We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasty meal - good night out.”
Review of De Kelder

De Kelder
Ranked #1 of 12 Restaurants in Summerstrand
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $25
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: De Kelder Restaurant specialises in Seafood, Steaks and local Venison.open Monday to Friday 12.00 to 2.00 and 6.00pm to 10.00 pm Monday to Saturday.
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Tasty meal - good night out.”
Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

Great food, the menu has a good selection of different dishes and the vegetarian food is also very hearty and tasty. The wine per glass could be a gamble (the red was fine, the white not so much), but we couldn't complain. Our waitress even organised a taxi on request.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hanelle F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

567 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    328
    160
    54
    18
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Port Elizabeth, Eastern Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“No spice”
Reviewed June 28, 2013

A very good atmosphere in this restaurant. Service very attentive. The Chateux Briand was delicious and creates a great show for all with the dramatic flambé.
Dissapointing starter.
Ordered chicken liver peri peri and specified I would like the dish to be spicy. This was the blandest chicken liver I have ever eaten. Not at all spicy. I had to add Tabasco.sauce to make it spicy. I don't know why restaurants don't understand how hot "spicy" has to be.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Robert L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Level Contributor
102 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“BEST IN TOWN”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Always guranteeed of excelant service and top qulaity food. Run by Michelle and her team, you will be treated to an evening of sublime food.

Well designed menu, with supporting wine offerings will ensure you have an unforgetable evening in a restaurant with a warm and inviting atmosphere.

A must visit!!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ian j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Elizabeth, Eastern Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fine dining.”
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Food excellent, service excellent. Food always good. Very good steaks and sea food. Excellent breakfasts. Great dining experience. Safe parking.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gaynor G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic !!!!”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Had one of the finest meals ever at De Kelder last week and wish to thank Michelle personally and her team for the wonderful time we spent there, and will continue sending all my guests there to experience the lovely warmth and atmosphere that we so enjoyed....at least we could hear each other talking !!! The food was fabulous, and many thanks for your generosity!!!! :)

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Manor38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed De Kelder also viewed

Port Elizabeth, Eastern Cape
Summerstrand, Port Elizabeth
 
Port Elizabeth, Eastern Cape
Port Elizabeth, Eastern Cape
 

Been to De Kelder? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing