We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3 nights in Port Elizabeth”
Review of Manor 38

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Manor 38
Ranked #4 of 43 Summerstrand B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“3 nights in Port Elizabeth”
Reviewed June 14, 2013

From check in to check out, the staff did everything to make sure our stay was enjoyable. From booking our tours of Kragga Kamma and Seaview, directing us to local restaurants, and ensuring that we had everything we needed. The glasses of port/sherry with chocolate on the side at bed time, a very nice touch. Thanks for everything, Wendy.

Room Tip: When travelling as a couple, ensure room has Queen or larger. The double was a little snug.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    277
    49
    4
    3
    2
See reviews for
44
182
15
52
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Worcester Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We only stayed one night - on our road trip around the coast from Cape Town to Johannesburg - but stands out as the best stay of our holiday. The house / manor is well situated not far from PE center, coast, or airport. We had an extremely warm welcome from Wendy - a welcome and warmth that continued for our stay. The room was fantastic (upgraded to executive suite), and breakfast in the morning was similarly memorable. We took a trip down to the Boardwalk for dinner - also worth a visit. Definitely recommend this guest house to anyone going through PE - not a tremendous amount to do in PE itself, but worth any additional mileage or trip adjustments to stay at Manor 38

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2013 via mobile

Lovely place to stay and extremely helpful and kind owner.
Had a relaxing nights stay and slept so well in a very comfortable bed!
The breakfast was beautifully presented and very nice!
We would definitely recommend!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzannah198
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg,South Africa
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2013

Nothing was too much trouble for the staff. Wendy is a delightful hostess and Chris was always there ready to help with any possible request. Not on the beach but walking distance. Classy, peaceful, spacious. Fabulous breakfast. You will not make a mistake. We will definately be back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Justagirl2812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed April 16, 2013 via mobile

Nice little hotel with friendly staff but rooms are rather small with a tiny bed. Nice bath and shower but there was no warm water left this morning as was yesterday evening so I got again a cold shower...

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eipiplusun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
83 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2013

Our family of four (two boys - 12 and 16) stayed at Manor 38 for a night on our way to a safari. We couldn't have made a better choice. Wendy is just so lovely and welcoming. She correctly guessed that we might arrive earlier than we had said, seeing as the weather was a bit wet that day. The rooms were ready for us upon arrival.

Our rooms were at pool level, and were very well equipped, with nice, big hair dryers (so often a problem in hotels), beautifully appointed bathrooms and lovely, comfy beds.

Wendy had made reservations at a local restaurant (excellent choice), and upon our return to the hotel that evening, we greatly appreciated the nightcap that was left in our room. The boys were given chocolate, which was a lovely touch.

We had some fantastic breakfasts during our two weeks in South Africa, and Manor 38's version was on par with luxury hotel offerings. The fresh fruit was beautifully presented and the house muesli spectacular.

Manor 38 does not usually cater to families with younger children (under the age of 12), but during our stay, there happened be a few other children at the hotel. Seeing as it was the Easter weekend, Wendy and her fabulous staff organized an impromptu Easter egg hunt for the children on the morning we were leaving. The kids were thrilled with all their loot, and we were just amazed of the thoughtfulness that had gone into planning this.

Throughout our trip, we stayed at many different hotels, most of them considerably more expensive than Manor 38. Thus I know that this hotel represents amazing value for money. If you are in PE, for a short or longer term, this is the hotel to stay at. It is just a few minutes from the renovated and lively waterfront, with loads of activities, shopping and restaurants. At the same time, it is not right on the waterfront, which allows for lovely, peaceful nights.

Thank you again Wendy! For everything. We hope to be back again!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HeidiToronto_Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2013

A beautiful guest house, run by the most wonderful people...who made our time in Port Elizabeth so much better, so much more. This is the standard by which all boutique hotels should be judged. A lovely stay. Wendy and her team are superb

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Euro34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Summerstrand hotels
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Port Elizabeth
0.8 mi away
The Boardwalk Hotel
The Boardwalk Hotel
#2 of 13 in Summerstrand
469 reviews
0.3 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Port Elizabeth Marine
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Beachwalk Bed and Breakfast
Beachwalk Bed and Breakfast
#2 of 43 in Summerstrand
325 reviews
0.4 mi away
Admiralty Beach House
Admiralty Beach House
#1 of 43 in Summerstrand
257 reviews
0.5 mi away
No 5 Boutique Art Hotel
No 5 Boutique Art Hotel
#1 of 13 in Summerstrand
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manor 38? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manor 38

Property: Manor 38
Address: 38 Brighton Drive, Summerstrand, Port Elizabeth 6001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Port Elizabeth > Summerstrand
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Summerstrand
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Manor 38 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Manor 38 provides superior accommodation similar to the best Boutique Hotels but at more affordable rates. The facility has a longstanding excellent rating on TripAdvisor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Manor 38 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manor 38 Port Elizabeth/Summerstrand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing