We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“A Step Back in Time” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Manor House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Manor House
Ranked #3 of 4 Norfolk B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A Step Back in Time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

What a fabulous place - the Manor House is a completely renovated original grand home on a wonderful property of rolling grass and surrounded by woods. We were there towards the end of fall, and the colors in the trees were fabulous. The hosts (Kurt and Kathy) went way out of their way to be informative and attentive - they clearly love the Manor House. Breakfast in a room with bay windows overlooking the estate (both front and back) with original Tiffany Windows, afternoon Tea (with home made treats) in the living room, felt as though we were staying in a family home. Our rooms were at the very top of the house - and it felt as though we were on top of the world! Fabulous, and highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank peggy l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    20
    8
    2
    4
See reviews for
5
61
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Limerick, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Amazing place that i didnt think could be found in the US as it is something i'd expect to find in southern Germany, Austria or Switzerland. The hospitality was also first class and i was made to feel welcome from the moment i arrived with the hosts, Kathy and Curt being friendly, talkative and genuinely nice. Breakfast was also great and I will go out of my way to satay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Liam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holland, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
107 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012 via mobile

Walkable to Infinity Hall. Beautiful original stained glass and amazing wood details. Nice custom cooked breakfast with 2 choices. Lots of nice touches like cards, board games, magazines and books. Offered 24 hour access to coffee and tea as well as snacks. Lots of interesting nooks and crannies with nice decor touches.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank terryw678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

We had a room for our wedding night, which we also used for myself and my bridesmaid to get ready in earlier in the day. The innkeepers were extremely accommodating. We enjoyed our experience there so much, that we look forward to staying again for our anniversaries to come.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ShellsRocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire, CT
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

This is a superb B&B. From the outside the house is very impressive. It only gets better once you walk inside. The innkeeper, Karl , is very helpful and does a fine job running the Inn. The rooms are gorgeous, the grounds spacious, the breakfast excellent and the location ideal, particularly if you're going to a show at Infinity Hall. The Manor House website states their inn is one of the best Bed & Breakfasts in CT, we've stayed at many B&B's throughout the US and Europe and this is definitely one of the best!

Room Tip: 10% discount if you're seeing a show at Infinity Hall
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stevemay55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, Connecticut
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012 via mobile

This is the place to stay in the Northwest Corner of CT, especially if you like music. The rooms are comfortable, the house architecturally beautiful, and the location perfect to walk to Infinity Hall. Kyle takes good care of all the guests.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hummingrk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westchester County, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

The Manor House is from days past - but it is cozy, clean and the breakfast was fabulous!
The history says it all...and Karl and Nancy put every effort forward so that your stay is just like home.
We hope to plan a longer stay in the fall...a charming, quaint and cozy home...you feel like it's your own.
Thank you!
Liz & Dov

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LizCasey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Norfolk
11.7 mi away
White Hart Inn
White Hart Inn
#1 of 1 in Salisbury
4.5 of 5 stars 55 reviews
17.7 mi away
Litchfield Inn
Litchfield Inn
#1 of 1 in Litchfield
4.0 of 5 stars 195 reviews
16.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Lenox Great Barrington/Berkshires
Fairfield Inn & Suites Lenox Gre...
#2 of 8 in Great Barrington
4.5 of 5 stars 230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Blackberry River Inn
Blackberry River Inn
#2 of 4 in Norfolk
4.0 of 5 stars 101 reviews
13.4 mi away
Interlaken Inn
Interlaken Inn
#1 of 1 in Lakeville
4.0 of 5 stars 363 reviews
5.8 mi away
Locust Tree Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manor House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manor House

Property: Manor House
Address: 69 Maple Ave, Norfolk, CT 06058
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Norfolk
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Norfolk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Manor House 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Manor house is an ideal accommodation in Norfolk, CT, offering one of the most romantic getaways in New England. Full of charming ambiance and convenient amenities, The Manor House is complete with beautiful garden views in every room, a delicious hot breakfast served every morning and nine unique rooms to choose from - all with their own baths. Enjoy your next New England vacation as the guests of this wonderful Connecticut bed and breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your Manor House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manor House Hotel Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing