We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed feelings”
Review of Manor House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Manor House Inn
Ranked #3 of 4 Norfolk B&B and Inns
carlisle
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Mixed feelings”
Reviewed October 19, 2013

The hospitality and welcome from the innkeeper cannot be faulted. The breakfasts were very good and the house was clean.However, the property does require some updating. Some of the furniture is incredibly shabby and whilst I know the property was a period property you can get decent quality period furniture. I almost needed step ladders to get into the bed, the bathroom was large with a huge bath, but to use the over shower bath you had to straddle the side of the bath, it was bout nine inches wide. Some of the electrics were a little bit erratic, the lights in the bathroom kept going off. The area itself is very nice and the house is very convenient for The Infinity Theatre.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarlisleIrvings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    22
    9
    2
    4
See reviews for
6
68
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Middletown, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2013

We chose this inn as we often follow the recommendations of "1,000 Place to See Before You Die" whenever possible. We stayed two nights in Le Chambre...the only room available for the weekend.
In reserving this room I was aware that it would be on the small side, but I was disappointed by the set up of the bath room. The mirror was on the opposite side of the sink and electrical outlets making it impossible for my husband to shave and awkward for me to dry my hair with a blow dryer. The main radiator in the bedroom did not work, only the small one in the bathroom. Luckily the weather was warm for this time of year.
Breakfast was a mixed review: the pancakes were outstanding yet the omelets were spongy (egg substitute??) . The toast was soggy as it came pre buttered and without jam.
I felt the price was high for this room. All things considered I would recommend this inn for it's charm and location in this charming town in Litchfield Hills. But do not stay in this room.....for a few dollars more the other rooms are by far superior.

Room Tip: Do not reserve Le Chambre.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa Ann D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

I took my partner here for a birthday present over the weekend to catch a show at the Infinity Music Hall. The place was absolutely stunning and very well maintained! We stayed in the Morgan room which was nice with a balcony and huge whirlpool tub. The only reason I didn't give it 5 stars is because the bed was not very good. It was very soft (too soft) and when the two of us slept in it the middle sank in causing us to both slide into the middle of the bed making it difficult to sleep (because we were practically on top of each other, not a way we sleep well). It was also on the pricey side for 1 night but we definitely got a very nice stay for the price. Holly was super accommodating and very friendly. I would absolutely recommend staying here!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nicoleb610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rhode island
Level 6 Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

We recently stayed at this Bed and Breakfast while seeing a show at the nearby Infinity Hall. The Innkeepers, Holly and Michael, were so informative and friendly. The architecture in the home was beautiful, with stained glass windows and exquisitely carved woodwork. The room was nicely decorated and clean, with the bed one of the most comfortable we've slept on. The breakfast in the morning was delicious. Thank you again, Michael and Holly, and we wish you continued success!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mauimama0110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleton, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
349 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We read about the Manor House in "1,000 Places to See Before You Die" in planning our vacation thru Connecticut and the Hudson River Valley. It is remarkable, a true GEM. The house has 20 stained-glass by owner/builder's friend Louis Tiffany. Our room has antiques and the common rooms of library, parlor, sunroom, and dining area were breathtaking. The breakfast was homemade to order. A perfect place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Don M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga Springs, New York
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Manor House for a brief overnight stay, while exploring this area of CT and found the Inn and the area simply charming and beautiful. The new innkeepers, Michael and Holly, welcomed us as soon as we arrived and gave us a full tour of the inn before we settled in our room. After touring all day, we found that the sun porch was a perfect place to sit the night away and sip wine. We were so relaxed and enjoying ourselves that we never went out to dinner! The rooms are beautifully decorated but not so stuffy that you couldn't enjoy. There was complimentary wine and beverages all the time, the full breakfast was terrific with a choice of an egg dish or wonderful French toast. The Infinity Theatre nearby has a very intriguing list of performers. We will definitely be back to Norfolk and the Manor House!

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank SaratogaLynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013

The house is magnificent, the welcome warm and the grounds are beautiful. Breakfast is homemade, substantial, and leisurely. If you can't unwind and need a little help accomplishing that, this is the place. Infinity Hall concerts are around the corner and Yale makes beautiful summer music nearby - but the area generally is very, verylow-key. I find it perfect for a book, a walk, a serious slow down. Just a beautiful home in a beautiful quiet place. You'll like this one if you're looking for a true get away!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GTibs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Norfolk
11.7 mi away
White Hart Inn
White Hart Inn
#1 of 1 in Salisbury
82 reviews
17.7 mi away
BW Premier Collection The Litchfield Inn
2.5 mi away
Blackberry River Inn
Blackberry River Inn
#2 of 4 in Norfolk
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Locust Tree Bed and Breakfast
12.4 mi away
Inn at Iron Masters
Inn at Iron Masters
#2 of 4 in Lakeville
14 reviews
14.3 mi away
Chapin Park Bed and Breakfast
Chapin Park Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 1 in New Hartford
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manor House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manor House Inn

Property: Manor House Inn
Address: 69 Maple Ave, Norfolk, CT 06058-1104
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Norfolk
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Norfolk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Manor House Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Manor house is an ideal accommodation in Norfolk, CT, offering one of the most romantic getaways in New England. Full of charming ambiance and convenient amenities, The Manor House is complete with beautiful garden views in every room, a delicious hot breakfast served every morning and nine unique rooms to choose from - all with their own baths. Enjoy your next New England vacation as the guests of this wonderful Connecticut bed and breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Manor House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manor House Hotel Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing