We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One night stop over”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Radisson Blu Hotel, Port Elizabeth
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Summerstrand
Glasgow
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“One night stop over”
Reviewed November 26, 2013 via mobile

Arrived weary after 22 hour journey from the UK meet by lovely staff and a refreshing fruit juice! Room on the 16th floor was really nice. As this was the state of our Garden Route adventure fir my 50th birthday had booked I to the Camelot Spa as a wee treat- and what a treat it was! CJ looked after me throughout my 90minute treatment and was just lovely felt fully refreshed and relaxed after the amazing signature massage! And I can only presume that it was CJ organised the bubbles and cake that we later received in our room, a lovely touch.
Cocktails and dinner were also excellent value for money - all in all a great start to our trip!

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sandra J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_PLZZR, Director of Sales at Radisson Blu Hotel, Port Elizabeth, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Dear SandsGlasgow

Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your 50th Birthday celebrations at the hotel & Camelot SPA and that CJ looked after you. Our team works hard to ensure all guests are comfortable and receive our best service at all times.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Warm Regards
Michelle Muller
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

943 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    318
    358
    156
    67
    44
See reviews for
154
364
44
277
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2013

The hotel was nice, the room was clean and big enough for us.
The breakfast is good and the location is great.

Down side if your keen to train the gym isn't great.

Beautiful beach across the road and shops next door but i recommend the short trip down to the Board walk for dinner and any shopping

Room Tip: Higher the better although the lifts take a while when its busy
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AbuExpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_PLZZR, Director of Sales at Radisson Blu Hotel, Port Elizabeth, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Dear AbuExpat

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback and appreciate the positive response of the hotel, especially the views that are most certainly breathtaking from all our rooms.

We look forward to your next stay.

Please friend us on Facebook to stay informed of our upcoming promotions.

Warm Regards
Michelle Muller
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Anglia, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
403 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2013

Modern hotel on sea front with amazing views. Rooms decent size, clean and comfortable. Bar has terrace overlooking beach, restaurant served very good food and wine at good prices. Service good from all staff was superb. If you have an early morning flight a "breakfast box" is available from reception on checkout but you must order it the night before.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LesGUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_PLZZR, Director of Sales at Radisson Blu Hotel, Port Elizabeth, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Dear LesGUk

Thank you for your positive review received and for taking the time to write about your experience.
We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and made use of the breakfast box facility.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Warm Regards
Michelle Muller
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
693 reviews
262 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 272 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2013

After reading some of the other tripadvisor reviews, I was wary about staying here but I found the experience to be quite pleasant and their rates are certainly competitive with rival hotels nearby. Hotel service was good. No problem at all. The WiFi Internet throughout the hotel can be a bit slow at times but I was informed that they are looking to install a faster WiFi system before long. Overall, a good experience.

Room Tip: Book high floor, sea facing. Check the WiFi signal quality in your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roryjdoyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_PLZZR, Director of Sales at Radisson Blu Hotel, Port Elizabeth, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Dear Mr Doyle

Thank you for your feedback received & appreciate the positive review of your recent stay.
It was a pleasure having you stay with us & look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Warm Regards
Michelle Muller
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset West, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
346 reviews
332 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 328 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2013

This hotel is a good choice if you want to stay in the Summerstrand area. I was very impressed with the location – just across the road from the beach – and was likewise impressed with great views out our bedroom window. Absolutely stunning views over the Indian Ocean! The beach park across the road is a great place for a walk, jog, or bike ride.

The hotel itself is quite trendy and modern and I was impressed by the competent and friendly service at reception upon check-in. The room was very comfortable and well-designed, especially for the business traveler. We had a nice computer desk and free Wifi as well as a large TV with a good selection of DSTV channels. The room was very clean and well-maintained and very nicely furnished – the king size bed was really comfy and we had a great night’s sleep. The open plan bedroom/bathroom was an interesting design which I liked. The only downside to the bathroom was that the shower leaked water all over the floor so we had to use all of our towels to sop up the water. The shower door was just poorly designed, that’s all. Also, the AC didn’t work at all in the room. I had it cranked down all the way and it didn’t make any noticeable difference to the room temperature which was a touch too warm.

The gym was a big disappointment. I expected a lot more from Radisson, as other Radisson hotels have had great gyms. This one was almost unusable – very little equipment, and low quality. We went down the road and used the Virgin Active gym instead. We didn’t eat at the restaurant so can’t comment on that.

Overall we had a great stay at the Radisson, and other than a few minor points mentioned above, we loved it. We would definitely stay here again and would recommend it to other travelers.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DanO68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_PLZZR, Director of Sales at Radisson Blu Hotel, Port Elizabeth, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Dear DanO68

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback & overall positive experience received.

The hotel gym concern, as well as poor AC and shower door issues in the room has been brought to the General Manager's attention, whom is looking into this matter with the various department heads.

We take the time to listen to your constructive comments, so we can continually improve our services and appreciate bringing this matter to our attention.

Wishing you a wonderful Christmas and all the best for 2014.

Warm Regards
Michelle Muller
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2013

We had a business class room on the 9th floor which was a good size with a great view over the ocean. My main complaint about this hotel is the quality of food and service in the restaurant. It is average at best, both dinner and breakfast were not great and service pretty chaotic. Also in the room the shower door did not fit properly and after a shower you had to spend a few minutes mopping up pools of water of the floor. Of all the places we stayed during our two weeks in South Africa this was the worst. Pity because it has a nice outlook. Not nearly up to Raddison standard.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_PLZZR, Director of Sales at Radisson Blu Hotel, Port Elizabeth, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Dear Ian D

Thank you for your feedback received and writing your review.
We are terribly sorry you were not satisfied with the accommodations of your room and we regret to hear your dining experience did not meet your expectations.
Your feedback and concerns are important to us and have been passed onto the relevant department heads to look into as a matter of urgency with their teams.

We take pride in our "Yes I Can!" culture and do apologize that you did not receive this level of service.

Should you wish to discuss your stay further please contact the General Manager at plzzr.gm@radissonblu.com

Warm Regards
Michelle Muller
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2013

On first arrival, I was so relieved to be in a hotel where I could enjoy my short 1-night stay. The actual building has exquisite views of the seafront and is modern and funky in the vein of the "Blu" Hotels. Check-in was quick and easy and my room appeared to be clean and modern at first glance. I was on the 11th floor so the view was magnificent. As I started unpacking I noticed water seeping through the tiles in the bathroom. I called down for a room-swap which they were most obliging with. When the porter arrived to move me with my new keycard, I was not offered any help with my luggage and directed down a corridor on the same floor. Second room was a bit smaller but just as nice. It appears the plumbing problems are not unique to the first room. I couldn't be bothered to move again so I just let it go. It's a shame this hotel has missed a few critical requirements of hospitality because it is by far one of the better options in PE. I see they are renovating the Protea next door, perhaps that's the next trip.

Room Tip: Ask for sea-facing rooms, the view makes it worthwhile.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FussyOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_PLZZR, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Port Elizabeth, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Dear FuzzyOz
We are pleased to read that you found the location of the hotel and the reception service to your satisfaction. We apologise for the reoccurrence of the plumbing problem and assure you that we are working on a permanent solution to this problem and trust that this will be resolved soon. The service delivered by our porter is not reflective of our brand and our service philosophy and I will address this accordingly. If you wish to further discuss this matter, please feel free to contact me directly via info.port-elizabeth@radissonblu.com
Kind Regards
Bernard D Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Summerstrand
0.3 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Port Elizabeth Marine
0.9 mi away
The Boardwalk Hotel
The Boardwalk Hotel
#2 of 13 in Summerstrand
475 reviews
2.6 mi away
Paxton Hotel
Paxton Hotel
#8 of 33 in Port Elizabeth
299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Beach Hotel
The Beach Hotel
#9 of 13 in Summerstrand
427 reviews
1.1 mi away
City Lodge Hotel Port Elizabeth
City Lodge Hotel Port Elizabeth
#12 of 13 in Summerstrand
115 reviews
0.2 mi away
Isango Gate Boutique Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel, Port Elizabeth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel, Port Elizabeth

Property: Radisson Blu Hotel, Port Elizabeth
Address: Corner of Marine Dr & Ninth Ave, Summerstrand, Port Elizabeth 6001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Port Elizabeth > Summerstrand
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Summerstrand
#3 Business Hotel in Summerstrand
#4 Luxury Hotel in Summerstrand
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Hotel, Port Elizabeth 4*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Radisson Blu Hotel, Port Elizabeth offers breathtaking sea views from all 173 beautifully appointed guest rooms and suites. With our eight multifunctional conferencing and banqueting rooms equipped with state of the art technology spanning 633sqm, we cater for a vast array of specialised events. All registered guests and meeting delegates receive complimentary high-speed internet access. "tabu grill, bar & lounge" offers world class bistro style food whilst our lounge and sea view pool terrace is the perfect place to relax, enjoy a cocktail and light snack. Camelot Spa offers our guests the perfect place to unwind and relax. Shuttle Service to the Boardwalk Entertainment Complex ensures guests are always mobile. Enrolment to the Carlson Rezidor loyalty program "Club Carlson" is immediate and free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Rezidor, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel, Port Elizabeth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel, Port Elizabeth Hotel Port Elizabeth
Radisson Blu Hotel, Port Elizabeth Summerstrand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing