We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Training training.... Service..?” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Radisson Blu Hotel, Port Elizabeth

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Radisson Blu Hotel, Port Elizabeth
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Summerstrand
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Training training.... Service..?”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

You're in hospitality? Right? Did I miss something.... I'm almost to embarrassed to post this review.

1. Our check-in was hopeless, absolutely no welcome whatsoever, in fact the young dame at the counter thought she was doing us a favor!
2. We enquired about a "complimentary" shuttle service to a restaurant about 3minutes away, after being told there was one, we confirmed the use of the service to the restaurant and back. On arriving at the restaurant we were presented with a R100 bill and were told we would be charged this each way! Shocked we signed and went into the restaurant.
4. Our shower flooded the entire bathroom including the enclosed toilet.
5. The quality of towels were worse then what one would expect from a 2 star road lodge.
6. There were no gowns or slippers!!
7. My husband and I checked in as a couple yet a turn down was done for one, one bottle of water and one side of the bed turned down, when we called reception to ask for a second bottle a cleaning lady arrived and embarrassingly apologized for the party of 15 people making a noise in the next door room.

It is very sad that a hotel which represents that of the Radisson, is an experience of such poor inefficient and unprofessional service.

I think a good boutique hotel or luxury guest house will give you much better value for money and 10 times better service then this.

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank UniversalFoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

893 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    304
    338
    149
    60
    42
See reviews for
140
342
44
270
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013

We stayed here over the new year period and felt the service was terrible. I wouldnt have minded if we werre staying at a cheap hotel but when you pay for quality you expect good service. It took over an hour for towels to be delivered to our room and anything we requested would take an age. Our bed was also two single beds side by side instead of the King size bed we reqested and was horribly uncomfotable for my Wife and I as there was a crack in the middle. There are only 2 lifts in the hotel which is definatly not enough and you could wait up to 5 min at a time. Which doesnt sound like a long time but imagine waiting 5 mins everytime you wanna enter or leave your room. To be fair the views from our room was stunning as you could see along the whole PE coast line and may return just for the views. The service however really needs to improve and is not up to Radisson standard. Yoyu are better off at the cheaper hotel like City Lodge where we stayed the week before. it is half the price and the service is better. Although there are no see views from there.

Room Tip: Get a room on a floor as high as possible and rquest to be facing the harbour side of PE
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Imraan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devizes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

We stayed one night at this hotel and were impressed by the quiet and unassuming nature of the place coupled with the smiling faces of the staff, who were very attentive but never imposing.
The rooms were spacious and well equipped with a great view of the bay. The hotel has a good gym, which affords a similar view.
We were advised not to stray out after dark and took this advice but it is difficult to gauge just how real any threat might be to tourists.
All in all a pleasant stay and looking forward to returning on our way home to the UK.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank howlett365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reckange, Mersch, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

This is our second visit to this hotel.my husband for business me for a short vacation. The staff are very friendly and helpful. I was prepared for this second visit to be different. Maybe I exaggerated my first visit. I was not disappointed. There are still staff we recognised a year later, most hotels have large turnovers. The rooms are a good size with beautiful views oh the ocean. Breakfast covers all tastes. Lunch at the bar was good value and the restaurant is nice food well presented. The only downside for me with no car is the distance from the shops, when my husband was back from work there were no problems.

Room Tip: All rooms have a view of the Indian Ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gjkweb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devizes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
373 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

We stayed here for one night only and what a contrast to Durban on our tour of South Africa. We were on the 12 th floor and what a view overlooking the ocean. The room was huge and the bed looked out towards the ocean. It was open planned so even the bathroom overlooked the sea. We took a walk to the beach which was not packed at all, but then it was About 4 pm when we arrived. The hotel pool was ok but there was only one sun bed and the restaurant tables also spilled out on to the pool deck which was a bit bizarre. Still we took a walk along the front and eventually found a place to eat. Shame we only had one night here, Port Elizabeth is a lovely place

Room Tip: Choose a room high up to enjoy the views
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank julie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2013

we stayed here one night en route to safari and it was fine - as you would expect from this chain, the service was good, the rooms were clean and we felt safe, breakfast was fine and in keeping with the international business style without being great, there is a view of the beach but other views from other hotels in S Africa would beat this one hands down; the staff here were very helpful

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank colsue99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2013

I recently stayed at the Radisson Blu and whilst they have friendly staff, I must say I was disappointed with hotel. Water leaked in the shower, which meant you walking out of your shower into a pool of water and that is last thing you need on the first day on your stay. So you end up using your bath towels to sop up all the water.They offer bottled water in your room for free.. I only received this on 3 days and not all 4. The food was okay... croissants on the last day was stale. Parking is a bit of a nightmare... I was lucky to find parking in the front.. The hotel does have amazing views of the ocean and the staff is very friendly. I will be back to the Radisson with the hope that there is a change.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tania T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Summerstrand hotels
0.7 mi away
The Boardwalk Hotel
The Boardwalk Hotel
#2 of 13 in Summerstrand
4.5 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
0.3 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Port Elizabeth Marine
0.2 mi away
Isango Gate Boutique Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Courtyard Hotel Port Elizabeth
Courtyard Hotel Port Elizabeth
#10 of 13 in Summerstrand
4.0 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Beach Hotel
The Beach Hotel
#8 of 13 in Summerstrand
3.5 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
1.1 mi away
City Lodge Hotel Port Elizabeth
City Lodge Hotel Port Elizabeth
#12 of 13 in Summerstrand
4.0 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel, Port Elizabeth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel, Port Elizabeth

Property: Radisson Blu Hotel, Port Elizabeth
Address: Corner of Marine Dr & Ninth Ave, Summerstrand, Port Elizabeth 6001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Port Elizabeth > Summerstrand
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Summerstrand
#3 Business Hotel in Summerstrand
#4 Luxury Hotel in Summerstrand
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Hotel, Port Elizabeth 4*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Radisson Blu Hotel, Port Elizabeth offers breathtaking sea views from all 173 beautifully appointed guest rooms and suites. With our eight multifunctional conferencing and banqueting rooms equipped with state of the art technology spanning 633sqm, we cater for a vast array of specialised events. All registered guests and meeting delegates receive complimentary high-speed internet access. "tabu grill, bar & lounge" offers world class bistro style food whilst our lounge and sea view pool terrace is the perfect place to relax, enjoy a cocktail and light snack. Camelot Spa offers our guests the perfect place to unwind and relax. Shuttle Service to the Boardwalk Entertainment Complex ensures guests are always mobile. Enrolment to the Carlson Rezidor loyalty program "Club Carlson" is immediate and free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Rezidor, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel, Port Elizabeth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel, Port Elizabeth Hotel Port Elizabeth
Radisson Blu Hotel, Port Elizabeth Summerstrand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing