

We stayed here as a stopover before getting our car and driving west on the Garden Route. The hotel lobby was nice and appeared recently renovated. The rooms were basic but clean and had a separate tub and shower. Location is right on the beach, close to the airport, and made for an easy drive to leave town the next morning. We decided to spend some time in the lobby planning our next few days and were well taken care of by the staff. We'd decided not to select from the hotel menu but rather order pizza. The restaurant staff brought us napkins and plates unexpectedly. I have never experienced something like this is any hotel and was extremely impressed. The breakfast was very good with tons of choice hot and cold. If in PE again I would definitely stay here and will be looking at their other properties in SA for future travel in other locations.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EP05313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2012

I have been traveling to Port Elizabeth for many years and normally stayed at the City Lodge Beach Road. I guess for a chain hotel group it is probably the standard to offer. The hotel is about 10 minutes away from Port Elizabeth air port. The rooms are average with a very peculiar color scheme ( see photo attached ) It is close to most restaurants but all of them close at 10 pm. Room service is available from some of the restaurants in the area, but all orders need to be placed before 930 pm I am told. The hotel is situated on the beach front with a casino in walking distance from the hotel. During the renovations of the casino complex, no shuttle service will be available. The breakfast is good, but expensive. You will have more value for money having breakfast elsewhere. A new hotel has opened next to the city lodge and will definately be my next choice.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank diekudus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews