We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BRILLIANT! Wish we could have stayed longer!”
Review of Manor 38

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Manor 38
Ranked #3 of 44 Summerstrand B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“BRILLIANT! Wish we could have stayed longer!”
Reviewed February 19, 2014 via mobile

Beautiful accommodation, great service and nice breakfast. We even got a free upgrade which was great. Really helpful with directions and dinner reservations.
Dont stay anywhere else in PE as this is perfectly located!

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank mellieAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    277
    49
    4
    3
    2
See reviews for
44
182
15
52
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2014

We spent one night here and were very impressed by the service. Christopher, who greeted us on arrival was a charming, helpful man who provided us with fresh coffee on arrival, gave a good recommendation for dinner and generally had a lovely, gentle manner. Breakfast the next day was served by Wendy, who was equally charming. This is a beautiful, tastefully decorated property with large, comfortable rooms, a great pool and delicious breakfasts. Lovely to receive a nightcap and chocolate by our bed in the evening. The attention to detail is second to none in this beautiful property

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HelenLanghammer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wirral, england
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2014

Lovely spacious room,huge bathroom, excellent aircon,nice pool area, lovely breakfast, pleasant staff, clean and fresh in all areas...and a choccy and nightime sherry in the room.
Secure car parking, and a very reasonably priced washing service.
The minibar was also very reasonably priced.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doddypoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2014 via mobile

As a very good start to our vacation in SA we stayed 2 nights in Manor 38 a beautiful guest house in Summerstrand, Port Elizabeth. Our room was big and beautifully decorated as rest of the house. A little nightcup at our bedside made the day complete! Thank you Wendy and Chris and a big hugh to Benji the house dog, 15 years old half blind half deaf! A little sweetheart! Take care and we hope to be back. We defenately stay with you again! PS! Go for the breakfast it's delicious! Kim and Eirin:-)

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
Thank EBR308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 14, 2014

A heartfelt welcome and magnificent rooms; efficient service, superb breakfast and chocolate and sherry nightcap(!) make this exceptional.Breakfast deserves special mention: generous portions of the freshest produce and home-made muesli made this memorable and well worth the extra money.Grimy floor tiles in bathroom were the only (small) negative.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Heide M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andernach, Germany
1 review
Reviewed February 14, 2014

Spacious room,huge bathroom with a superb shower, fine Breakfast, excellent service, save car parking, house is near by the sea ,fine restaurants in footwalk distance, only few minutes to the airport.


  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Christian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviewed February 12, 2014

Well located guest house with superb features and facilities, ultra modern furnitre and decor. Great staff abd a wonderful host with a great personality and skills.I would recommend Manor 38 as real value for money.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank LesterGB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Summerstrand hotels
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Port Elizabeth
0.3 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Port Elizabeth Marine
0.8 mi away
The Boardwalk Hotel
The Boardwalk Hotel
#2 of 13 in Summerstrand
475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Beachwalk Bed and Breakfast
Beachwalk Bed and Breakfast
#2 of 44 in Summerstrand
329 reviews
0.4 mi away
Admiralty Beach House
Admiralty Beach House
#1 of 44 in Summerstrand
261 reviews
0.5 mi away
No 5 Boutique Art Hotel
No 5 Boutique Art Hotel
#1 of 13 in Summerstrand
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manor 38? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manor 38

Property: Manor 38
Address: 38 Brighton Drive, Summerstrand, Port Elizabeth 6001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Port Elizabeth > Summerstrand
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 44 B&Bs / Inns in Summerstrand
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Manor 38 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Manor 38 provides superior accommodation similar to the best Boutique Hotels but at more affordable rates. The facility has a longstanding excellent rating on TripAdvisor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Manor 38 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manor 38 Port Elizabeth/Summerstrand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing