We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My new hangout”
Review of The Foley

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Foley
Ranked #1 of 1 Claygate B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“My new hangout”
Reviewed June 15, 2013

I live not far from claygate and the area does not lack in pub choices. I decided to try the Foley as i hadnt yet been and I had heard about there recent renevation. I was amazed by the size of the bar area which meant that grabbing a seat on a busy Friday night was not a problem. A great selection of wine to choose from and one of the barmen recommended a lovely rose. I originally went just for drinks, however saw some of the food and couldnt resist. The burgers in particular looked amazing and my wife had the fish and chips which also was one of the best she had in awhile. Although prices may seem a little steep the large portions and quality of food more than made up for this. We did have to wait a little while for the bill, but as we were in no rush this was not a problem. All together the place had a great vibe and with a lovely additional outdoor decking area I cant wait to check it out when the sunshine comes! Definitly would recommend and would say to those who have had bad experiences to give it another go. I will be back.

Room Tip: I did not stay in hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    82
    9
    9
    6
See reviews for
45
95
4
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Knutsford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
177 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013

My partner and i stayed at the Foley to attend a pre-wedding drinks night at nearby Esher.
We were both very impressed. They emailed us on the day to say they were looking forward to meeting us later that day.
Check in very quick.
Our bedroom was absolutely lovely.. Huge bed, very clean, bright and spacious , with a sofa.
The bathroom was huge and very well stocked.
What made it a cut above the rest, was the detail in little things. The room had the usual tea and coffee but with a cafetiere ,scoop for the coffee and fresh milk in the fridge.
Breakfast was lovely, really enjoyable experience.
Usual help yourself from a huge wooden station.
I had eggs benedict which was cooked to perfection.
Would not hesitate to stay again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna-Marie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura05_12, General Manager at The Foley, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your kind comments, I will insure I pass these on to the whole team and we look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Regards
Laura Bugbee
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morden, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 10, 2013

After reading some reviews I was a little apprehensive about coming to The Foley, but we had been invited for a birthday meal by a friend who had been before and assured me that she had
had a lovely time and great food, so off we went. We were in a large group of 14 so had expected food and service to be a little slow but we were pleasantly surprised. The staff that served us were lovely, our drinks and food arrived very promptly. The waitress had recommended the Turbot Supreme which was on the specials board, which I had. It was delicious and I thoroughly enjoyed it. I then has a Pavlova which had also been a special, it had been a very warm day and it was very refreshing with the berries and the meringue was lovely and soft. I would definitely recommend The Foley to anyone and I am also thinking of having my own birthday dinner there next month.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris_B2520134
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2013

Our room was lovely, good shower, nice and helpful staff, but I was disappointed by the breakfast that included over salty scrambled eggs and cheap bacon. We were also unimpressed by the bar which closed at 11:00 and left us with nowhere to sit and chat to our friends, forcing us back to our rooms.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Noreen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura05_12, General Manager at The Foley, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry that we did not meet your expectations on this occasion. I will give your feedback regarding breakfast to our Head Chef. As you are aware we are in a residential area and this is why the bar closes at 11pm. I have taken on the fact that you just wanted somewhere to sit and chat with your friends and am looking into what can be done to resolve this.

We do have have a few rooms with sofas and would recommend that you request one of these rooms on future stays.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed May 28, 2013

It's people that make a place, in my view ... This hotel has had a top-class and tasteful brewery refurbishment which appears to have created a very "real" and vibrant local pub atmosphere. This is expertly coupled with the feel of a comfortable and classy hotel. However, none of this would work as well as it does, if it weren't for the staff. Everyone was friendly, welcoming and personal. Arriving tired and hungry at 10.30pm, after a long day in the office, I didn't dare to expect any food. The chap running the bar not only served up top class ale but, with a magician's flourish, managed to rustle up "proper" sausage rolls and pizza, saying “we can’t let you go to bed hungry”. It felt like a genuine, smiling welcome and priceless service. I can't remember his name but he had worked on the refurbishment and then stayed on and joined the staff. I was struggling to find a hotel for the next night. Kirsten on reception remembered this and managed to sort it out, once a cancelled room became available. In fact every member of staff was very friendly and helpful ... so to repeat, it's the people that really make a place. I look forward to returning. Thank you.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David_W186337
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura05_12, General Manager at The Foley, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Hi David

Thank you for your kind words. I have passed on your compliments to the team.
We look forward to welcoming you again soon at the Foley

Regards
Laura Bugbee
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
223 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2013

My husband and I have just spent a couple of nights at this hotel while I was working on an exhibition at Sandown Park, and we enjoyed it very much. A spacious, quiet, stylish room, huge very comfortable bed, large fully equipped bathroom with great shower, thick towels and quality products, the best tea/coffee station in a hotel room we've ever seen, with cookies, tea, hot chocolate, ground coffee plus cafetière, and FRESH milk in the fridge, superb and beautifully-cooked breakfast menu (no porridge though, sadly), and friendly attentive staff.

The only thing we would have appreciated was more space to put our clothes away. There was an L-shaped entrance corridor between the door and the room itself, where it would have been quite possible to add a small wardrobe and chest of drawers. The wardrobe, with a safe at the bottom, didn't give enough longer hanging space for two of us staying more than a night, and the various drawers were scattered around the room and not very big. Just a line of hooks on the wall for coats and jackets would have helped.

And in a 'boutique' hotel it would really be nice for once for a room for two to have TWO armchairs to relax in. It's such a pity always to have to sit on the bed to read.

We didn't eat evening meals at the hotel: the dinner menu looks lovely but is quite expensive, and there is a great choice of restaurants in Esher.

Room Tip: There are stairs and no lift, so ask for a ground floor room if you need one. We asked for a quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MelFinch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura05_12, General Manager at The Foley, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Thank you for your comments on your stay and we are glad you enjoyed it so much. We have taken on board your comments regarding hanging space and are looking at getting some stylish hooks in place for coats etc.
We look forward to seeing you again soon at the Foley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2013

We delayed our visit to the Foley because we heard of teething problems following its refurbishment. We were pleasantly surprised by the decor and the garden. The waitress was very friendly and gave her recommendation when asked. I chose the savoury pancakes on her recommendation and they were delicious. Others had, burger, chicken pie and salmon. Dessert again went on recommendation so we all had the pavlova with red beries. All of us enjoyed the meal and will definitely be back again.

Room Tip: Not applicable
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JandP_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Claygate
4.4 mi away
Oatlands Park Hotel
Oatlands Park Hotel
#2 of 4 in Weybridge
942 reviews
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn London-Kingston South
1.4 mi away
Chessington Safari Hotel
Chessington Safari Hotel
#2 of 3 in Chessington
1,801 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
The Warren Lodge Hotel
The Warren Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Shepperton
595 reviews
4.4 mi away
Hilton Cobham
Hilton Cobham
#3 of 4 in Cobham
1,615 reviews
1.6 mi away
Premier Inn Chessington Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Foley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Foley

Property: The Foley
Address: 106 Hare Lane, Claygate, Esher KT10 0LZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Esher > Claygate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Claygate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Foley 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are the newest hotel in the area situated in a peaceful rural setting whilst being only 35 minutes from central London. There's so much to see and do in surrey making The Foley is a perfect base explore the area with Hampton Court Palace, Chessington world of adventures, RHS Gardens Wisley, Surrey Hill's Countryside walks, Sandown Park and Epsom Downs racecourses right on our door step. So after a hard day at work or play you can be absolutely sure that your room will be an oasis of calm to help you enjoy a good night's sleep. We have 17 en suite rooms that have all the comforts of home in a fantastic boutique design. All our rooms offer the following items to make your stay as restful as possible. We have room types to suit everyone, double rooms, twin rooms, rooms with sofa bed suitable for children, interconnecting rooms allowing families up to 5 to stay together and several travel cots for our younger guests. Please let reception know when booking if you require any of the above. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, LateRooms and HRS so you can book your The Foley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing