We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Traveling South Africa”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
No 5 Boutique Art Hotel
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Summerstrand
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 4, 2013

Outstanding, luxurious and great attention to detail. Our suit was elegant with a stunning terrace facing towards the sea. The dining room was very attractive especially with the pool just off the terrace. Unfortunately we did not have time to use the in house cinema. The location was perfect for walks along the sea front, and the broad-walk for some great shopping where there is good choice of restaurants. F and P

Room Tip: Suite 1 with fantastic terrace and faces front towards the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Frances H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (300)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

230 - 236 of 300 reviews

Reviewed August 21, 2013

This residence is outstanding. The rooms are huge and luxurious and the decor and fittings are fabulous. They don't serve dinner every night but there are local restaurants of a fast food nature. It is certainly an oasis of luxury in PE and was perfect for relaxing after a long flight en route to Shamwari Game Reserve. Contemporary luxury at its best in our view.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank djr1888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

We loved this great hotel. Has everything you need and in walking distance to the town and the 'Boardwalk', an area where there are some lovely shops, eating and drinking places and ice cream parlours. The rooms are suites and are extremely elegant with terraces. Would recommend more than one night in order to enjoy the pool and other facilities.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynnie97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013 via mobile

If you are used to the best if everything stay here:
Great: Internet, pool area, breakfast, restaurant food
Fabulous: Rooms, service
We cannot fault it. Special mention to Danny and the restaurant team.
Fabulous!!!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BentleyGT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2013

Sadly only stayed for one night but what a great boutique hotel.
Once inside, the level of decor is stunning, with the most wonderful art deco features within the host of lounges.

The rooms are outstanding with strategically placed night lights built into the suites lighting system and the biggest shower room I have ever used.
There is a small lap swimming pool and sunbathing area which kind of fits into the style of the hotel.

Although they don't really mention their restaurant, we decided to have a light dinner and it was perfect. Breakfast was laid up for us and they boasted that they served the best home made muesli we would ever taste - and you know what, they were right.

We will most definitely return to this wonderful hotel should we return to this area

Stayed: January 2013
1  Thank EssexBarnes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2013

We were here for 2 nights in January on a private tour along the Garden Route. Though not overly impressive from the outside - large metal gate and a quiet courtyard/parking area - once you get inside it is stunning. Beautiful Art Deco, think Agatha Christie and Poirot with glamour, and a huge bedroom suite with great bathroom and a small shady veranda.The pool was lovely as was the champagne lounge. The food was adequate but it makes no claim to be a great restaurant and there are decent eateries near by.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GloucestershireLeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2013

Classy accommodation with really stunning rooms and friendly and efficient staff. Small hotel but nothing is too much trouble. Quiet and relaxing and undoubtedly one of the best in PE. Definitely a reason to visit PE again. Close to Boardwalk and beaches are in walking distance. A Gem.

Room Tip: All are great but furnished differenly
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Summerstrand
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Port Elizabeth
0.3 mi away
The Boardwalk Hotel
The Boardwalk Hotel
#2 of 13 in Summerstrand
509 reviews
0.3 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Port Elizabeth Marine
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Isango Gate Boutique Hotel and Spa
0.2 mi away
The Beach Hotel
The Beach Hotel
#7 of 13 in Summerstrand
456 reviews
4.7 mi away
Hacklewood Hill Country House
Hacklewood Hill Country House
#1 of 33 in Port Elizabeth
308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to No 5 Boutique Art Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about No 5 Boutique Art Hotel

Address: 5 Brighton Drive, Summerstrand, Port Elizabeth 6001, South Africa (Formerly Shamwari Townhouse)
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Port Elizabeth > Summerstrand
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Summerstrand
#1 Luxury Hotel in Summerstrand
Price Range: $158 - $210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — No 5 Boutique Art Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Port Elizabeth, South Africa and nestled in the affluent beachfront suburb of Summerstrand, No5 Boutique Art Hotel is less than 10 minutes from the airport and within 100 meters of the rolling Indian Ocean.No5 offers 6 contemporary and luxurious suites in a secluded landscaped environment and 4 suites with private balconies all which have mini bars, own lounges, nespresso machines, wireless connectivity and many more full 5 star services and amenities.An exquisite South African art collection tributes throughout, complimented by fine dining and impeccable facilities like a wine cellar, whiskey and cigar bar, 10 seater boardroom, cinema, 2 pools, spa and gym to ensure your every need is met. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your No 5 Boutique Art Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
No 5 Boutique Art Hotel Port Elizabeth/Summerstrand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing