We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great views of the beach”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Radisson Blu Hotel, Port Elizabeth
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Summerstrand
India
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great views of the beach”
Reviewed September 25, 2013

We stayed here for a couple of nights. Conveniently located by the beach. Has all the standard Radisson Blu features - room was comfortable, breakfast was extensive, car parking was convenient, service was great. Apart from a couple of minor problems with some electrical sockets not working/TV remote control being wonky, everything else went great. The beach view from our room was really refreshing to wake up to

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank AnuP2D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_PLZZR, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Port Elizabeth, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear AnuP2D
Thank you for the great review, we are certainly pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay at Radisson Blu Hotel, Port Elizabeth. We are very fortunate that both our location and design allow all our rooms a sea view. It is good to read that the Radisson Blu service philosophy was clearly evident during your stay, thank you. We are pleased to advise that post your stay and prior to review, we have and are still enhancing our facilities in order to exceed our guest expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back to Radisson Blu Hotel, Port Elizabeth in the near future.
Kind Regards
Bernard D Thomas
Acting General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

943 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    318
    358
    156
    67
    44
See reviews for
154
364
44
277
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here one night due to lack of availability at the boardwalk hotel where I was attending a conference.
The hotel was situated in a residential type area. Beach was a short distance away.
My room was facing a block of apartments. The room looked modern and recently renovated. The shower drain was blocked and flooded the bathroom floor. The breakfast area was dark and dreary. Buffet breakfast was standard.

Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Imraan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_PLZZR, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Port Elizabeth, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear Imran J
Thank you for sharing your experience at Radisson Blu Port Elizabeth with fellow travellers. It is regrettable to read that we did not exceed your expectations during your stay. It is unfortunate that the room you were allocated shared a view of the sea with our neighbours. It is unfortunate to read that the breakfast area did not "meet the mark", with the Radisson Blu Hotels industry leading Super Breakfast concept, we will certainly monitor this area. I am pleased to advise that we are currently working on the plumbing issues that you mention and these should be resolved. We trust that on your next visit we will both meet and exceed your expectations.
Kind Regards
Bernard D Thomas
Acting general Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Navan, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

We stayed one night in this hotel in march 2013. We stayed here as we were getting our flight home after 3 weeks in south Africa. It was the only hotel out of 7 that we stayed in for the three weeks that was very disappointing. The bedroom is not nice as the bathroom/ bedroom are open plan. There is a half wall between the bath and the head of the bed. Very disappointing. Also the head waitress was not very nice. she said some statement to us that wasn't appropriate and I was upset about it.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank missfuscia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_PLZZR, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Port Elizabeth, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear mussfucia
Thank you for sharing your experience at our hotel. We appreciate that the design of our rooms may not be all guests "cup of tea" and we apologise for this. I am concerned to read about the comments made by our staff and the discomfort this has caused you. Please may I request that you share the details of this experience with me, so that I may investigate and act where may be needed. We trust that overall your experience of South Africa and the Eastern Cape was a pleasant one.
Kind Regards
Bernard D Thomas
Acting general Manager
Info.Port-Elizabeth@RadissonBlu.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013

I decided to stay here once again due to past experience, limited choice of good hotels in Port Elizabeth and good location. The service is slowing down, the elevators as usual take long and erratic, restaurant menu getting mundane. Immediate need to spruce-up the services. Room too is running down including the bathroom, the dustbid lid was missing and washbasin was getting choked too often. Normal cookies were replaced with biscuits, not sure why. Aircon too was erratic.

Room Tip: Higher floor and direct sea facing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Narayantravelogue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_PLZZR, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Port Elizabeth, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Dear Narayantravelogue
Thank you for sharing your experience of Radisson Blu Port Elizabeth with fellow travellers. WE apologize that on your last stay we did not "meet the mark" with regards to our service and facilities. We are in the process of revamping our rooms and trust that this will address the "run down" appearance mentioned. We look forward to welcoming you back to Radisson Blu Port Elizabeth and trust on your next stay we will meet and exceed your expectations.
Kind Regards
Bernard D Thomas
Acting General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Sinai, Egypt
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2013

The very comfortable sea facing room with its huge floor-to-ceiling window made it seem as if we were suspended above the beach. Beautiful - and got the full sunrise in the morning.
Dinner at the restaurant was great with an interesting menu. At $100 for 2 of us I would expect nothing less though.
Breakfast was disappointing. I've had better at boarding school. But the selection was quite extensive and we perhaps chose the wrong items.
All in all a good experience and we will go back.
Not close to shopping, restaurants etc. A car will be needed.

Room Tip: We had a north-east facing room overlooking the beach. Brilliant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Docd869
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_PLZZR, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Port Elizabeth, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Dear D0c63
Thank you for taking the time to share your review. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay at Radisson Blu Port Elizabeth. Our apology that you did not find the breakfast as enjoyable as the rest of your stay, we will certainly look into this matter. We are pleased to read that along with many other guest you have found the unique design of our hotel which allows all rooms to have a sea view. We are also pleased to advise that we do provide a complimentary shuttle service between 08:00 and 22:00 daily to the Boardwalk Entertainment complex for those quest without their own transport. We look forward to welcoming you back to Radisson Blu Hotel Port Elizabeth, in the near future.
Kind Regards
Bernard D Thomas
Acting General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Excellant hotel to launch your stay from in Port Elizabeth. Well appointed rooms, excellant staff and service, with easy acsses to beach and sites along the beach front.

Well managed , clean room, and good dining facilities on site, all in all make this a good option for your stay

Room Tip: As high up as possible. Ask for a sea facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ian j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_PLZZR, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Port Elizabeth, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear ian j
Thank you for the very favourable review of Radisson Blu Hotel, Port Elizabeth. We are certain that your experience will assist fellow travellers when it comes to choosing a hotel in Port Elizabeth. We agree that we are fortunate with all our rooms having fabulous views over Algoa Bay. Your comments with regards to the staff and service will be shared with the team, allowing them to share in your positive experience. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Kind Regards
Bernard D Thomas
Acting General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviewed September 3, 2013

This upmarket hotel offers you great posistion in Port Elizabeth , and if you request a sea facing room, you will get unparrelled views of Algoa Bay.

Excellant dining options , and a good base to launch you stay from in PE.

Well manered staff and a professional mangement team will take care of your needs. Great rooms, well appointed, and a great hotel all round.

Room Tip: As high up as possible , and ask for a sea facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ianjhoj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Summerstrand
0.3 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Port Elizabeth Marine
0.9 mi away
The Boardwalk Hotel
The Boardwalk Hotel
#2 of 13 in Summerstrand
475 reviews
2.6 mi away
Paxton Hotel
Paxton Hotel
#8 of 33 in Port Elizabeth
299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Beach Hotel
The Beach Hotel
#9 of 13 in Summerstrand
427 reviews
0.2 mi away
Isango Gate Boutique Hotel and Spa
1.1 mi away
City Lodge Hotel Port Elizabeth
City Lodge Hotel Port Elizabeth
#11 of 13 in Summerstrand
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel, Port Elizabeth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel, Port Elizabeth

Property: Radisson Blu Hotel, Port Elizabeth
Address: Corner of Marine Dr & Ninth Ave, Summerstrand, Port Elizabeth 6001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Port Elizabeth > Summerstrand
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Summerstrand
#3 Business Hotel in Summerstrand
#4 Luxury Hotel in Summerstrand
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Hotel, Port Elizabeth 4*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Radisson Blu Hotel, Port Elizabeth offers breathtaking sea views from all 173 beautifully appointed guest rooms and suites. With our eight multifunctional conferencing and banqueting rooms equipped with state of the art technology spanning 633sqm, we cater for a vast array of specialised events. All registered guests and meeting delegates receive complimentary high-speed internet access. "tabu grill, bar & lounge" offers world class bistro style food whilst our lounge and sea view pool terrace is the perfect place to relax, enjoy a cocktail and light snack. Camelot Spa offers our guests the perfect place to unwind and relax. Shuttle Service to the Boardwalk Entertainment Complex ensures guests are always mobile. Enrolment to the Carlson Rezidor loyalty program "Club Carlson" is immediate and free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Rezidor, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel, Port Elizabeth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel, Port Elizabeth Hotel Port Elizabeth
Radisson Blu Hotel, Port Elizabeth Summerstrand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing