We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderfull place”
Review of Bayside Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bayside Guesthouse
Ranked #6 of 43 Summerstrand B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 12, 2013

We had a wonderfull time in the bayside. The rooms were clean and comfortable. The staff was very friendly . When we visit PE again we will definitly stay in Bayside again.....................................................................................

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sanne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephvH, Manager at Bayside Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2013

Thank you for your kind words.
It was only a pleasure to have you and we look forward to welcoming you back again and again and again.....

Keep well!

Stephanie and the Bayside Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (167)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

109 - 115 of 167 reviews

Reviewed January 10, 2013

Staying at Bayside Guesthouse was great! The service was super good and the staff super helpful and friendly. The rooms were so nice with a lot of space and clean. Also the pool is pretty cool. There is so much going on in Port Elizabeth and the bed and breakfast is near everything; like the boardwalk and the beach. I would love to come back, it was amazing.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lottekbk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephvH, Manager at Bayside Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2013

Hello hello,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write us such a lovely review.
We miss having you and your family here...it was so nice having you all over the festive season and we hope you will make it back to PE soon.

Bye for now.

Stephanie & Janine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

My time in the bayside guesthouse was awesome. The staff was really Nice and the service was great . They really made me feel like home which made stay in south-africa better. I will defenitely try to return there someday.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mees K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephvH, Manager at Bayside Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2013

Hello Mees,

Thank you so much for your great review.
We had such a good time with you and your family these holidays, and we are happy to hear that you also enjoyed yourselves and that you could call our home yours for a few days.
Please come back soon :-)

Keep well

Stephanie, Janine and Hugo ("up top")

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

We had a lovely stay! The staff was so friendly and helpfull. Having breakfast before breakfast time was no problem for them. The rooms were clean and big. The atmosphere was relaxed and calm. You have a lot of privacy but without the separability you get from a hotel. It was like living in a big apartment with the family.
I loved it!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elisabethmerel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephvH, Manager at Bayside Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2013

Thank you Elizabeth.
We are so glad that you felt so at home with us and by the time you left you sure felt like part of our family.
We truly hope to see all again one day. Maybe your parents will eventually decide to pack up and move to South Africa (maybe not too far from PE) so you will have more reasons to visit.

Look after yourself until we meet again.

Stephanie, Janine and Hugo ("up top")

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

We have spent 2 weeks of our holidays at the Bayside with our 4 children and a friend. With our company of 7 persons we enjoyed the hospitality of Clifford, Stephanie, (Hugo) and Janine. All 4 rooms we rented were clean and comfortable. We have felt at "home", because of the friendlyness, easy-going-style and lovely breakfast. We will certainly come back at Bayside when staying in PE.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank patricia h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephvH, Manager at Bayside Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2013

Patricia, what an awesome review (:-)), thank you so much.

Once again, it was such a pleasure hosting you and your family during the December Holidays. We thoroughly enjoyed having all of you with us over Christmas and New Year and we really hope that you will have another stunning Holiday to South Africa this coming December.
Remember the Knysna golf courses are really worth a visit :-)

All the best to you and keep well.

Stephanie, Janine and the Bayside Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

As a regular traveler to Port Elizabeth we found the Bayside pleasant, convenient and user friendly. The staff is very helpful and completely service oriented. The breakfast is at the high end of very good. The Bayside is very accessible to the Boardwalk and the Beach. We have stayed there twice and will do so again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephvH, Manager at Bayside Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2013

Hello Mark and Kathy,

We are so glad you stumbled across Bayside in October last year and decided to visit us again on your last trip to PE.
It is such a pleasure to have you as our guests and hear about your interesting work.

We hope you enjoyed your festive season with some of your children and that 2013 will be a good one (and will include lots of visits to PE :-) )

All the best until we meet again.

Steph, Janine and the Bayside Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2012

My mother and I did a long road trip from Cape Town to Port Elizabeth and all I can say is what a pleasure it was to stay at such a great place after so many kilometres on the road.
It didnt even feel like we just drove all the way from Cape Town while I got to relax outside my room with a lovely garden/pool view.

With the lovely breakfast each morning we didnt even bother with lunch and thanks to Stephanies great advice and suggestions we were abe to see the best of Port Elizabeth.

Thank you Stephanie and the Bayside team for making our stay such a wonderful one. Hope to see you again soon.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephvH, Manager at Bayside Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2013

Hello Lynn,

It was so nice to hear from you again. We often talk about yours and your mom's visit to Bayside, and what a lovely time we had with you.
Please will you thank you mom again for the delicious jam she brought us....it was a very sad day when we finished the jar!
We hope you are both keeping well and planning a new visit to PE soon.

All the best to you for 2013.

Steph, Janine and Cliff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Summerstrand
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Port Elizabeth
0.7 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Port Elizabeth Marine
1 mi away
The Beach Hotel
The Beach Hotel
#7 of 13 in Summerstrand
456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Forest Hall Guest House
Forest Hall Guest House
#1 of 236 in Port Elizabeth
436 reviews
0.9 mi away
Beachwalk Bed and Breakfast
Beachwalk Bed and Breakfast
#4 of 43 in Summerstrand
341 reviews
0.2 mi away
Admiralty Beach House
Admiralty Beach House
#1 of 43 in Summerstrand
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bayside Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bayside Guesthouse

Address: 6 Tiran Road, Summerstrand, Port Elizabeth 6001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Port Elizabeth > Summerstrand
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Summerstrand
Price Range: $80 - $94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bayside Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the upmarket beachfront suburb of Summerstrand, Bayside Guesthouse offers 4 star comfort 400 metres from the popular Pollock Beach with easy access to the Boardwalk Casino & Entertainment complex, and the airport only 6 kilometres away. Various styles of rooms offer a choice of privacy, family and limited self-catering accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Bayside Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bayside Guesthouse Port Elizabeth/Summerstrand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing