We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
City Lodge Hotel Port Elizabeth
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
Brookes Hill Suites(Port Elizabeth)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Boardwalk Hotel(Summerstrand)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Chapman Hotel(Port Elizabeth)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Kelway Hotel(Port Elizabeth)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Beach Hotel(Summerstrand)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Garden Court Kings Beach(Port Elizabeth)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
SUN1 Port Elizabeth(Port Elizabeth)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
Reviews (136)
Filter reviews
136 results
Traveler rating
29
68
34
2
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
29
68
34
2
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslively barearly morning and eveningbutcher blockcloset and storage spacesize deskterrific selectionamerican style breakfastlive comedyrooms have ocean viewsinteresting crittersking bed was very comfortableamazing menuduring daylight hoursminute walk from the hotelcorporate rateefficient hotelselection of tv channels
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
106 - 111 of 136 reviews
Reviewed May 1, 2012

Just the place to stay when visiting the Friendly City. After all, the best time to visit PE is between March & June. Best service received from City Lodge management & staff. Rooms were perfect & clean & very comfortable. Breakfast was super & a big variety. Walking distance to all close attractions, and the SUPER BEACH!! I recommend PE & City Lodge for a super Holiday.

Room Tip: Choose non smoking with sea view. Super!!
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Linda V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2012

We stayed here as a stopover before getting our car and driving west on the Garden Route. The hotel lobby was nice and appeared recently renovated. The rooms were basic but clean and had a separate tub and shower. Location is right on the beach, close to the airport, and made for an easy drive to leave town the next morning. We decided to spend some time in the lobby planning our next few days and were well taken care of by the staff. We'd decided not to select from the hotel menu but rather order pizza. The restaurant staff brought us napkins and plates unexpectedly. I have never experienced something like this is any hotel and was extremely impressed. The breakfast was very good with tons of choice hot and cold. If in PE again I would definitely stay here and will be looking at their other properties in SA for future travel in other locations.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EP05313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2012

I have been traveling to Port Elizabeth for many years and normally stayed at the City Lodge Beach Road. I guess for a chain hotel group it is probably the standard to offer. The hotel is about 10 minutes away from Port Elizabeth air port. The rooms are average with a very peculiar color scheme ( see photo attached ) It is close to most restaurants but all of them close at 10 pm. Room service is available from some of the restaurants in the area, but all orders need to be placed before 930 pm I am told. The hotel is situated on the beach front with a casino in walking distance from the hotel. During the renovations of the casino complex, no shuttle service will be available. The breakfast is good, but expensive. You will have more value for money having breakfast elsewhere. A new hotel has opened next to the city lodge and will definately be my next choice.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cobus B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2011

Comfortable, well-located business hotel - ideal for my requirements

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Infindibulator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2011

What a wonderful hotel.It is right close to the Board walk shopping and casino complex.Five minute walk will get you there.Some great restaurants right across the road on the beach.The hotel does not serve lunch and dinner but the buffett breakfast was excellent.The hotel has tie up with some restaurants close by so you can order food to your room or go there and eat and charge the meal to your room.
The entire hotel has been recently renovated and everything is sparkling and new.Great staff and warm service.
The only negative points are that even though the hotel is right across from the beach none of the rooms have a sea view.Also no free internet.The internet cost was on the high side .
Great bath and shower and nice fluffy towels.
They have a little swimming pool and also plenty of safe parking.
Nice place to stay and would not mind staying there again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank indian-travellor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews