We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than expected”

The Coachman Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 12 Restaurants in Summerstrand
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Better than expected”
Reviewed February 25, 2014

Located alongside a shopping mall we called without a reservation. There were no tables available inside the restaurant which had a lovely ocean view. We were offered, and accepted, a table adjoining the shopping mall. Pleasant enough and clean where we could enjoy our meal and drinks while watching the world go by.
The waitresses were very attractive in their flowing blue gowns. the food was excellent. Would not hesitate in recommending, but book beforehand.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

608 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    311
    175
    73
    31
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Excellent food, but too big”
Reviewed February 19, 2014 via mobile

I can't fault the food here; it really was lovely and the steak is just fantastic. The service staff are also very friendly and hence I debated whether to give this 4 stars. The problem is that the restaurant is just too big and so service is exceptionally slow- I assume because the kitchen is just so over worked. However if you have time to spare I would still recommend this place as the fact that they can produce such good food out of such a busy kitchen is impressive!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Millie753
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pietermaritzburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Too big for us”
Reviewed February 18, 2014

The place os very big and service patchy - table not set well but food was good. Good view over the bay.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
115 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“A must try in PE”
Reviewed February 5, 2014

This was a excellent dining experience and, having not seen any reviews beforehand, a very unexpected one.

We arrived by chance on our way back to our Hotel from the Boardwalk, after making an snap decision to have an early meal. We were quickly seated on the terrace to enjoy the fabulous ocean views (probably worth the price of the meal in itself!).

While the menu is extensive and covers most bases steaks are the focus. A fillet with camembert and cranberry was recommended and this proved an excellent choice. Both steaks arrived cooked as requested and were as good a piece of meat as we'd tried for a while. With several veg sides included the meal was exceptional value.

Service was friendly and very professional throughout.

We lingered after the meal to savour the atmosphere and the view and felt no pressure to move on. Unfortunately the coffee we ordered was quite weak which was the only (very minor) qibble for the night.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CBK23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best of PE”
Reviewed February 2, 2014

best food and awesome dining experience.

Food is excellent, specialising in meat but also do nice seafood dishes. atmosphere is great and the sea views magnificent. Ive been here about four time but every time if feels like the first time.
A MUST DO when in PE!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Janet S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Coachman Restaurant also viewed

Summerstrand, Port Elizabeth
Port Elizabeth, Eastern Cape
 
Port Elizabeth, Eastern Cape
Summerstrand, Port Elizabeth
 

Been to The Coachman Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing