We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“GREAT TIME!!!!!!!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Summer Blue Guest House
Ranked #12 of 43 Summerstrand B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
1 review
“GREAT TIME!!!!!!!!!!”
Reviewed August 5, 2012

Baubie, you are the best. We stayed 3 nights in your comfortable home and we also felt it was our home.

I will recommend it to ALL. the food was amazing!!!!!!!!! the facilities- very nice and clean.

Thank you for hosting us for the weekend.

Love
Nkoli and Stone :)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nkoli J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    198
    15
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
50
54
13
66
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Potchefstroom
1 review
Reviewed July 24, 2012

I have the opportunity to stay at the Summer Blue Guesthouse during the recent Craven week.
As marketer I stay in different types of accommodation. I can say that my stay at Summer Blue and the service of Baubie and her staff was above any experience I had. Everything from the garden, rooms food, etc are in place. I will recommend the guesthouse to any one!! Personally, I will prefer to stay at Summer Blue instead of a hotel in PE

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Piet S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zutendaal, Belgium
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 23, 2012

My farther and I only stayed 1 night. That was however sufficient to have great memories about this B&B. Baubie was very helpfull in giving a good overview of all attracions in the area. Breakfast was great and the room with electronic blanket and television were fantastic, everything what we needed was available and very clean. We also enjoyed the conversations on what is happening in South Africa. We can only highly recommend this location and I would like to thank previous reviews in Tripadvisor which have led us to select this location. We will revisit when the occasion arises. Thanks Baubie!!
Tony & Roger

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 8, 2012

Attention to detail and hands on running of this lovely and clean guesthouse won my vote for the next time I'm in PE! Service, food and facilities are really something to appreciate.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cito1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
Reviewed July 2, 2012

Baubie is your surrogate mum and Summer Blue your home when you stay. Excellent, hearty breakfast. Beautifully landscaped African garden with dip pool. Clean, comfortable rooms with satellite TV (plus electric blanket in the beds - bliss for the wintry P E storm that blew in the night that I stayed - I would go back just for that experience again of curling up under the pre-heated duvet as the rain lashed around outside!). Summer Blue is situated in a well-heeled residential area with designer homes all around; despite the ever present secrity fencing in SA, it felt very safe. I travel extensively and globally and would recommend this homely B&B Guest House - to tourists and business travellers who do not want a large hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MEOMBE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Deutschland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2012

Baubie gave us a very warm welcome and we enjoyed our 2 nights in Port Elizabeth.
We got a lot of tips for the whole stay from her. The rooms are clean, comfortable, quiet and simple. Summer Blue Guest House has a nice pool and a beautiful garden with sun loungers.
The Breakfast is served in a room next to the pool. The day before you have to choose from a large variety what you would like to eat in the morning.
We can totally recommend this B&B!
PS. Baubie, the little flip flop key chains are always with us and reminds us of your adorable personality

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mirko_vyskozil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2012

This place is beautiful, very cozy and feel like home. Everyone take care all of us very well. The food was great, you could get what you want. The area is nice and not so far from beaches. They provided us with everythingmwe need. We had a great time there

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tulanan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Summerstrand
1.1 mi away
Courtyard Hotel Port Elizabeth
Courtyard Hotel Port Elizabeth
#12 of 13 in Summerstrand
4.0 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
1.4 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Port Elizabeth Marine
1.1 mi away
Kelway Hotel
Kelway Hotel
#17 of 33 in Port Elizabeth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Blue Bay BnB
Blue Bay BnB
#8 of 13 in Summerstrand
5.0 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
1.6 mi away
Admiralty Beach House
Admiralty Beach House
#1 of 43 in Summerstrand
5.0 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
1.5 mi away
Algoa Guest House
Algoa Guest House
#5 of 43 in Summerstrand
4.5 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Summer Blue Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Summer Blue Guest House

Property: Summer Blue Guest House
Address: 11 Harvey Street, Summerstrand, Port Elizabeth 6001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Port Elizabeth > Summerstrand
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Summerstrand
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Summer Blue Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Summer Blue is a four star rated guest house in the residential area of Summerstrand comprising two spacious family rooms and three well appointed double rooms and is suitable for both tourists and business travellers. Guests can relax around the pool, enjoy the beautiful gardens or relax in the rooms with WiFi and satellite television. Summerstrand is a quite suburb close to the vibrant beach front and bay with wonderful swimming beaches and spectacular views. Popular activities besides swimming include fishing, surfing, kite-surfing, stand-up boarding, spearfishing, snorkelling and scuba diving. There are also numerous restaurants, pubs, shops, markets, casino, Humewood Golf Club and the Nelson Mandela University nearby ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Orbitz so you can book your Summer Blue Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Summer Blue Guest House Port Elizabeth/Summerstrand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing