We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Manor 38
Nearby Hotels
$106
Radisson Blu
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
The Boardwalk Hotel(Summerstrand)
$148
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Beach Hotel(Summerstrand)
$77
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No5 by Mantis(Summerstrand)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Singa Lodge(Summerstrand)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Blue Bay BnB(Summerstrand)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (366)
Filter reviews
366 results
Traveler rating
307
50
4
3
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
307
50
4
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsexecutive suitemuesliguest housesuperb servicegarden routepersonal touchport elizabethlovely poollovely breakfastroom was largewonderful stayhome away from homesouth africawendysherryguesthousehostess
Filter
Updating list...
264 - 269 of 366 reviews
Reviewed January 16, 2012

Spent 3 days at Xmas at this beautiful b&b. We had a fabulous time and the bedrooms are so comfortable and Wendy was so helpful and great company we will definately go back if we ever visit PE again.

Room Tip: We stayed in a room next to the pool and was very private
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank raymond21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2011

Manor 38 was our first b&b we have ever stayed at and it did not disappoint. Wendy made dinner recommendations in advance of us showing up and even booked a dinner at Ginger for us...apparently everybody we've met loves that place. The house has an amazing layout with huge rooms. We stayed in room 1 which even had a shower with 4 jets! Wendy and her staff greeted us in the morning and made fresh breakfast for us. I wish I could live in his house.

Room Tip: Room 1 was our favorite.
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank glennmichael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2011

Our first night of a 14 night trip to SA, and we were not disappointed. Did not really understand the guest house concept, which has slightly different connotations in UK, so it was a relief that the reviews I had read here were accurate. The room was very large and very well furnished with a very large bathroom etc.

Breakfast was excellent and all the staff extremely friendly and helpful, including a spot on recommendation for dinner nearby

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hugh D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2011

I stayed for 5 days at Manor 38. It would not be a exaggeration to say that this is the best guest house in Port Elizabeth. Intimate atmosphere,clean rooms,friendly staff and plentiful breakfast. The only con I could find is that the wifi was not free as it should be.Highly recommended...

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mpijay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2011

My wife and I stayed here for one night before starting a drive along the garden route to Cape Town and were thoroughly impressed.

Our room was large, comfortable and had all the amenities we needed. The jacuzzi bath, fabulous turn down service and yummy breakfast were more reflective of a 5* hotel than a guest house.

Overall: Great value for money and it would be a first choice if I am ever in Port Elizabeth again.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank davo123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews