We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very classy !”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Isango Gate Boutique Hotel and Spa
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Summerstrand
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very classy !”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Beautiful n peaceful hideaway in Port Elizabeth,,excellent service with friendliest and honest staff. Thank for keeping my Pad,never knew there some honest ppl nowadays ! Many thanks!not forgetting their superb healthy breakfast

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sunzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    66
    14
    8
    3
See reviews for
41
111
16
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2013 via mobile

We stayed 2 nights at this beautiful boutique hotel (before and after a safari) on the first night we arrived late and tired and to our sheer delight had been upgraded to the presidential suite; bonus! The staff are attentive, helpful and courteous. The suites are spacious, modern and all have superb showers. We used the spar for a back massage and it was incredible value for money and one of the best massages we have both ever had. This hotel is tucked away off the main road but in a prime location on the sea front; it is a hidden gem and we shall certainly return!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charliecox29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldenburg, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2013

This is an amazing boutique hotel! We went for a back massage at the spa. It was amazing. The staff is hospitable and on top of their game. Such value for money. The massage was very relaxing and the masseuse did an excellent job.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WanderfullAbu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Elizabeth, Eastern Cape, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2013

My partner and I went for a back massage at the Isango Gate Spa - couples special for January and were really impressed with the warm and hospitable welcome we received and with the actual massage, my partner fell asleep as was so relaxed. Thereafter had a fabulous meal at their resturant. the meal was tasty and well presented. Would recommend the overall service as being top notch and will be going back again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andorra la Vella, Andorra
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2012 via mobile

We rented the presidential suite and did feel like heads of states! Wao... It is amazing what money can buy. Our stay was pleasant and the staff were definitely up to the challenge of matching such a level of luxury!

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank gconiel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2012

I spent a good 4 days with my wife at this hotel in August 2012. The hotel itself is something form a fairy tale book. Very clean and classy. A 5 minute stroll to the beach. In a safe and quite neighborhood.

It has a the 5 star whistles and bells; massage, gym, swimming pool and a nice relaxing place by the pool to absorb all those sun rays for a perfect South African tan. Even thou the hotel has gym facilities, I found it both relaxing and exciting going for a jog on the beach in the morning.

The staff is very helpful and professional. We experienced nothing less that a pampering. The evidence of staff drilling to perfection is in every shift.The cuisine was great, except it was all western, I'd kill for a traditional dish. The continental breakfast is free, which is great. The dinning area is just beyond beautiful. Across the dinning area is a bar.

The bedroom is nice and cosy, fully fitted with aircon, bar fridge with all sorts of refreshments, a safe---gee! the list goes on and on...I dare you to complain.

Room Tip: There are garden and sea facing rooms...obviously the sea facing would be a bit pricey however I the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hamonic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East London
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
120 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2012

This is really a top class establishment, every little detail has been incorporated into the design and the service. I really enjoyed the attention and service, best place to stay in Port Elizabeth.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank liyabee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Summerstrand
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Port Elizabeth
1.0 mi away
The Boardwalk Hotel
The Boardwalk Hotel
#2 of 13 in Summerstrand
481 reviews
0.5 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Port Elizabeth Marine
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Hacklewood Hill Country House
Hacklewood Hill Country House
#2 of 33 in Port Elizabeth
276 reviews
2.8 mi away
Paxton Hotel
Paxton Hotel
#8 of 33 in Port Elizabeth
306 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Beach Hotel
The Beach Hotel
#9 of 13 in Summerstrand
430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Isango Gate Boutique Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Isango Gate Boutique Hotel and Spa

Property: Isango Gate Boutique Hotel and Spa
Address: 23 Bournemouth Street, Summerstrand, Port Elizabeth 6001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Port Elizabeth > Summerstrand
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Summerstrand
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Isango Gate Boutique Hotel and Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Isango boutique hotel and Spa is the only Tourism authority 5 star Boutique hotel and spa in Summerstrand. We have the top rated spa in Port Elizabeth where our highly trained therapists are on hand to pamper you and give you the best spa treatments you could ever wish for. Our 5 star all suite hotel offers individual personal attention We have an award winning chef on site to tailor make any meals you wish. we have state of the art conference facilities as well as a private boardroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Isango Gate Boutique Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Isango Gate Boutique Hotel And Spa Port Elizabeth/Summerstrand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing