We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Staying at Algoa Guest House” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Algoa Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Algoa Guest House
Ranked #5 of 43 Summerstrand B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Mossel Bay
2 reviews
“Staying at Algoa Guest House”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay, the breakfast was lovely, everything freshly made to order. Thank you very much for being so welcoming and we can honestly say we couldn't complain about anything. 5* all round

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Nc K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa L, Owner at Algoa Guest House, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Thank you for sending us your great review - it was a real pleasure to have you and your family stay with us at Algoa Guest House. We look forward to your visit for next year's conference!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    40
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
48
59
11
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

Great reception and warm welcome by the owner, the room was clean and comfortable, breakfast was good and fresh and the localization is very good. Excellent cost benefit, mainly for those traveling by car.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank sergiopais
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa L, Owner at Algoa Guest House, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Thank you for giving us your great review. It is very rewarding and always a pleasure to host guests like you! We are so glad that you enjoyed your trip to South Africa and really hope that the "Call of Africa" will have you visiting us again in the future.

Remember Port Elizabeth is like a hidden gem in South Africa and we have so much more for you to experience and enjoy!

Until then!

Best regards, Roger & Lisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bad Gastein, Austria
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013

Our last knight was spent at Algoa Guest House. The reception was very friendly. The rooms were clean, spacious and comfortable. The breakfast area was small but charming the breakfast excellent. Our host always tried to help and be of service. We have been to many B&Bs on our round trip and this was one of the best.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Hans P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa L, Owner at Algoa Guest House, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
We are glad that you chose to stay at AGH for your final night in South Africa. Thank you for writing your review - it was a pleasure to host you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

Roger and Lisa are excellent hands-on hosts. I wanted an inexpensive, hassle free, good breakfast place near the Boardwalk. And I got it! My only problem was getting the TV to work but I have this problem everywhere.
I will stay here again on future visits to PE.

Adrian

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Adrian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa L, Owner at Algoa Guest House, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review for us! It is always great to get positive feedback and we really enjoyed looking after you. Next time you are here I will show you the tricks to operating the TV!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

On arrival, we were met by very friendly hosts who went out of their way to make our stay excellent. The rooms were large (we were four sharing a family room), comfortable, and spotlessly clean. Of the half dozen guest houses we stayed at in South Africa, the Algoa stood out as by far the best!
We have and will continue to recommend the Algoa to all who will listen!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KjellOG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa L, Owner at Algoa Guest House, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Thank you for your great recommendations! It was really good having you and your family as guests at Algoa Guest House.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimberley, South Africa
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

Arrived at 18h00 and left 8h00 the next day. The room had everything i needed. I had a full english breakfast before i left the next morning, which was very good.Friendly hosts and the area suited me because my business had to be done in Summerstrand.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Johan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa L, Owner at Algoa Guest House, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
We are glad that we were able to accommodate you - thanks for the good review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

The accommodations were spacious, clean, and well set out. The location was ideal and the breakfast delicious and something different to select everyday. We also enjoyed swimming in the pool. The most memorable part of our visit, however, were the hosts. We were visiting an older friend in P.E. who has mobility issues. The hosts accommodated all of our special needs and made us feel most welcome. Their willingness to accommodate left us free to just visit with an old friend - we now have lovely memories of our visit, Port Elizabeth, and Lisa and Roger (the hosts).

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ri0isthebest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa L, Owner at Algoa Guest House, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Thank you so much for sending us your kind thoughts. We are so glad that we were able to help you and to make your visit both easier and enjoyable. Bye for now! Roger and Lisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Summerstrand hotels
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Port Elizabeth
0.2 mi away
Isango Gate Boutique Hotel and Spa
0.1 mi away
Admiralty Beach House
Admiralty Beach House
#1 of 43 in Summerstrand
5.0 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Beachwalk Bed and Breakfast
Beachwalk Bed and Breakfast
#2 of 43 in Summerstrand
4.5 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
0.1 mi away
Island Vibe Port Elizabeth
Island Vibe Port Elizabeth
#1 of 6 in Summerstrand
4.0 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
0.3 mi away
Singa Lodge
Singa Lodge
#5 of 13 in Summerstrand
4.0 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Algoa Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Algoa Guest House

Property: Algoa Guest House
Address: 87 Brighton Drive, Summerstrand, Port Elizabeth 6001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Port Elizabeth > Summerstrand
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Summerstrand
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Algoa Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Algoa Guesthouse is an owner managed 3 star bed and breakfast in Summerstrand Port Elizabeth. If you are here to enjoy all the attractions of our Friendly City or are about to embark on a journey along the beautiful Garden Route, holiday makers and business travellers alike will enjoy a comfortable stay at this guest house in Port Elizabeth. Algoa B&B offers comfortable, clean and semi self-catering rooms (microwave, bar fridge, tea/coffee making facilities) with air conditioners, flat screen TV's with a selection of satellite channels and Free Wi-Fi. Enjoy a healthy or a full English breakfast in the quaint dining- room which overlooks the swimming pool and attractive garden. We are only a mere 200 metre stroll to the beachfront of Pollock Beach. Experience the warm waters of Nelson Mandela Bay (Algoa Bay)at one of beaches (Pollock Beach, Hobie Beach or one of our Blue Flag beaches (Humewood Beach & Kings Beach) which is also a popular destination to swim or surf or to go scuba diving with the dolphins at one of the estimated 400 ship wreckages. Algoa Guest House is ideally positioned in Port Elizabeth to act as your base to experience the Eastern Cape. Grahamstown, Sardinia Bay, Jeffreys Bay and Addo Elephant Park are less than an hour's drive away. Alternatively go and explore the rich cultural heritage of our city centre (do the Donkin Trail). Pack your clubs and enjoy a round of golf at the Humewood Links Golf Course which is only 1,5km's away. The North and South Campus of Nelson Mandela Metropolitan University is also only 1,5km's away. There are several popular restaurants within a 2 km radius from this Algoa Bay bed and breakfast and the Boardwalk Casino is also just 2km's away. Port Elizabeth Airport is just a 10 minutes' drive from Algoa and airport transfers can be organised on your behalf.Secure off street parking is provided for your vehicle behind remote controlled gates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Algoa Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Algoa Guest House Port Elizabeth/Summerstrand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing