We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Summer Blue Guest House
Nearby Hotels
$102
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
The Beach Hotel(Summerstrand)
$99
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$109
$106
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No5 by Mantis(Summerstrand)
$169
$156
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Singa Lodge(Summerstrand)
$167
$71
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$156
$145
Protea Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Boardwalk Hotel(Summerstrand)
$172
$161
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$107
$93
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$114
$95
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$137
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (221)
Filter reviews
221 results
Traveler rating
203
15
2
0
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
203
15
2
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshome from homeexcellent breakfastport elizabethhot watereasy accessgarden routestayed one nightpeironmanmattressessuburb
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
131 - 136 of 221 reviews
Reviewed October 3, 2012 via mobile

My sister and I stayed for 1 night before meeting friends to go to a game park. We were the only ones there but Baubie was a delightful host and made us feel very comfortable. We had some great chats about books and she even lent us a book which we wil return when we have finished. It seems a few of us want to read it. Our room by the pool was lovely and Baubie answered every question and helped us with taxis. The breakfast was delicious. We had a wonderful stay in lovely B&B. Thank you Baubie.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cookie1717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

This place is awesome, I would go back there any day. The people there are very friendly, the place is beautiful. The list is endless.. please guys, if you happen to be in PE try this place. 11 - 13 Harvey St | Summerstrand, Port Elizabeth, Nelson Mandela Bay 6001, South Africa

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bafana N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Synopsis (Overall + Value)
Reasonable price, well located, safe, decent breakfast and nice rooms. Would stay here again. Friendly service in a cosy location.

Location
5 minutes drive from the beach and the centre of town. The property is spacious and has its own parking on site which is secure.

Hotel Room
Good sized rooms with a large double bed, table, chairs, wardrobe, TV, clean white bathroom with power shower. We had an initial issue with hot water, whereby the hot water seemed to have been used up very quickly - far quicker than would be expected. We noticed this happen on a second occasion also.

Bed
Comfortable and big. Good night's rest.

Staff
Baubie is very friendly and has great suggestions as to what you can do in Port Elizabeth. The initial check-in process did take much longer than expected strangely, with lots of printing and scanning, perhaps taking in total 20 minutes for 4 people. The staff are all very friendly and service is with a smile.

Internet/Wifi
Excellent wifi, great speeds with a strong signal in your room.

Housekeeping
As and when we wanted, no complaints. We also managed to have our laundry done promptly which was great.

Breakfast
Baubie went through with us the night before what we wanted to eat/drink and it was ready for us in the morning. Furthermore she even arranged for us to have a light breakfast in our rooms on the morning when we had to leave at the crack of dawn. She lovingly prepared our sandwiches/breakfast snacks in tupperware boxes to give to us the night before - this was very much appreciated. There was also a fridge in the room with a kettle as well.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
Thank Narmak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012

We were there only for a day at this amazing guest house. As soon as we arrived Baubie our wonderful host helped us with formalities. Took our breakfast requests for tomorrow. We were escorted to our room first. Vow what a room!!!. A huge one. Very nice and spacious. Electric mattresses were a plus and good too since it was very cold that day. The breakfast the next day was fresh,tasty and good quality served in a nice breakfast room. We had a very nice time there. will come back for more days. thanks baubie!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank namanpatel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

Our team of six people stayed at Summer Blue while on a work trip. Baubie worked very hard to meet all of our specific needs and make sure we were comfortable. The rooms at SB are pristine and extremely homey. They have a TV, safe, heater, fridge, wi-fi and microwave. The SB grounds are beautiful and peaceful. The B&B is located in a quiet neighborhood that will allow you to escape from the craziness of everyday life. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: I had a room near the pool and it was very nice.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amanda_Mullikin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews