We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Radisson Blue - Port Elizabeth (SA)”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Radisson Blu Hotel, Port Elizabeth
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Summerstrand
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Radisson Blue - Port Elizabeth (SA)”
Reviewed February 3, 2014

This is one of the most stunning hotels in South Africa. The hotel has beautiful views and easy to access from anywhere. Hotel staff is always friendly and also provides superb service. A few minutes drive from the airport. Top class hotel and most definitely value for money.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Radisson Blu Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Joy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DesmondOC, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Port Elizabeth, responded to this review, February 9, 2014
Dear Joy B,

Many thanks for your kind words about our Hotel. Come visit soon again.

Kind regards

Desmond
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

953 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    320
    363
    157
    69
    44
See reviews for
159
366
44
278
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed January 28, 2014

I had a lovely stay at this hotel.They proved their 5 star rating when they went out of ther way to make me something, although simple, that was not even on the menu. I received very good service and was welcomed with very friendly staff. However I was dissapointed to find my bathroom floor covered with water after I showered and an aircon that was not fully functional. Overall I enjoyed my shortstay and wished to stay longer.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David0417
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DesmondOC, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Port Elizabeth, responded to this review, February 9, 2014
Dear David0417,

Thank you for the update here on TripAdvisor, I am glad that you enjoyed your stay here and have noted your comments about the shower and aircon. I'll look into these.

Look forward to your next visit.

Kind regards

Desmond
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, Gauteng, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2014

I must first say that the service definitely improved at the Hotel.
Last time: Asked for a highest floor room possible Got the lowest.
This Time: Asked for two highest floor rooms possible: Got it. Was very happy

Last Time: Restaurant service was very poor.
This Time: The waiters attended to my table on a regular basis.

Asked for an early check in as I was arriving 09:00. Thought that it would not be possible, but the GM assured me that they will try their best. I checked in at 09:40. This was outstanding service.

When there is good client service like this then people will feel guilty not visiting again.

Keep up the good service.

Room Tip: Higher rooms have better sea view. Rooms on the left side of the hotel entrance catches more sun wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Werner d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DesmondOC, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Port Elizabeth, responded to this review, February 9, 2014
Dear Werner D,

Thank you for letting me know that you have seen an improvement on our service delivery. This is an ongoing process and without your or any other guests' comments we do not know where we can improve.

So please keep up the commentary and let me know whether you feel we need to improve or as is the case here want to let us know we are doing well.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johaneesburg, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed January 27, 2014

Value for money, with professionalism and comfort part of the deal. Well catered and unforgettable sea views make this trip a memorable one for any person young and old. Spa is well equipped and staff are extremely knowledgeable. All of which results in me wanting to just stay a little longer, if only my schedule would permit.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Radisson Blu Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Kajee Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DesmondOC, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Port Elizabeth, responded to this review, February 9, 2014
Dear Kajee Z,

Thank you for the review you recently posted on TripAdvisor. We really appreciate your feedback and my team and I are delighted to have read that you enjoyed yoru time with us here.

As JHB is only a short flight away we suggest you come see us again soon.

Kind regards

Desmond
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2014

I booked the hotel due to its webpage adverts as well my great experience at the Radisson Blue Gautrain in Johannesburg.

The hotel is greatly located on the ocean and if you have a room at the upper floor you enjoy the view. unfortunately that's all of excitement I had. As mentioned in many reviews the bathroom and toilet within the room are something to get used to - no privacy really. Breakfast service is beyond any 5 or 4 star standard. Employees are more busy chatting and clearing up than serving coffee or assisting in any other way. To get a cappuccino will take a while..

The misleading poll deck pictures on the hotels webpage are a disappointment when you intend to go to the pool. No pool chairs had ever been added during my 5 days stay. Asking an employee he simply answered, yes they are not there. Watch out with wrong charges on your evening bill at the hotel bar.

All in all it was disappointing on service qualities and attention to detail. Management could not bother.

Room Tip: ask for the higher floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arthold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DesmondOC, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Port Elizabeth, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Dear Arthold,

Thank you for visiting the Radisson Blu Port Elizabeth recently. I must admit your review saddened me.

Please be assured that it is not the standard in which we pride ourselves, and I am sure you are accustomed to. Your comments have therefore been distributed to the entire team here and will be addressed accordingly and measures are being put into place to ensure that we lift the bar once more.

We are constantly aiming to ensure that our guests experience the very finest service and standards at Radisson Blu Port Elizabeth and with this in mind please accept my sincere apologies on behalf of my team and I.

Kind regards

Desmond O’Connor
GENERAL MANAGER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cape town, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed January 20, 2014

The Radisson Blu in Port Elizabeth is an excellent choice for all who visit the city. Stunning views with the beach accross the road. No traffic noise. THe hotel offers a friendly and professional service and is always clean. The facilities are great and the rates are not exhorbitant

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Radisson Blu Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Eugenie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DesmondOC, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Port Elizabeth, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Dear Eugenie M,

We are delighted that yo enjoyed your visit with us here. As you live so close by we really hope that you will pop in again and soon. The coffee is being kept warm and your room is ready. All you have to do is arrive.

Kind regards

Desmond
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2014 via mobile

The hotel is well located in Summerstrand, 10 minutes away from the airport.
You have the sea just down the hotel, beautiful beach and safe.
Many restaurants are within walking distance, the hotel offers a shuttle to the broadwalk.

Rooms are spacious enough, nice bathroom. Try to get a high floor with sea view for great pictures.

The service is pretty good, staff smiling. Breakfast offers everything you need.
The swimming pool is ok and overlooks the sea.
The restaurant is really good if you want to have dinner and is not overpriced.
The fitness is nice, facing the sea.

There is no executive lounge for Club Carlson members.

Overall, we had a really good stay, very good Radisson

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank pitt1912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DesmondOC, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Port Elizabeth, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Dear Pitt1912

Many thanks for your lovely review of our Hotel. I really appreciate your feedback especially regarding the Club Carlson Lounge. We have noted this and have actually started to implement one and have the perfect spot for it in the Hotel. Once again thanks.

Kind regards

Desmond
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Summerstrand
0.3 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Port Elizabeth Marine
0.9 mi away
The Boardwalk Hotel
The Boardwalk Hotel
#2 of 13 in Summerstrand
484 reviews
2.6 mi away
Paxton Hotel
Paxton Hotel
#8 of 33 in Port Elizabeth
310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Beach Hotel
The Beach Hotel
#9 of 13 in Summerstrand
434 reviews
0.2 mi away
Isango Gate Boutique Hotel and Spa
1.1 mi away
City Lodge Hotel Port Elizabeth
City Lodge Hotel Port Elizabeth
#12 of 13 in Summerstrand
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel, Port Elizabeth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel, Port Elizabeth

Property: Radisson Blu Hotel, Port Elizabeth
Address: Corner of Marine Dr & Ninth Ave, Summerstrand, Port Elizabeth 6001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Port Elizabeth > Summerstrand
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Summerstrand
#3 Business Hotel in Summerstrand
#4 Luxury Hotel in Summerstrand
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Hotel, Port Elizabeth 4*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Radisson Blu Hotel, Port Elizabeth offers breathtaking sea views from all 173 beautifully appointed guest rooms and suites. With our eight multifunctional conferencing and banqueting rooms equipped with state of the art technology spanning 633sqm, we cater for a vast array of specialised events. All registered guests and meeting delegates receive complimentary high-speed internet access. "tabu grill, bar & lounge" offers world class bistro style food whilst our lounge and sea view pool terrace is the perfect place to relax, enjoy a cocktail and light snack. Camelot Spa offers our guests the perfect place to unwind and relax. Shuttle Service to the Boardwalk Entertainment Complex ensures guests are always mobile. Enrolment to the Carlson Rezidor loyalty program "Club Carlson" is immediate and free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Rezidor, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel, Port Elizabeth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel, Port Elizabeth Hotel Port Elizabeth
Radisson Blu Hotel, Port Elizabeth Summerstrand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing