We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Authentic Chinese”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Ume Restaurant

Ume Restaurant
Ranked #8 of 12 Restaurants in Claygate
Price range: $6 - $19
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Esher, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
246 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
“Authentic Chinese”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013

Very small restaurant in Claygate's Station Parade which is worth the trip. No over dressed food with sweet sticky sauces just truly delicious Chinese food prepared and served by charming hosts.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank DerrickJS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    8
    6
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kingston upon Thames
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A perfectly pleasant meal but nothing exceptional”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

Ordered my first takeaway from here as a result of the good reviews on TA as well as the interesting menu (on the website, which is well constructed) that contained some lesser seen dishes. Inside the restaurant was a smallish one room affair with no private space (booths, out of the way tables etc), but seemed nice, although as a takeaway I was only there awaiting the order.

I like some heat to dishes, not stupidly spicy but when noted on a menu as hot I expect to notice it - from a Chinese restaurant some sichuan pepper and/or chillies would be expected. Therefore I ordered some things that were either noted as hot on the menu, or that my past experiences indicated should be. Although there was certainly a few slices of chillies, it was overall a tame experience and nothing that left me feeling this was out of the ordinary. It was enjoyable, but really quite standard UK Chinese fare I had experienced many times before. If I lived in Claygate, I would be satisfied with this as a reasonable, reliable local, but as I live a little farther away, I wouldn't make a special trip as I would to some more interesting Chinese restaurants elsewhere.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KingstonPhil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Best restaurant for miles around”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2012

My personal favourite at Ume has to be the lobster with ginger and spring onion, again and again I find myself drawn to this family run restaurant that provides great service. The owner and chef Charlie on many an occasion comes to great diners while eating and nothing is too much trouble for him to accommodate. The salt and pepper soft shell crab and honey lamb are also outstanding.
The very reasonably priced and high standard of wine list always goes down well.
Many thanks again for the amazing food and impeccable service as always, looking forward to my next visit already.
Ume what a gem.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Armour P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Another lovely time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2012

I recently went to Ume restaurant with my girlfriend to eat in after a brilliant time at my 18th.
Again the staff were attentive and humourus. We had a lovely time, and it is perfect for couples aswell becuase the music was so romanntic.

I still recomend Ume to anyone who wants a decent meal at reasonable prices. We had such a perfect evening and i cant thank Ume enough

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Samuel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Authentic food, friendly service, cosy and welcoming”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

I have going to Ume in Claygate for the last few years and it never fails to impress. The restaurant is warm, unpretentious and cosy but also smart enough for an occasion such as a birthday or a new year's eve meal. The staff are universally welcoming and friendly.

Ume's main asset, however, is its chef and owner, Charlie, who creates authentic, well-seasoned dishes with fresh, locally sourced produce. Nothing is too much effort. Standouts are the crispy seaweed starter and the almond chicken in orange sauce - delicious!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank KDaud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ume Restaurant also viewed

 
Claygate, Esher
 

Been to Ume Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing