We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Radisson Blu Hotel, Port Elizabeth
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Summerstrand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Hotel!”
Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

Radisson Blu is a great hotel!

The Rooms:
The rooms are modern (I like modern) which is great. They are well set up and the view is amazing from the eighteenth floor! But there are a few problems - the shower floods the bathroom and it takes ages to heat up, although nice bathroom.
My family and I had two rooms joined together and their bathroom had a blind and our's doesn't, why is that so?

Restaurant:
The restaurant, Tabú seems nice. And the reason I say seems is simple; we didn't actually eat there, we only had the breakfast buffet which is nice.

Spa:
Sadly I didn't visit the spa due to my busy days with my family. But it looks really good.

Service:
The service is friendly and helpful. We had a case where we didn't have any beach towels to bring with us to the beach so they kindly gave us some. They really help you out when you need something.

I'm happy to come here again. I highly recommend this hotel.


  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oliroxy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_PLZZR, Front Office Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Port Elizabeth, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Good Day Oliroxy

Thank you for sharing your experience of Radisson Blu Hotel, Port Elizabeth with fellow
travellers. We would like to extend our apologies for the inconvenience regarding the hot water in the room, we are reviewing our supply system in order to identify any problem areas. We look forward to welcoming you back at Radisson Blu Hotel, Port Elizabeth in the near future.
Kind Regards
Theresa Norman
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

950 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    320
    361
    157
    68
    44
See reviews for
157
365
44
278
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2013

The Radisson Blu in Port Elizabeth is very easy to find from the airport. It is quite a modern hotel with well kitted rooms. The service was awesome on arrival and all amenities one would need are on hand. The internet connectivity is advertised as super fast, but it was honestly non-existant. I just used my cell phone hotspot. Tabu, the in-house restaurant is awesome. The food was lovely and service was relatively quick. I stayed on the 15th floor and the view is amazing. I could gladly wake up to this every morning.

The hotel has a Camelot Spa with all the creature comforts one could wish for. I missed out on a full body massage because I was on a late-ish flight...

Overall an excellent experience. I'll definitely be back .

Room Tip: If possible, ask for a sea facing room. Don't rely on the hotel's wifi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shazz R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_PLZZR, Front Office Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Port Elizabeth, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Good Day ShazzR
Thank you for choosing to stay at the Radisson Blu Hotel, Port Elizabeth.

Your positive comments have been very well recieved as this is the service level we strive to provide to all guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future and trust that you would then be able to enjoy the luxury of the in house spa.

Kind Regards
Theresa Norman
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Level 6 Contributor
220 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 328 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for one night only and the best part is the location of the hotel. The rooms are very spacious and clean, which is desirable. The set-up of the rooms is a bit different to my taste as the bathroom is very open and faces all of the room, which is a problem when you have guests.
There is a kettle and refreshments, a flat screen TV with pay TV channels and off course the view to entertain you.
However, on the morning of our departure, there was no hot water and it was a big boo-boo.
Parking facilities are available that connects with the elevators and reception, but I guess a first come first serve basis applies. I may return to this venue in future ...

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vsomerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_PLZZR, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Port Elizabeth, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear vsomerset
Thank you for sharing your experience of Radisson Blu Hotel, Port Elizabeth with fellow travellers. The view of Algoa Bay mentioned in your review is unsurpassed and thus all aspects of the room are designed to capitalise on this but still allowing for privacy. Thank you for pointing out the difficulty you experienced with the hot water supply on the morning of departure, we truly apologise for this inconvenience and appreciate no one wishes to start the day off on a negative. We are reviewing our supply system in order to identify any problem areas. We look forward to welcoming you back at Radisson Blu Hotel, Port Elizabeth in the near future.
Kind Regards
Bernard D Thomas
Acting General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aarhus, Denmark
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

I normally enjoy staying at Radisson Blu chain hotels.
As usual staff is friendly, professionel and efficient, rooms are nice and elegant, but...
Dinner at fthe restaurant was disappointing, the bread served with the oil and olives wasn't baked properly (doughy) and so was the roti coming with the otherwise delisious lamb curry :)
On to the room, fine - but showering floods the floor due to a unaligned door.

Come on Radisson - pick it up, this isn't you!

Room Tip: Go for the sea facing rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael_Falch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_PLZZR, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Port Elizabeth, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear Michael_Falch
Thank you for sharing your experience at Radisson Blu Hotel Port Elizabeth.
Our sincere apology for the inconvenience experienced in the hotel. Feedback such as yours is used as a positive tool to better our services and guest experience. We are pleased to advise that we are currently busy with a maintenance program aimed at addressing the engineering issues mentioned in your review. The problems experienced in the restaurant are also being addressed by the executive chef and his team. We look forward to welcoming you back and trust that we will have resolved the issues you have highlighted.
Kind Regards
Bernard D Thomas
Acting General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2013

Checked into the Radisson because the boutique hotel we had booked let us down. Cck in quick and professional.

Lovely view from our room on the 11th floor. Comfortable bed and great room service breakfast.

Some minor points:

The shower floods the bathroom.
There was only 1 bottle of water for two people and none in the minibar.

Will stay there again. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoziMatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_PLZZR, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Port Elizabeth, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear JoziMatt
Thank you for the great review, your experience will certainly assist fellow travellers in their accommodation selection. We agree, our location and hotel design is unsurpassed, allowing all 173 rooms to have breath taking views over Algoa Bay. We are currently in the process of a repair program in order to address the technical issues you mentioned, we trust we will have these resolved shortly. Myself and the team at Radisson Blu Port Elizabeth, look forward to welcoming you back.
Kind Regards
Bernard D Thomas
Acting General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
337 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

A nice hotel with lovely sea views. The rooms are spacious and the hotel bar really nice. Service can be slow but not bad. The reception area can get crowded and if anything service gere can be better. A good hotel to stay at whilst in PE.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Reenwoud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_PLZZR, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Port Elizabeth, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Dear Reenwoud
Thank you for sharing your experience at Radisson Blu Port Elizabeth, with fellow travellers. All here at Radisson Blu Port Elizabeth appreciate feedback, both negative and positive and use these to further enhance our guest experience. We are fortunate that all our hotel rooms have the spectacular sea view that you mention and we agree that our room size compliment this experience. We look forward to welcoming you back to Radisson Blu Port Elizabeth, in the near future.
Kind Regards
Bernard D Thomas
Acting General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

very efficient, friendly and helpful staff. Great rooms - especially the sea-facing ones. Great linen as well as Anne Simone toiletries!!!! Unlimited wifi access in the hotel. Restaurant food satisfactory. Breakfast great options.

Room Tip: Request a sea facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank judith a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_PLZZR, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Port Elizabeth, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear judith a
Thank you for the wonderful review of Radisson Blu Port Elizabeth on tripadvisor, both the team and fellow travellers appreciate the recommendation. We are pleased to read that the unique Radisson Blu service philosophies have shone through (Super Breakfast, Free Wifi, "Yes I Can" attitude). From the team and myself look forward to welcoming you back to Radisson Blu Port Elizabeth in the future.
Kind Regards
Bernard D Thomas
Acting General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Summerstrand
0.3 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Port Elizabeth Marine
0.9 mi away
The Boardwalk Hotel
The Boardwalk Hotel
#2 of 13 in Summerstrand
483 reviews
2.6 mi away
Paxton Hotel
Paxton Hotel
#8 of 33 in Port Elizabeth
307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Beach Hotel
The Beach Hotel
#9 of 13 in Summerstrand
430 reviews
0.2 mi away
Isango Gate Boutique Hotel and Spa
1.1 mi away
City Lodge Hotel Port Elizabeth
City Lodge Hotel Port Elizabeth
#12 of 13 in Summerstrand
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel, Port Elizabeth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel, Port Elizabeth

Property: Radisson Blu Hotel, Port Elizabeth
Address: Corner of Marine Dr & Ninth Ave, Summerstrand, Port Elizabeth 6001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Port Elizabeth > Summerstrand
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Summerstrand
#3 Business Hotel in Summerstrand
#4 Luxury Hotel in Summerstrand
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Hotel, Port Elizabeth 4*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Radisson Blu Hotel, Port Elizabeth offers breathtaking sea views from all 173 beautifully appointed guest rooms and suites. With our eight multifunctional conferencing and banqueting rooms equipped with state of the art technology spanning 633sqm, we cater for a vast array of specialised events. All registered guests and meeting delegates receive complimentary high-speed internet access. "tabu grill, bar & lounge" offers world class bistro style food whilst our lounge and sea view pool terrace is the perfect place to relax, enjoy a cocktail and light snack. Camelot Spa offers our guests the perfect place to unwind and relax. Shuttle Service to the Boardwalk Entertainment Complex ensures guests are always mobile. Enrolment to the Carlson Rezidor loyalty program "Club Carlson" is immediate and free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Rezidor, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel, Port Elizabeth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel, Port Elizabeth Hotel Port Elizabeth
Radisson Blu Hotel, Port Elizabeth Summerstrand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing