We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another Home”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
No 5 Boutique Art Hotel
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Summerstrand
Certificate of Excellence
Guernsey, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Another Home”
Reviewed November 22, 2010

As a frequent visitor on business to South Africa, the Shamwari Townhouse is the place to park oneself in Port Elizabeth; I have used this hotel on more than five occasions now and will continue to use it as it is one of my "other homes"

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steven B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    214
    39
    10
    1
    2
See reviews for
35
151
6
39
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2010

The Mantis group always do a good job of their hotels The standards are high and luxury abound. Very cool art deco comfortable rooms and my favorite place in P.E. The staff are attentive and friendly. Food is high quality my only gripe is that on the first day they forgot we were in the hotel and breakfast was not prepared but the management were quick at fixing the problem without fuss should not happen at such a high rated hotel . Otherwise first class all the way!!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shube1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
1 review
Reviewed March 22, 2010

Everything about this town house is amazing-architecture, Art collection, comfort, food, service, value for money and location!!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SilverweddingDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2010

We stayed in the Townhouse in September 2009 and could not write a review due to the fact that it wasn't listed yet by Tripadvisor. After my request to add it, I haven't had time to rate it yet, so here it is.
As others have written, this is an Art Deco style home, in a quit, upscale residential neigborhood in Port Elizabeth, 1 block from the beach/boardwalk and, very conveniently, only 10 minutes from the Airport. The (6) beatifully decorated rooms are more like appartments with dining, sitting and sleep area. The bathroom is huge, with seperate shower and tub and the toilet can be reached from bathroom and entrance area. There is also a small kitchenette with Nespresso coffee/tea maker and a sink and refrigerator in the breakfast/dining area.
The spa (reservation for massage etc recommended for late PM treatment, as staff leaves around 5 if nobody has an appointment) with a nice, modern workout area. There is also a library, wine/sigar room, 16 seat cinema whre you can watch your own favorite dvd's, and a diningroom/restaurant where they serve an outstanding breakfast and dinner. The (lap) pool was not heated, as is apparently common in SA, but nice when it is hot, I assume; we were there in the spring. The staff was fantastic.
We had airport transportation arranged through Mantis in a package which included the townhouse, Oceana Beach and Wildlife resort and Shawari Game Reserve (all three were quite different and all unforgettable). The Townhouse Mercedes was used to drop us off at the airport.
Overall, staying in the Townhouse gives you the feeling of being a guest in the home of (very wealthy) friends, exactly what the owner intended.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank doublebooked
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york city
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2010

We stayed at the Townhouse only one night en route to a safari. For one reason or another, I did not have high expectations for this lodging but was pleasantly surprised. Located in a very residential area, it is just a few blocks walk to the beach and a large and rather unique shopping center, The Boardwalk" where we had a lovely lunch. It was a warm Sunday afternoon, perfect for a stroll along the beach. We didn't have our own transportation but the hotel maintains a car which took us to the airport early in the morning for a very reasonable sum of money. As others have cited, the rooms are decorated in a very smart fashion and are very comfortable. We had a delicious dinner served by a charming young man. But what really left a deep impression was the art; the owner is a serious collector of contemporary South African artists. I only wish we had more time to study the wide array of art displayed throughout the hotel. It was very special.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nocouchpotato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2009

Stayed at the Shamwari Townhouse for just one night (unfortunately) in November 2009.

Hotel is art deco in style and wouldn't be out of place in South Beach Miami (and beats The Tides, Shore Club and Delano as a place to stay imo!). Beautifully and thoughtfully furnished in the common areas to be in keeping with the art deco style.

Suites as pure luxury. We had a huge bathroom with large bath, great walk-in shower and his/her sinks. Huge comfortable bed with flat screen in the bedroom. Large separate lounge area with complimentary tea/coffee (proper expresso coffee maker) with fresh milk proivded. We were on the ground floor so had a large private walled courtyard - accessbile from both the bedroom and lounge areas. Beautfilly landscaped.

Breakfast was excellent. Usual help yourself to continental items - cheeses, meats, pastries, cereals, juices etc... good menu to order freshly prepared hot items (eggs benedict were particularly good).

Good pool area. Very private.

Private cinema (about 16 seats)!!!

Had dinner there - excellent with superb service.

Staff are incredible. Friendly and welcoming, but still brilliantly professional.

Disappointed that we could only stay for one night (although we checked in at about 10am on our arrival, so it felt like a decent stay).

Highly recommend this hotel for pure luxury with superb service. A real oasis to relax in.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank retep68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Alfred, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2009

A great homely atmosphere, though my home is not this nice... Beautiful decor and warm personal service. Spacious rooms with great bed, nespresso machine and huge bathroom with rain shower. Definitely a property to recommend in Port Elizabeth!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank woudo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Summerstrand
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Port Elizabeth
0.3 mi away
The Boardwalk Hotel
The Boardwalk Hotel
#2 of 13 in Summerstrand
483 reviews
0.3 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Port Elizabeth Marine
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Isango Gate Boutique Hotel and Spa
4.7 mi away
Hacklewood Hill Country House
Hacklewood Hill Country House
#2 of 33 in Port Elizabeth
277 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Beach Hotel
The Beach Hotel
#9 of 13 in Summerstrand
431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to No 5 Boutique Art Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about No 5 Boutique Art Hotel

Property: No 5 Boutique Art Hotel
Address: 5 Brighton Drive, Summerstrand, Port Elizabeth 6001, South Africa (Formerly Shamwari Townhouse)
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Port Elizabeth > Summerstrand
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Summerstrand
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Summerstrand
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — No 5 Boutique Art Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Port Elizabeth, South Africa and nestled in the affluent beachfront suburb of Summerstrand, No5 Boutique Art Hotel is less than 10 minutes from the airport and within 100 meters of the rolling Indian Ocean.No5 offers 6 contemporary and luxurious suites in a secluded landscaped environment and 4 suites with private balconies all which have mini bars, own lounges, nespresso machines, wireless connectivity and many more full 5 star services and amenities.An exquisite South African art collection tributes throughout, complimented by fine dining and impeccable facilities like a wine cellar, whiskey and cigar bar, 10 seater boardroom, cinema, 2 pools, spa and gym to ensure your every need is met. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your No 5 Boutique Art Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
No 5 Boutique Art Hotel Port Elizabeth/Summerstrand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing