We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just perfect”
Review of Bayside Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bayside Guesthouse
Ranked #7 of 43 Summerstrand B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 9, 2013

We had a lovely stay! The staff was so friendly and helpfull. Having breakfast before breakfast time was no problem for them. The rooms were clean and big. The atmosphere was relaxed and calm. You have a lot of privacy but without the separability you get from a hotel. It was like living in a big apartment with the family.
I loved it!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elisabethmerel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephvH, Manager at Bayside Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2013

Thank you Elizabeth.
We are so glad that you felt so at home with us and by the time you left you sure felt like part of our family.
We truly hope to see all again one day. Maybe your parents will eventually decide to pack up and move to South Africa (maybe not too far from PE) so you will have more reasons to visit.

Look after yourself until we meet again.

Stephanie, Janine and Hugo ("up top")

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (165)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

110 - 116 of 165 reviews

Reviewed January 9, 2013

We have spent 2 weeks of our holidays at the Bayside with our 4 children and a friend. With our company of 7 persons we enjoyed the hospitality of Clifford, Stephanie, (Hugo) and Janine. All 4 rooms we rented were clean and comfortable. We have felt at "home", because of the friendlyness, easy-going-style and lovely breakfast. We will certainly come back at Bayside when staying in PE.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank patricia h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephvH, Manager at Bayside Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2013

Patricia, what an awesome review (:-)), thank you so much.

Once again, it was such a pleasure hosting you and your family during the December Holidays. We thoroughly enjoyed having all of you with us over Christmas and New Year and we really hope that you will have another stunning Holiday to South Africa this coming December.
Remember the Knysna golf courses are really worth a visit :-)

All the best to you and keep well.

Stephanie, Janine and the Bayside Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

As a regular traveler to Port Elizabeth we found the Bayside pleasant, convenient and user friendly. The staff is very helpful and completely service oriented. The breakfast is at the high end of very good. The Bayside is very accessible to the Boardwalk and the Beach. We have stayed there twice and will do so again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephvH, Manager at Bayside Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2013

Hello Mark and Kathy,

We are so glad you stumbled across Bayside in October last year and decided to visit us again on your last trip to PE.
It is such a pleasure to have you as our guests and hear about your interesting work.

We hope you enjoyed your festive season with some of your children and that 2013 will be a good one (and will include lots of visits to PE :-) )

All the best until we meet again.

Steph, Janine and the Bayside Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2012

My mother and I did a long road trip from Cape Town to Port Elizabeth and all I can say is what a pleasure it was to stay at such a great place after so many kilometres on the road.
It didnt even feel like we just drove all the way from Cape Town while I got to relax outside my room with a lovely garden/pool view.

With the lovely breakfast each morning we didnt even bother with lunch and thanks to Stephanies great advice and suggestions we were abe to see the best of Port Elizabeth.

Thank you Stephanie and the Bayside team for making our stay such a wonderful one. Hope to see you again soon.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephvH, Manager at Bayside Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2013

Hello Lynn,

It was so nice to hear from you again. We often talk about yours and your mom's visit to Bayside, and what a lovely time we had with you.
Please will you thank you mom again for the delicious jam she brought us....it was a very sad day when we finished the jar!
We hope you are both keeping well and planning a new visit to PE soon.

All the best to you for 2013.

Steph, Janine and Cliff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2012

when I go away on business, I always look for a guesthouse that I can call, a home away from home and I found one........ Bayside Guesthouse.

since the first time I booked in, you feel at home. Stephanie and her team make you feel comfortable, welcome and are always friendly. Since the first time, every time I go to Port Elizabeth, I check in at Bayside.

the rooms are amazing,reasonably priced and the area is quiet and safe. I enjoy every breakfast and if possible I would order it on a daily basis.

its a real experience staying by Bayside.

once again, thanks a million and i will see you shortly

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rolf F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephvH, Manager at Bayside Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2013

Hello Rolf,
Thank you so much for the wonderful review.
It is always a pleasure having you stay with us...just wish you made it to PE more often :-)
We hope you and the family had a lovely festive season and are ready for a brilliant 2013.

See you soon.

The Bayside Bunch.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2012

This is just too easy. Thanks to Stephanie and Clifford. As a businessman who travels a lot and often has to "settle" when it comes to accommodation I can say that Bayside is quite simply excellent. So much so that I became a regular for a couple of years and at no time did I ever have a single complaint or a problem. Going the extra mile for their guests is not something that they think about its just the way they are. You feel more like a member of the family than a paying guest. I’m not a fussy person except when it comes to my breakfast on the road. They always got it right! O and they actually know that an English breakfast needs Marmalade and Worcestershire sauce to really qualify. Ok yes and A1. Stay there you will not be disappointed. The brochure is the truth the rooms, food ambiance and vibe are all that nice.

Room Tip: Pick a number. They are all good and there is sure to be one to suite your need. I know I’ve stayed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephvH, Manager at Bayside Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2012

Wow Peter....thank you so much for that!

It is really a shame (in our opinion - but we are sure that you are rather pleased) that you do not need to visit Port Elizabeth anymore.
We miss the animated chats at breakfast and it was an absolute pleasure having you as our guest over the last 5 years.

Look after yourself and we hope to see you again some day!

Steph & the Bayside Bunch

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

Thanks to Janine for making very special arrangements to accommodate our family. Lovely accommodation with own private garden. Ideal when staying over with 2 year old. Thanks to Stephanie, Clifford and little Hugo for making our stay a most pleasant one. Our little Bella was very comfortable and safe at Bayside. The environment is absolutely child friendly.
It was actually quite sad to leave after our 7 day stay. You will definitely see us again soon.
Most helpful and friendly team.

Room Tip: large family room with private garden and small kitchen
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeannie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephvH, Manager at Bayside Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2012

Hello Jeannie,

Thank you so much for your great review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us just as much as we enjoyed having you, Carla and little Bella. Hugo a lot of fun and even went looking for Bella after you had left.
You really do have 2 special girls!
Please come and visit us again soon, and if we are ever in Cape Town, we will make sure to come say hello.
Please keep in touch by liking our face book page.

All the best.

Stephanie, Clifford, Janine and Hugo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Summerstrand
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Port Elizabeth
0.7 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Port Elizabeth Marine
1 mi away
The Beach Hotel
The Beach Hotel
#7 of 13 in Summerstrand
456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Forest Hall Guest House
Forest Hall Guest House
#1 of 235 in Port Elizabeth
434 reviews
0.9 mi away
Beachwalk Bed and Breakfast
Beachwalk Bed and Breakfast
#4 of 43 in Summerstrand
341 reviews
0.2 mi away
Admiralty Beach House
Admiralty Beach House
#1 of 43 in Summerstrand
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bayside Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bayside Guesthouse

Address: 6 Tiran Road, Summerstrand, Port Elizabeth 6001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Port Elizabeth > Summerstrand
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Summerstrand
Price Range: $80 - $94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bayside Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the upmarket beachfront suburb of Summerstrand, Bayside Guesthouse offers 4 star comfort 400 metres from the popular Pollock Beach with easy access to the Boardwalk Casino & Entertainment complex, and the airport only 6 kilometres away. Various styles of rooms offer a choice of privacy, family and limited self-catering accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire and Orbitz so you can book your Bayside Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bayside Guesthouse Port Elizabeth/Summerstrand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing