We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best B & B in PE”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Beachwalk Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 43 Summerstrand B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 16, 2013

We have stayed at Beachwalk twice this year and can safely say we will never bother staying anywhere else in PE! Beautiful rooms, comfy beds, a fully stocked fridge, DSTV, free Wi-Fi and a delicious breakfast are just some of the reasons we will continue to stay here. In a great location close to the beach and Boardwalk Casino Complex with restaurants, bars, shops and a cinema. Above all the hosts (especially Alida who we have got to know the best) could not do enough for us to make our stay enjoyable, and always reccommend great restaurants! Thankyou Alida for always going the extra mile. We look forward to returning next year to see the refurbished rooms!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rarasa09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (341)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

123 - 129 of 341 reviews

Reviewed September 13, 2013

We arrived at 815 pm to meet the friendly manager who welcomed us warmly. She gave us 3 restaurant recommendations - all were spot on.

The b&b is run by a delightful couple who are well informed and hospitable.

The herb they use in the mushrooms at breakfast was fantastic - tasted super.

Well located and well maintained.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suni2602
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

I visited for one night in February 2012. The hosts were friendly and very helpful. My luggage didn't follow me from Joburg, and they provided me with whatever I needed to make my stay enjoyable and stress free. I am hoping to head back to Shamwari Conservation Experience in January 2014, and have already added a one night stay at Beachwalk to my itinerary.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LishTeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Having returned to stay more than 20 times should say it all, the hospitality is always the same ,friendly hosts ,Lee , Cliff and Alida are willing to do anything to make your stay more pleasant . Great attention to detail in the rooms , and superb food. An ideal spot near the Summerstrand .Having tried many B&B's ,this one comes out tops .

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CliffordH, Owner at Beachwalk Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2013

Hello Mike
Apologies for the delayed response - you've stayed with us another four times since the review, but as you know we were away for a good few weeks and have been playing catch-up ever since.
Mike, what more can I say, we see more of you that our own family so you've pretty much become family ... I still think you should live with us permanently and commute to Zambia instead of the other way round!
Keep well, see you soon.
Cliff & Lea

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

Our second visit to Beachwalk was even better than the first. The newly refurbished rooms are lovely, with sparkling bathrooms and very comfy beds. Most importantly of all, the welcome and willingness to go the extra mile had not changed one bit (nor had the the wonderful omelettes...)

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlanBIP31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CliffordH, Owner at Beachwalk Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2013

Hello Allan
Thank you so much for coming back to stay with us a second time round, we enjoyed having you here just as much as the first time.
Loved your review, pleased that you liked the new rooms and promise to keep the omelletes on the menu ..... guess you'll just have to visit for a third time .... but, next time, don't keep Bill Clinton to yourselves, introduce him to us as well!!!
Keep well and look after yourselves.
Best wishes
Cliff & Lea

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Myself, wife and 9 year old grandson stayed for 2 nights at this superbly located guest-house in Port Elizabeth. The room, newly re-decorated, was fabulous with loads of space and excellent en-suite facilities. The breakfast was probably the best I have had at any b+b anywhere in the world, try one of the amazing omelettes!! We stayed here mainly to enable us to take in a safari at Addo and Schotia, this was organised by the hosts Leah and Geoff who could not have been more helpful, Wendy must also be thanked for her very happy/friendly attitude. The only downside here was that we didn't stay longer! If you are planning a visit to PE, you could not do any better than staying at Beachwalk, the accommodation, food and hosts can not be beaten. This is how b+b's should be run!!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Our room was fantastic and after speaking to other guests, it appears that all the rooms are of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jimbob186380
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CliffordH, Owner at Beachwalk Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2013

Hello Jim
Thanks for your magic review on both Tripadvsior and Booking.Com, we really appreciate it and we're extra glad that there weren't any glitches in your room as you were the Guinea Pigs in the newly refurbished room.
We agree totally .... you should have stayed longer - we certainly enjoyed having you here, particularly your nutty grandson .... who the hell swims in the unheated pool in the middle of winter .... but then again, the saying goes "mad dogs and Englishmen....", so I guess we shouldn't be too surprised.
Keep well, look after yourselves and please visit us again soon.
Best wishes
Cliff & Lea

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Very friendly and homely. Cliff and Lea and Alida let me feel at home immediately. The breakfast was the best ever: cereals, muesli, yogurt, coffee, tea, fruit juices, fruit salad, toast and the best omelet or bacon, sausages, eggs as you like them and mushrooms. Rooms are roomy and bathrooms modern. A brisk walk from the Pick 'n Pay. And thanks Lea for taking me to the doctor when I had the flu. I definitely recommend this one.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Riaan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CliffordH, Owner at Beachwalk Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2013

Hello Riaan
Great to hear from you and thanks a million for the great review.
We're really pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and particularly our breakfasts - they have kinda become a speciality of ours!
We had great fun listening to you chess players strategising over breakfast and I certainly learnt a lot by taking the occasional glance over your shoulders.
We'd love you to come back again soon, so please pencil us in your diary.
Best wishes
Cliff, Lea & Alida

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Summerstrand hotels
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Port Elizabeth
0.2 mi away
The Boardwalk Hotel
The Boardwalk Hotel
#2 of 13 in Summerstrand
509 reviews
0.3 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Port Elizabeth Marine
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
City Lodge Hotel Port Elizabeth
City Lodge Hotel Port Elizabeth
#12 of 13 in Summerstrand
126 reviews
0.4 mi away
Courtyard Hotel Port Elizabeth
Courtyard Hotel Port Elizabeth
#11 of 13 in Summerstrand
156 reviews
1 mi away
Admiralty Beach House
Admiralty Beach House
#1 of 43 in Summerstrand
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beachwalk Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beachwalk Bed and Breakfast

Address: 1 Second Avenue, Summerstrand, Port Elizabeth 6019, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Port Elizabeth > Summerstrand
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Summerstrand
Price Range: $93 - $104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Beachwalk Bed and Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beachwalk Bed and Breakfast in Port Elizabeth, offers 4-star accommodation in Port Elizabeth, only 60metres from popular beaches and close to the Boardwalk Casino, Entertainment and Restaurant complex. A selection of fine restaurants and shopping centre are in walking distance with a championship golf course nearby and close to the airport, only 10 minutes away. This heritage building, one of the original guesthouses in Port Elizabeth, has been stylishly renovated providing beautifully appointed rooms with en-suite bathrooms, private entrances & covered patios in a peaceful secluded garden with pool. All rooms with microwave, fridge, tea/coffee facilities, complimentary Wi-Fi, DSTV and the finest percale linen. A delicious full English and Continental breakfast is served in our dining room. Our personal welcome awaits you, ensuring a most pleasant and comfortable stay at Beachwalk! *Airport transfers *Secure on-site parking *Laundry service *Credit card facility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Beachwalk Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beachwalk Bed And Breakfast Port Elizabeth/Summerstrand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing