We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent rooms. Food was good but not brilliant.”
Review of The Foley

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Foley
Ranked #1 of 1 Claygate B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 13, 2014

Booked the Foley for a night either side of our recent day out at RHS Hampton Court.

The hotel is in an excellent location, fairly quiet leafy suburb but with easy access to a range of attractions. We found our twin room extremely comfortable, clean and well presented.

All of the staff we encountered were pleasant and helpful.

We enjoyed breakfasts, standard fare but a reasonable range to chose from. We had an evening meal in the restaurant on our second night which was OK but nothing special.

There were a couple of issues we encountered which relate to staff management. At breakfast on our first morning a cleaner came through the dining area with a mop and bucket. There didn't seem to be an apparent reason for her doing this, she was just 'passing through' - not very pleasant when you're eating.

Room Tip: Pot luck. We asked for a room away from the public areas (bar, etc) but there was noise at night fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FOODIE51_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (257)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

170 - 176 of 257 reviews

Reviewed July 1, 2014

I took some friends for dinner about 10 days ago food was very good the service excelent.
Could add some more idea's for the main menue.the restaurant is a nice place to enjoy friends and family.Drinks were resonably priced.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank herbiefrogg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2014 via mobile

This is the 5th time we have stayed at The Foley for work. We have a twin room and they are amazing! Each room is unique in decor with fresh milk in the fridge.
The beds are comfy and the bathroom is luxurious.
We eat in the restaurant which is modern and homely with a great changing menu.
The service is great too.
I had pork medallions with dauphinois potatoes, green beans and mushroom sauce, it was delicious. I would highly recommend this for work or pleasure.
The room was £120 for 2 people and includes freshly cooked breakfast.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
Thank NCCB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2014

We stayed at The Foley to attend an nearby engagement party and really couldn't have been more impressed. We received a very warm welcome from the gentleman on reception and were shown to a beautifully decorated, large, clean room. The bathroom was a real treat and it was particularly nice to have hot chocolate as an option on the tea and coffee making facilities. When returned to reception to ask to book a taxi to the nearby party venue, the receptionist volunteered to take us himself on his way home. This truly was fantastic service.

We therefore had high expectations of breakfast the following morning and were not disappointed. The restaurant is equally tasteful in design and spotlessly clean. The breakfast was extremely tasty and the coffee plentiful.

Drinks are at London pub prices, but we felt that to be a very fair reflection of the quality of the venue. The dinner menu looked excellent. At £110 for our bed and breakfast, we were delighted. It was a wonderful experience, enhanced by the very helpful staff and we shall return to eat at some point in the future.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Corinne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2014

Only used the restaurant and ate here for Father's Day and we all enjoyed our food. Had potted crab and pate and haloumi for starters and roast beef, belly pork (wonderful yorkshires with both), lovely steak and ale pie and swordfish. All very nice apart from the carrots which were a bit al dente and actually had to leave them! 2 glasses of prosecco, and lagers each so no wine but the bill for 4 was £121 so not cheap. However lovely ambience, surroundings and service so a very nice meal and the kids paid which was great and very much appreciated!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pauline C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2014

Stayed here for the first time and it definitely won't be the last. The hotel is beautiful, lovely big rooms, tastefully decorated and clean. The breakfast is one of the best I've had, freshly cooked and a huge choice. Dinner was delicious and very reasonably priced, only sad I could not stay for lunch as that looked delicious also. The staff were helpful, polite and nothing was too much of a problem. Will definitely be returning next year.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nikki T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2014

We often call in for lunch here. Fabulous food, great staff, delightful atmosphere. Inside in the winter is cosy and welcoming. Outside in the summer in the garden is charming. We have never been disappointed with the food or the service.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank naomilyons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Claygate
1.6 mi away
Premier Inn Chessington Hotel
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn London-Kingston South
1.4 mi away
Chessington Safari Hotel
Chessington Safari Hotel
#2 of 3 in Chessington
1,912 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
The White Hart Hotel
The White Hart Hotel
#1 of 12 in Kingston upon Thames
1,248 reviews
12.8 mi away
Guildford Harbour Hotel
Guildford Harbour Hotel
#5 of 11 in Guildford
1,990 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Bear Hotel
The Bear Hotel
#2 of 5 in Esher
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Foley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Foley

Address: 106 Hare Lane, Claygate, Esher KT10 0LZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Esher > Claygate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Claygate
Price Range: $124 - $171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Foley 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are the newest hotel in the area situated in a peaceful rural setting whilst being only 35 minutes from central London. There's so much to see and do in surrey making The Foley is a perfect base explore the area with Hampton Court Palace, Chessington world of adventures, RHS Gardens Wisley, Surrey Hill's Countryside walks, Sandown Park and Epsom Downs racecourses right on our door step. So after a hard day at work or play you can be absolutely sure that your room will be an oasis of calm to help you enjoy a good night's sleep. We have 17 en suite rooms that have all the comforts of home in a fantastic boutique design. All our rooms offer the following items to make your stay as restful as possible. We have room types to suit everyone, double rooms, twin rooms, rooms with sofa bed suitable for children, interconnecting rooms allowing families up to 5 to stay together and several travel cots for our younger guests. Please let reception know when booking if you require any of the above. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Foley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing