We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“5 Star is deceiving.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Radisson Blu Hotel, Port Elizabeth
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Summerstrand
Broomfield, Colorado
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“5 Star is deceiving.”
Reviewed June 2, 2013

We had two rooms at the Radison Blue from May 23rd thru May 27th. We had picked this hotel based on the 5 star rating. Our Travel agent had recommended a different hotel. We should have known that 5 star has nothing to do with the class of hotel but the number of amenities it offers. The rooms were probably OK when the hotel first opened but they definitely needed attending. Their are glass shower doors and they appeared to have not been wiped down since the hotel opened. This was the same in both rooms. If your going to use glass make sure it is clean and shampoo or soap suds are not dripping down the glass. The shower leaked into the toilet area. we told the manager on duty but never got a response. The bathroom was open to the sleeping
area. It had a blind you could lower. The best part of the hotel was the view.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leeannl0716
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

931 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    313
    353
    154
    67
    44
See reviews for
151
359
44
273
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 1, 2013

I thought I was dealing with a large established chain, made my reservation on radissonblu.com, entered all info including my CC # safely, received email confirmation as usual. The booking was for prepaid rate, the credit card was supposed to be charged upon booking. It was not charged, and three weeks later I'm getting into arguments with hotel sending me emails how I am supposed to send them pictures (!) front and back of my credit card - over email. Huh? Called Radisson customer care who weren't able to do anything except confirm that I shouldn't be sending anything to anyone, and that they do see my credit card on reservation. So now I'm stuck between the hotel claiming they can't do anything and the customer care claiming they can't do anything. Very nice. Oh, and I can't cancel without penalty either because according to prepaid rate rules, cancellation equal 100% penalty. Not sure how they will charge me penalty if they can't charge me reservation, but maybe their computers suddenly will work. Learn from my mistakes and find some other accomodation if you want to avoid such surprises.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ActiveTravel_34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level Contributor
190 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Our family stayed here during our tour of South Africa in May 2013. It was winter time and very pleasant. We had booked two rooms on the 8th floor. Ours was a business class room. We stayed for only one night as a stopover to Johannesburg. The room is quite spacious with an extra bed for one adult. It also has a bath tub. It has excellent views of the bay and has a shopping mall nearby. The room service is good. The restaurant is huge and service is good. The hotel has a free shuttle service to the casino as well. During our checkout they served a good packed breakfast. On arrival there was a welcome drink as well.

Room Tip: The higher the room the better the view of the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MumOra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2013 via mobile

One of the best hotels in Port Elizabeth. An ideal place for overnight stop-over. Very good restaurant, serving a good dinner [I had a chunk of ostridge stake] on a deck with a view of the Port Elizabeth bay.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kris_Just_In_Time
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a night in May 2013 in between a Garden Route Tour and visiting Pumba game reserve. The room was typical Radisson so not too much to say there. Not a great fan of corporate hotels as I stay in them a lot through work and want something different for holidays however the service was excellent here and we enjoyed a fabulous meal as well.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Guy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
182 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2013

We spent 6 nights at this property during the Spec Savers IronMan. the hotel is within walking distance to the Boardwalk and the festivities. It has a shopping mall within two minutes walk as well.
We were on the 18th floor in three different rooms, with absolutely spectacular views of the Indian Ocean and the park.
The personnel was as friendly as anyone we met in Pt. E, which deserves is moniker "the friendly city".
The amenities are good, the rooms spacious, well designed.
The breakfast buffet has plenty of selection, but you might tire of the restaurant's good but limited menu.
Try the Flotation Therapy at the Spa, a bath of ultrasalted body temperature water, in which you get to float and relax every single muscle in your body.
The elevators are excruciatingly slow and in all three rooms the drains tried to match that speed.

Room Tip: The Suite on the 18th floor 1808 has phenomenal views. because the elevators are so slow, you might...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trilife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2013

Very poor service and cleanliness! No management supervision resulting in the breakdown in service levels. Our basin would not drain so goodness knows how it got cleaned! I removed the plug to find it black with dirt and plastic. The cupboard door to the fridge was all skew and hanging off its hinges. The shower is badly designed as it fills the bathroom with water. The bed was not made up properly the duvet cover simply pulled and the bed sheet not even straightened. The level of cleaning in the bathroom also leaves a lot to be desired. The lifts are inadequate for the size of the building. This is not the kind of experience I expect from a Radisson hotel having stayed in Radisson Hotels in Shanghai,Dhaka and Brussels. The view , if you have a room with a sea view at a higher level, is excellent but as for the rest!!!?

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Walter-John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Summerstrand
0.3 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Port Elizabeth Marine
0.9 mi away
The Boardwalk Hotel
The Boardwalk Hotel
#2 of 13 in Summerstrand
4.5 of 5 bubbles 466 reviews
0.2 mi away
Isango Gate Boutique Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Beach Hotel
The Beach Hotel
#9 of 13 in Summerstrand
3.5 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
1.0 mi away
Courtyard Hotel Port Elizabeth
Courtyard Hotel Port Elizabeth
#12 of 13 in Summerstrand
4.0 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
2.6 mi away
Paxton Hotel
Paxton Hotel
#8 of 33 in Port Elizabeth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel, Port Elizabeth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel, Port Elizabeth

Property: Radisson Blu Hotel, Port Elizabeth
Address: Corner of Marine Dr & Ninth Ave, Summerstrand, Port Elizabeth 6001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Port Elizabeth > Summerstrand
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Summerstrand
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Summerstrand
#4 Luxury Hotel in Summerstrand
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Hotel, Port Elizabeth 4*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Radisson Blu Hotel, Port Elizabeth offers breathtaking sea views from all 173 beautifully appointed guest rooms and suites. With our eight multifunctional conferencing and banqueting rooms equipped with state of the art technology spanning 633sqm, we cater for a vast array of specialised events. All registered guests and meeting delegates receive complimentary high-speed internet access. "tabu grill, bar & lounge" offers world class bistro style food whilst our lounge and sea view pool terrace is the perfect place to relax, enjoy a cocktail and light snack. Camelot Spa offers our guests the perfect place to unwind and relax. Shuttle Service to the Boardwalk Entertainment Complex ensures guests are always mobile. Enrolment to the Carlson Rezidor loyalty program "Club Carlson" is immediate and free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Rezidor, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel, Port Elizabeth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel, Port Elizabeth Hotel Port Elizabeth
Radisson Blu Hotel, Port Elizabeth Summerstrand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing