We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Elegant, spotless, romantic and delicious!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mountain View Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Norfolk
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mountain View Inn
Ranked #1 of 4 Norfolk B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hampton Bays, New York
1 review
“Elegant, spotless, romantic and delicious!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2010

The owners and 'stewards' of this victorian inn are serious about keeping this victorian true to herself! Every eye for detail, the cleanliness, friendliness and a beautiful and delicious breakfast all lead to an atmosphere of ease and relaxed enjoyment.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lmcasa44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    199
    15
    2
    1
    4
See reviews for
21
149
14
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Palm Harbor, FL
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2010

What a fantastic find experienced at the Mountain View Inn! Jean Marie and Dean have gone to great lengths to show what true service, caregiving is all about. They have honored and renovated the home to continue its beauty and fine appointments that hopefully will be enjoyed by generations to come. It was fun to go back in time to shop in Jean Marie's unique boutique stocked with classic, vintage cloths that provided a wonderful outfit for my wife as a coming home present. The grace and beauty of the inn is really a reflection of the two warm, gracious hosts.

It was wonderful having fresh baked cookies and milk before retiring. And, it was even better to wake up and have their home-made pancakes, quiches and yogurt parfaits for breakfast. Sorry to say I did not travel to the Mountain View Inn just for relaxation! I meet two business associates based on their recommendation for a creative planning discussion. We experience both a relaxed setting to balance the creative business discussions using the WIFI provided that generated a productive outcome.

Icing on the cake came at dinner and concert in town at the Infinity Bistro & Hall. Unbelievable the nationally known talent and number of shows that occur over the year! Every seat is great in this quaint venue and highly recommend checking out their sight for future to go along with relaxing trips to the Inn. Both experiences at The Mountain View Inn & Infinity Hall has grabbed me to repeat a visit with my wife for the atmosphere, relaxation and to take in another much anticipated concert. I definitely recommend it and plan to see Jean Marie, Dean and Miss Noel there again soon.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GrandpaPalmHarbor_FL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbury, CT
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2010

We spent two days at the Mountain View Inn and loved it. Dean and Jean Marie were absolutely delightful hosts. Our room was lovely and the breakfasts were great. The boutique was unique and provided the wife with a lovely "goddess" scarf. What we most enjoyed was the leisure time and wonderful space to enjoy it in. Their suggestion to eat at the Bistro and see a concert at the Infinity Music Hall were very much appreciated. We plan to make it our annual anniversary "getaway."

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JackLynneWoodbury_CT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west hartford, ct
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2010

The innkeepers, Dean and Jean-Marie were perfect hosts. There was just enough of a history of the town and inn imparted by Dean. His artwork really is beautifully displayed and Jean Marie's decorating and vintage clothing displays all fit the inn perfectly. Our room was beautiful -"Erastus' Room", but the real boon was the most fabulous night's sleep on a very comfortable bed, and the sheets, the sheets were the softest and most welcoming sheets I have ever felt! It was a very short walk to Infinity Hall for the concert we attended, which was fabulous as well- The English Beat- in a very intimate setting. We will definitely keep checking the concert schedule and stay over at this beautiful B & B with lovely grounds and patio, not to mention a delicious breakfast- the pancakes! We also enjoyed talking with their other interesting guests! L and M- West Hartford, CT

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marshalee4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doylestown, PA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2010

We've stayed at several other nearby B&B's/Inns in the past when we've visited family in the region. When the B&B we've usually stayed at was unavailable for this particular weekend, we searched online and found Mountain View Inn. We're so glad we did! Mountain View Inn is a lovely, uniquely- and artistically-decorated inn nestled in a beautiful setting. The Inn's friendly, warm, attentive innkeepers, Dean and Jean Marie, made us feel welcome from the moment we arrived. Breakfast was delicious and our hosts made sure there was food we could enjoy (we let them know of our dietary restrictions when we booked the reservation) even though we had booked just a day and a half ahead! We had fun learning about the Inn and took a wonderful walk through town following a route Dean suggested that we would never have known about. We loved our stay at Mountain View Inn and we look forward to returning and staying longer next time!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AlwaysLikeToGetAway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2010

Our stay at Mountain View Inn was a pleasure from the moment we walked through the door to the last drop of Dean’s strong coffee. The B&B is carefully restored and tastefully decorated, impeccably clean, with all the mod-cons such as fast free wifi, nice toiletries, hairdryers, etc
But the real pleasure comes from the owners, Dean and Jean Marie. Their company and conversation makes the experience of staying at Mountain View Inn very special.
We'll definitely be back,
Kate&Javier

Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank KatieBrooklyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holliston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2010

I called the Mountain View Inn to inquire about a room- my husband and I wanted to get away to celebrate our 28th Wedding Anniversary- (we hadn't been away alone in 12 years!!!)- After speaking to Dean and Jean Marie (the owners) I knew this was the destination for us- I felt very comfortable knowing we were in for a lovely 3 days in CT. We arrived and were greeted by Jean Marie-she was warm and very inviting. Dean was beyond helpful with "things to do". We settled into the guest house. We were so comfortable, a fireplace which added to the peacefulness and relaxation in the evenings. The morning breakfasts that Dean and Jean Marie prepared were out of this world- delicious quiche, pancakes, raspberry french toast, everything was presented in such a beautiful fashion and with total elegance. The Inn is decorated with Dean's artwork- or should we say masterpieces. The painting are flowers, butterflies, and more- simply breathtaking, I was in awe of the talent and passion Dean has for his work. The back and side area of the Inn has lovely rooms that are filled with the most charming antique clothing, shoes, handbags, hats- this is Jean Marie's flare and passion for sure. The charm and tasteful way these rooms are decorated is like no other Inn we have visited. My husband and I had a wonderful stay and we will be back again. This was a perfect way to celebrate our first 28 years of marriage. Thank you Dean and Jean Marie and Miss Noel (possibly the sweetest dog we have ever met).

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shopmom21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Norfolk
11.4 mi away
White Hart Inn
White Hart Inn
#1 of 1 in Salisbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
17.1 mi away
Litchfield Inn
Litchfield Inn
#1 of 1 in Litchfield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
2.6 mi away
Blackberry River Inn
Blackberry River Inn
#2 of 4 in Norfolk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Manor House
Manor House
#3 of 4 in Norfolk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
5.8 mi away
Locust Tree Bed and Breakfast
16.8 mi away
The Cornwall Inn
The Cornwall Inn
#1 of 1 in Cornwall
4.0 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain View Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain View Inn

Property: Mountain View Inn
Address: 67 Litchfield Road, Norfolk, CT
Location: United States > Connecticut > Norfolk
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Norfolk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mountain View Inn is an elegantly-restored Victorian Country house located in the center of your Litchfield Hills and Berkshires activities. Enjoy your perfect getaway by taking a short walk to the newly-restored Infinity Hall of Music and Infinity Bistro for fine dining and a popular music concert. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mountain View Hotel Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing