We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great old house with wonderful inn keepers”
Review of Manor House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Manor House Inn
Ranked #2 of 3 Norfolk B&B and Inns
Reviewed March 14, 2013

The house is old but very nice. The room was nice with a very large whirlpool bath. The bed was incredibly comfortable. Breakfast was quite good. The inn keepers were really nice and I would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jeanne1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (101)
There are newer reviews for Manor House Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

66 - 72 of 101 reviews

Reviewed February 12, 2013

My husband and I stayed at this unusual intricately designed and built Victorian Tudor home for 2 days after the huge nor'easter, and it was the perfect relaxing getaway. The common rooms are outstanding, with charming comfortable couches, a vast working fireplace, amazing library, and snacks room where various drink components are available at all times. Light streamed into every room, glancing off the polished wood beams and paneling. Soft lighting compliments the decor, as you curl up under a throw reading a book or playing a board game. The dining area is beautifully appointed with individual couples tables. The breakfast was sublime! Amazing granola concoction just as a starter, with a french toast out of this world. Our room on the third floor was incredibly spacious, immaculate, with a fantastic jacuzzi tub. Views from our window were lovely. The entire historical building is almost like being in a fairy tale house, with window seats on one floor, hidden stairs behind a door, and a hilarious spooky touch, when upon opening the door to the old elevator, Halloween figures almost pop out!
Our innkeepers were perfect! Friendly, accommodating, and fun. I am so happy we chose to stay here, it was a much needed stress reliever and we thank our hosts for allowing us to become Lord and Lady of the Manor for a couple of days!

Room Tip: The Victorian room is large with a huge bed and fantastic jacuzzi. Highly recommended.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Diane P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2013

We stayed here a couple of years back but it was wonderful! The home is gorgeous and in wonderful condition and we got breakfast in bed which was a real treat one morning! The food was outstanding and the inn keepers awesome! Would highly recommend this inn for some quiet, relaxing time away from the hustle and bustle of everyday life!!

Room Tip: The Victorian room has both the fireplace and jacuzzi!!
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lisanap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Great hidden treasure in Northwest Connecticut! Our experience is one we will remember for a long time...the Inn is spectacular with so many lovely rooms. We stayed in the Victorian room..very comfortable and clean. The fireplace and whirlpool tub were great additions to this room. The Innkeepers, Kathy and Kurt were very friendly and informative on the history of this beautiful Inn preserved through time. They made us feel very welcome and served us with grace and class and Kurt prepared us a delicious and elegant breakfast. Yummy! We enjoyed meeting Kathy and Kurt which added to our wonderful experience. We will definately be back!

Sharon and Mark

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank s b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2013

My boyfriend and I recently stayed at the Manor House for 2 nights. The house is absolutely beautiful and very spacious. The innkeepers were very friendly and told us to make ourselves at home. We stayed in the English room and really liked the room (especially the hot tub). The breakfast was amazing both mornings that we were there. There were many books in the different sitting rooms on the first floor of the house along with a keurig that you could use to brew different teas, coffees, or hot chocolates. We really enjoyed our stay and hope to be back soon

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kristeep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2012

Hands down we feel this is the best Bed and Breakfast ever. Magnigicent rooms with gorgeous antique furnishings. But the Innkeepers, Kurt & Kathy, they are truly the draw here. They love their home and are so happy to share it with you. They are welcoming, thoughtful, responsive and knowledgeable to talk with. Mornings are delightful and the breakfasts are sumptuously grand and you can tell they are all homemade with love. Never has breakfast tasted so good. Loved the Blackberry Thick French Toast with the Berry Compote topping. The Yogurt is by far the best tasting we ever had and the sausages were perfect. There is a coffee bar room always available with fresh coffee, teas, cocoa with treats and snacks. Enjoyed watching the fire in the 6ft fireplace in the living room. Reflections on the beamed ceiling took me back to a much earlier time. Once you are there you don't want to leave. You feel so welcome and at home. Our bedroom was so spotlessly clean and luxurious; our bed so comfortable; it made for the latest I had slept in for years. Thank you! We found our home away from home. We didn't know places like this still existed.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank susudav332
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2012

What started out as a short anniversary getaway sandwiched in between commitments (thanks Kathy for allowing us to book just 1 night!) turned out to be the perfect oasis. Hurricane Sandy rendered our home without power for 5 days so The Manor House truly became our haven as well as our celebration. We wanted a historic inn with a fireplace in the bedroom and The Manor House definitely delivers and the in-room jacuzzi was the perfect compliment. Innkeeper Kurt welcomed us and gave a quick tour of the inn. He also thoughtfully asked about any dietary restrictions for breakfast. I loved we were encouraged to explore the inn - heaven for an old house lover such as myself. The architecture is simply exquisite! We chose the Victorian room, which was beautifully appointed, quiet, cozy and relaxing. It is an indescribable feeling to wrap yourself in a Manor House robe after a shower under a skylight, and sit by the fire and read - especially coming from a house with no hot water, heat or lights.

Kathy's restaurant recommendations were perfect. Our room's bed was even more comfortable than home - we did not want to leave. Breakfast was relaxing and delicious. We will definitely visit again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tdmact
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Norfolk
11.7 mi away
White Hart Inn
White Hart Inn
#1 of 1 in Salisbury
84 reviews
17.7 mi away
The Litchfield Inn, BW Premier Collection
16.8 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Lenox Great Barrington/Berkshires
Fairfield Inn & Suites Lenox Gre...
#2 of 10 in Great Barrington
301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Blackberry River Inn
Blackberry River Inn
#1 of 3 in Norfolk
142 reviews
5.9 mi away
Locust Tree Bed and Breakfast
12.4 mi away
Inn at Iron Masters
Inn at Iron Masters
#2 of 4 in Lakeville
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manor House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manor House Inn

Address: 69 Maple Ave, Norfolk, CT 06058-1104
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Norfolk
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Norfolk
Price Range: $179 - $272 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Manor House Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Treat yourself to an elegant retreat at an elegant Tudor mansion in charming Litchfield County, CT. Your journey to relaxation will begin from the time you enter the foyer with its grand cherry staircase. The lovely four season sun porch overlooks the gardens and beckons you to sit down with a glass of wine in the evening or a cup of coffee or tea before breakfast. Our luxurious inn features 9 premium rooms and suites, all with private baths. Each of our suites is unique and offers amenities including large sitting areas, fireplaces, whirlpool and soaking tubs, and private balconies. Situated on 5 acres on a quiet street, yet just a brief walk to town, with 2 full service restaurants and Infinity Hall, an award-winning intimate music venue. There's so much to explore, including miles and miles of wooded trails for hiking, biking and snowshoeing and lakes and rivers for kayaking, fishing and paddle boarding. Guests also enjoy nearby live music and theater performances. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Manor House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manor House Hotel Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing