We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay in Port Elizabeth”
Review of Manor 38

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Manor 38
Ranked #2 of 43 Summerstrand B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Manor 38 is a great place to stay while visiting Port Elizabeth. The rooms are very clean and the manor is located in a great place within the city, close to all surrounding sites. Wendy and Christopher are great hosts that are very friendly and helpful with any travel future plans you may have in South Africa. The breakfast is also very good. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ethorv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (354)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

164 - 170 of 354 reviews

Reviewed January 5, 2014

When staying at Manor 38 there is one thing you will never forget The Breakfast. I have never ever had a better breakfast in a B&B. A choice of fresh juices, 7 different types of really fresh fruit, delicious (home made?) bread, eggs any style and yoghurt with muesli. Of course coffee and tea....
The rooms are spacious with queen size beds and the swimming pool makes it complete. Parking is safe and the assistance of Christopher at arrival and departure is outstanding. Wendy is a lady who understands what it means to treat well or better expressed spoil their guests!!

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
Thank wim s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2013

We did stay unfortunately only one night but it has been a really great experience. The Manor 38 is in a very quiet neighborhood and about 10 minutes by car to the airport. It has a lovely pool, a great lounge area and is with passion to detail decorated. Our room was over viewing the pool area, had a aircon as well as an ventilator, a bathroom with whirl tub,a big shower and a separated toilet. The anemeties looked like in a five star hotel. Not only standard shower gel and shampoo, also scrub, lotion, bathing salt ...
The breakfast was really delicious. Everything we'll prepared and really fresh.
The staff was very friendly and supportive as specially the manager, Wendy, was so helpful at the time my rubbish rental car company (First) did not show up. Wendy immediately called them and organized it so that we finally did receive the car. Thanks again for the great support!!

Room Tip: Executive room with view over the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ManfredFRA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2013 via mobile

We arrived at the perfect place after having travel for over 20hrs from Europe. Our room was overlooking the patio and pool area which was as relaxing as you can imagine. The room itslef was decorated in such a way that you feel you were vsiting a close relative. Wendy has been an amzing host giving us tips on what to do and specially where to eat. Thank you for a wonderful start to our holidays.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank christiank8a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2013

We stayed at Manor 38 for two nights during our SA vavation in November and had such a fantastic time. Thanks to Wendy and Christopher for making our stay that memorable! Manor 38 is located only 5 min. away from the Boardwalk Casino and Shopping Mall in a safe neighborhood The rooms are nice and give you everything you need. The breakfast in the morning was fantastic. Everything was self/home-made. All in all our stay felt more like visiting friends. Would defintely love to come back and recommend this to everyone visiting Port Elizabeth.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicolai C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2013

This is one of the nicest guest houses i have stayed in. The room i had (room 4) would rival some of the top end 5* Hotels i have stayed in. I would happily recommend. The staff were all friendly and attentive.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DocSeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2013

This hotel is a great place to stay for visitors to Port Elizabeth. My girlfriend and I were travelling through the garden route and didn't think too much of this city, but were very happy to get back and relax around the pool at the hotel. The room was very clean, modern and luxurious. Staff were friendly and helpful, and the food in the restaurant was well presented and delicious. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Picasso1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Summerstrand
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Port Elizabeth
0.8 mi away
The Boardwalk Hotel
The Boardwalk Hotel
#2 of 13 in Summerstrand
517 reviews
5.1 mi away
Hacklewood Hill Country House
Hacklewood Hill Country House
#1 of 33 in Port Elizabeth
313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
City Lodge Hotel Port Elizabeth
City Lodge Hotel Port Elizabeth
#11 of 13 in Summerstrand
130 reviews
0.3 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Port Elizabeth Marine
0.4 mi away
Admiralty Beach House
Admiralty Beach House
#1 of 43 in Summerstrand
274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manor 38? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manor 38

Address: 38 Brighton Drive, Summerstrand, Port Elizabeth 6001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Port Elizabeth > Summerstrand
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Summerstrand
Price Range: $90 - $127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Manor 38 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Manor 38 provides superior accommodation similar to the best Boutique Hotels but at more affordable rates. The facility has a longstanding excellent rating on TripAdvisor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Manor 38 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manor 38 Port Elizabeth/Summerstrand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing