We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best food we had in Pt. E.”

The Coachman Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 12 Restaurants in Summerstrand
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
182 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“The best food we had in Pt. E.”
Reviewed May 3, 2013

We went there with a group of 7 the day after my IronMan. Needless to say, I was hungry. A bit taken aback by the teal colored Greek nymph-like dresses of the waitresses, we were ushered to the far end of the patio, with a nice view.

The menu has plenty of variety, with a hint of Greek-Mediterrannean. It wasn't just my hunger, everyone enjoyed their food.

But do stay away from that corner of the patio. Turns out that just beyond the railing is where the smokers go for their fix...

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Trilife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

616 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    316
    177
    74
    31
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Food”
Reviewed April 16, 2013

This is a lovely restaurant overlooking the sea. It has an extensive menu. Very good service and great food.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank jersey_09Dublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Elizabeth
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great view, great value, great food!”
Reviewed April 12, 2013

Great view while sipping on good wine or ice cold Castle Light! Good food and friendly waiters.
Steak was awesome and chicken tops!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KatendaPE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannover, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“best steaks in town”
Reviewed April 11, 2013

For me, coachman has the best steaks in PE. On top, you have got a lovely terrace overlooking the ocean at Brookes Hill. The service is friendly, though I find it sometimes a bit overdone.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank JudtimO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Deck views in PE?”
Reviewed April 6, 2013

Excellent food at reasonable prices, attentive and professional service (not often found in PE) combined with some of the best beachfront views in PE make this restaurant a winner!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank LarryInPE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Coachman Restaurant also viewed

Summerstrand, Port Elizabeth
Port Elizabeth, Eastern Cape
 
Port Elizabeth, Eastern Cape
Port Elizabeth, Eastern Cape
 

Been to The Coachman Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing