We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, Wonderful Staff, with Facilities that are a bit tired”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Beachwalk Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 42 Summerstrand B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bonn, Germany
Level Contributor
282 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Great location, Wonderful Staff, with Facilities that are a bit tired”
Reviewed May 24, 2013

My wife and I had the pleasure of enjoying Beachwalk B&B, recently, and found the staff to be very friendly and helpful during our stay. Alida is a wealth of knowledge not just of the area around the B&B, but with the stores in Port Elizabeth. The inclusive breakfast was great and plentiful, with a kitchen staff who puts their own special "love" into each omelette. One doesn't leave hungry from the morning fare unless one chooses not to participate in the feast.

The only downside of the accommodation is that the room in which we stayed needed some of the love and attention given to their breakfast fare. Changing a small washer in the wash basin would prevent it from draining slowly during one's use. Calling in Dstv to check either their convertor boxes and/or the installation of the service would allow reliable satellite reception. We were told to be "patient" with the TV reception as it took "some time" for the television to begin functioning after it was turned on. After 15 minutes of watching the same still image, we turned it off because we knew that there was to be no transmission that evening. And, lastly, the mattress on which we slept had seen better days, with a bit of a sag in the middle of the double bedding. Not all rooms may suffer the same, but a few Rand placed in the right places would elevate the B&B in our rating.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LopingianTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CliffordH, Owner at Beachwalk Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Thank you for your review, we're pleased you enjoyed our hospitality and breakfast although we're obviously dissapointed that you had a problem with your DSTV and the basin plug, but just a pity that you didn't bring either to our attention at the time because, as you say, it would have only taken a few minutes to change the washer and press the reset button on the decoder.
As regards your feeling that the room was a bit tired, we revamp rooms every three years (three per year) and the room you were in is due for revamp next month at which time all furniture, bedding etc will be replaced, so just a pity that you were in the room during the last month of it's current life span as it is indeed a bit tired after a long and very busy summer season.
Nevertheless, thank you for your valuable input and please be assured that we have taken note and the issues have been addressed.
Best wsihes
Cliff, Lea & Alida
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    255
    62
    6
    1
    2
See reviews for
49
167
15
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Weybridge
1 review
Reviewed May 10, 2013

My husband an I have recently spent a month at the BeachWalk B and B in Port Elizabeth, SA. A more delightful and welcoming guesthouse we have yet to find! We have travelled all over the world, including Canada, Australia, UK, etc and are extremely selective. The bedrooms are very cosy, with quilts on the beds, and absolutely immaculate, including toiletries, hair dryer, mini fridge with wine and cool drinks, plus coffee, etc. Plus a microwave with cutlery and china. Breakfast is out of this world, with a wide selection ranging from Continental to full English ; lunch is definitely NOT necessary! The hosts, Lea, Clifford and Alida, are extremely friendly and helpful. They go out of their way to make one's stay memorable, and will also sit down with a visitor unfamiliar with SA and all it has to offer and work out a route encompassing everything to see on the way to Cape Town, Durban, or wherever the visitor wishes to go whilst in Port Elizabeth and SA. It is situated a few meters from the beachfront and many restaurants, and about ten mins from the airport. We cannot recommend this lovely guesthouse too highly. Vivienne and Sid Guichard

Room Tip: All the rooms are delightful, but we chose No.6 as it has a bath, which we prefer to a shower. Plus...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vivienne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CliffordH, Owner at Beachwalk Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Hello Sid & Vivienne
Thank you for your great review, we're really pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. Having you here was an absolute pleasure and we thoroughly enjoyed the fun and banter at breakfast time as well as your great sense of humour - even though I seemed to be on the receiving end most times!
We know you're coming back to SA next year and we look forward to you staying with us again, so until next time..... bye for now, take care and look after yourselves.
Lotsaluv, Cliff, Lea & Alida
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linkoping, Sweden
1 review
Reviewed May 8, 2013

For us Beachwalk hotel is the best place ever! This is a place where you feel like home! Alida and Cliff doing everything for that. Best price, best location, big clean room, delicious breakfast, huge comfortable bed, WiFi... I can write a lot about this hotel and only good things. I would like to come back again and again to this hotel. We would certainly recommend staying at the Beachwalk if you want have a nice time in the lovely place. Thank you so much Cliff, Alida and Frankie the dog for your hospitality! You made our staying awesome!
Alla and Vladimir.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sunnya_twelve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CliffordH, Owner at Beachwalk Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Hello Alla & Vladimir
Thank you for your great review, it's nice to know that you enjoyed your stay with us as much as we enjoyed having you here with us. The memory of some of our guests stay with us long after they have left which certainly is the case with the two of you and we hope that you get the opportunity to stay with us again.
Unfortunately, Frankie was quite sick and had to be admitted to hospital but he is all well now and up to his normal tricks.
Keep well and look after yourselves.
Kind regards
Cliff, Lea, Alida & Frankie.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linköping, Sweden
1 review
Reviewed May 8, 2013

I stayed here for a long weekend and really enjoyed it! Very nice rooms with both a heater and a fan. Access to WiFi was also very much appreciated. The location is really good! Very close to the beach (about 100 m) and a very nice garden between the rooms, including a small pool. The breakfast and service is really good, and the staff is more than friendly and very helpful. I can really recommend this B&B!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ma05er
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CliffordH, Owner at Beachwalk Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Thank you so much for your great review, we're really pleased that you enjoyed your weekend stay with us and we look forward to your next visit.
Keep well and enjoy the summer on its way to you in Sweden.
Cliff, Lea & Alida
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
263 reviews
130 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 209 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for one night and found it to be an ok experience. Our room was clean, if a bit dated, with good wifi and DSTV. A lot of noise carries from the adjoining room however, especially plumbing and we were woken up at 5am by our neighbours having a shower. Breakfast was a good selection and the hosts were friendly. The location is fine but the area is pretty dull. We've stayed in a lot better for the price in SA.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Travel_Lion_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CliffordH, Owner at Beachwalk Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Hello "Travel Lion 10", unfortunately, I don't know who you are, but we're dissapointed that you didn't totally enjoy your stay with us and apologise for the noisy guests in the adjoining room that woke you early. It's a pity that you only stayed with us overnight and that you didn't ask us what's to do in PE as if you had, you would certainly have found that it isn't dull at all as you will note from the other Beachwalk reviews.
Please come back to visit us again as we will ensure that you leave us totally satisfied.
Best wishes
Cliff, Lea & Alida
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013

We stayed here for one night and really enjoyed our stay. The rooms were comfortable, spacious and arranged around a sheltered garden. The beachwalk is secure property and in a great location close to the beach, casino and shops. The breakfast was very good and is served in the main house.
All in all it was great value for money and we would certainly recommend staying as you will receive 5 star service from Cliff & Lea.
Dave & Sue

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank meehanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CliffordH, Owner at Beachwalk Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Hello Dave & Sue
Thank you for your wonderful revue - we're pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us as much as we enjoyed having you here. Pity it was only for one night, but never mind, there's always next time.
Best wishes
Cliff & Lea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wurzburg, Germany
1 review
Reviewed April 25, 2013

During my recent trip to SA, this was my third B&B experience, by far the best one. Very stylish inner quadrangle courtyard, sufficiently large room (TV, WiFi, minbar, personal terrace in front of it), friendly served breakfast in a separate very nice dining room. Less than 100 m to the ocean promenade in Summerstand, an excellent restaurant nearby (ask staff the name :-)) and many other arguments in favor to come again. Perfectly located also for NMMU guests (5min). Sorry, I forgot to mention the most important thing: all is due to fantastic team Cliff, Lea and Alida. Thank you!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spinonehalf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CliffordH, Owner at Beachwalk Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Hello Vladimir
Thank you for your great review, we're really happy that you enjoyed your stay with us - It was fantastic having you and your Swiss colleagues with us. We particularly like the comment "many arguments in favour to come again" as we'd love to see you again!
Keep well and look after yourself.
Cliff, Lea & Alida
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Summerstrand hotels
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Port Elizabeth
0.2 mi away
The Boardwalk Hotel
The Boardwalk Hotel
#2 of 13 in Summerstrand
4.5 of 5 bubbles 465 reviews
0.3 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Port Elizabeth Marine
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Isango Gate Boutique Hotel and Spa
0.1 mi away
The Beach Hotel
The Beach Hotel
#9 of 13 in Summerstrand
3.5 of 5 bubbles 418 reviews
1.0 mi away
Admiralty Beach House
Admiralty Beach House
#1 of 42 in Summerstrand
5.0 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beachwalk Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beachwalk Bed and Breakfast

Property: Beachwalk Bed and Breakfast
Address: 1 Second Avenue, Summerstrand, Port Elizabeth 6019, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Port Elizabeth > Summerstrand
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 42 B&Bs / Inns in Summerstrand
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Beachwalk Bed and Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beachwalk Bed and Breakfast in Port Elizabeth, offers 4-star accommodation in Port Elizabeth, only 60metres from popular beaches and close to the Boardwalk Casino, Entertainment and Restaurant complex. A selection of fine restaurants and shopping centre are in walking distance with a championship golf course nearby and close to the airport, only 10 minutes away. This heritage building, one of the original guesthouses in Port Elizabeth, has been stylishly renovated providing beautifully appointed rooms with en-suite bathrooms, private entrances & covered patios in a peaceful secluded garden with pool. All rooms with microwave, fridge, tea/coffee facilities, complimentary Wi-Fi, DSTV and the finest percale linen. A delicious full English and Continental breakfast is served in our dining room. Our personal welcome awaits you, ensuring a most pleasant and comfortable stay at Beachwalk! *Airport transfers *Secure on-site parking *Laundry service *Credit card facility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotel.de, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Beachwalk Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beachwalk Bed And Breakfast Port Elizabeth/Summerstrand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing