We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We were made so welcome”
Review of Bayside Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bayside Guesthouse
Ranked #6 of 43 Summerstrand B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 7, 2013

You were our first introduction to South Africa, and what a warm welcome you gave to us, we were made so welcome. The accommodation was wonderful, and the breakfasts were fiirst class, with eggs if you require. Stephanie and Clifford were so helpful, advising us where to visit and to eat. Unfortunately we were only there for two days, and had to move on, but could quite easily have stayed for longer. We thoroughly enjoyed our long walk along the pathway by the beach. Would recommend without hesitation .

Room Tip: All the studios are the same, each with an outside table and chairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gillian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephvH, Manager at Bayside Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2013

Hello hello,

Wow, thank you for the glowing review... I must tell you that having you two stay with us was an absolute pleasure.
We are so glad that you felt so happy and comfortable with us and that we gave you a good introduction to our beautiful country.
We also hope that the rest of your trip was so enjoyable that you are already planning your next visit to SA :-) !

Look after yourselves and keep in touch (find us on Face Book).

All the best.

Cliff, Steph and the Bayside Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (171)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

107 - 113 of 171 reviews

Reviewed February 4, 2013

A fantastic place to be. The hosts Steph, Cliff and Janine are really wonderful people. You never feel just left alone, They always there to assist you in whatever way. One feels really at home. Thanx we will come back if we visit PE again. Angie and Woody

Room Tip: Good for overseas visitors
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AngieKnysna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephvH, Manager at Bayside Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2013

Hello Angie,

Thank you so much for your lovely review.
We so enjoyed having you as our guests and miss our chats at breakfast.
Thank you also for the email yesterday. We were so glad to see that your daughter won the competition.

We wish you all the very best with your charity project in Sedgfield and we hope to see you again soon.
Please send our love to Woody.

Stephanie, Janine and Cliff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2013

Great place to be. Warm welcome, modern, stylisch and comfortable rooms. Very helpfull in finding good places and restaurants to go in PE. Unfortunately we could only stay for two nights, because we had to flight back to Holland.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martijn v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephvH, Manager at Bayside Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2013

Hello Martijn,

Thank you for taking the time to review us.
We enjoyed meeting you and your wonderful family and only wish you could have stayed longer.
Thank you again for the amazing cheese you gave us. Please remember to give us the name so that if we ever come across it we can make sure to get some :-) It was very sad day when we finished it!
Please send a big hug to the family.

Keep well

Steph, Janine, Cliff & little Hugo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2013

If only home was this good!! Steph, Cliff, and Janine are really top class hosts. We have stayed here three times so far, and intend to make it more. The welcome is really caring and welcoming, the Accommodation is first class (same room next time, please Steph!) You reall feel like a member of the family.
The Guesthouse is very close to all the amenities, there is excellent access to help and guidance for activities, and I will be surprised to fine any bad reviews of the wonderful place. The only down side is that is is impossible not to gain weight with the beautiful breakfasts! I can thoroughly recommend Bayside, (but please don't book it when I want to stay!

Room Tip: All the rooms are of a very high standard. You may want to be overlooking the swimming pool, or in a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dickthed0c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephvH, Manager at Bayside Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2013

If only your home was closer to ours!!!

Thank you so much for those kind words. We so enjoyed your last stay (and the ones before too) that we felt a little lost when you didn't arrive for breakfast the next morning :-(
But at least you promised you would be back next year :-)

Look after yourselves and see you soon!

Steph, Cliff, Janine and Hugo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2013

Great hosts, nice and warm atmosphere, high quality standards for hygiene and food perfect situated and most of all great price-quality balance.
What I really liked is the family type of atmosphere that is there without being cramped in attitude. Very helpful and comforting safe.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ruudhui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephvH, Manager at Bayside Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2013

Hello Ruud,

Thank you so much for your lovely review.
It was such a pleasure meeting you and having you stay with us.
Today would be a good, challenging golf day for you as the wind is blowing nicely!
If you and Patricia ever decide to move to South Africa, please keep in touch.

All the best until we meet again!

Stephanie, Janine and the Bayside Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2013

Bayside guesthouse is only a few hundred meters from the beach and promenade. We enjoyed the beach and swimming in the ocean as well as long walks along the promenade. The rooms are great and clean. The staff was nice and helpful in planning our day trips. Always again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hans-Peter T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2013

We had a wonderfull time in the bayside. The rooms were clean and comfortable. The staff was very friendly . When we visit PE again we will definitly stay in Bayside again.....................................................................................

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sanne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephvH, Manager at Bayside Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2013

Thank you for your kind words.
It was only a pleasure to have you and we look forward to welcoming you back again and again and again.....

Keep well!

Stephanie and the Bayside Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Summerstrand
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Port Elizabeth
1 mi away
The Beach Hotel
The Beach Hotel
#8 of 13 in Summerstrand
468 reviews
0.7 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Port Elizabeth Marine
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Forest Hall Guest House
Forest Hall Guest House
#1 of 238 in Port Elizabeth
441 reviews
0.9 mi away
Beachwalk Bed and Breakfast
Beachwalk Bed and Breakfast
#2 of 43 in Summerstrand
346 reviews
0.2 mi away
Admiralty Beach House
Admiralty Beach House
#1 of 43 in Summerstrand
275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bayside Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bayside Guesthouse

Address: 6 Tiran Road, Summerstrand, Port Elizabeth 6001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Port Elizabeth > Summerstrand
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Summerstrand
Price Range: $90 - $104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bayside Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the upmarket beachfront suburb of Summerstrand, Bayside Guesthouse offers 4 star comfort 400 metres from the popular Pollock Beach with easy access to the Boardwalk Casino & Entertainment complex, and the airport only 6 kilometres away. Various styles of rooms offer a choice of privacy, family and limited self-catering accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Bayside Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bayside Guesthouse Port Elizabeth/Summerstrand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing