We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pristine and Welcoming Inn, Ideally situated”
Review of Mountain View Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Norfolk
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mountain View Inn
Ranked #1 of 4 Norfolk B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
west hartford, ct
1 review
“Pristine and Welcoming Inn, Ideally situated”
Reviewed May 9, 2010

The innkeepers, Dean and Jean-Marie were perfect hosts. There was just enough of a history of the town and inn imparted by Dean. His artwork really is beautifully displayed and Jean Marie's decorating and vintage clothing displays all fit the inn perfectly. Our room was beautiful -"Erastus' Room", but the real boon was the most fabulous night's sleep on a very comfortable bed, and the sheets, the sheets were the softest and most welcoming sheets I have ever felt! It was a very short walk to Infinity Hall for the concert we attended, which was fabulous as well- The English Beat- in a very intimate setting. We will definitely keep checking the concert schedule and stay over at this beautiful B & B with lovely grounds and patio, not to mention a delicious breakfast- the pancakes! We also enjoyed talking with their other interesting guests! L and M- West Hartford, CT

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marshalee4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    203
    16
    2
    1
    4
See reviews for
22
152
14
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Doylestown, PA
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2010

We've stayed at several other nearby B&B's/Inns in the past when we've visited family in the region. When the B&B we've usually stayed at was unavailable for this particular weekend, we searched online and found Mountain View Inn. We're so glad we did! Mountain View Inn is a lovely, uniquely- and artistically-decorated inn nestled in a beautiful setting. The Inn's friendly, warm, attentive innkeepers, Dean and Jean Marie, made us feel welcome from the moment we arrived. Breakfast was delicious and our hosts made sure there was food we could enjoy (we let them know of our dietary restrictions when we booked the reservation) even though we had booked just a day and a half ahead! We had fun learning about the Inn and took a wonderful walk through town following a route Dean suggested that we would never have known about. We loved our stay at Mountain View Inn and we look forward to returning and staying longer next time!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlwaysLikeToGetAway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2010

Our stay at Mountain View Inn was a pleasure from the moment we walked through the door to the last drop of Dean’s strong coffee. The B&B is carefully restored and tastefully decorated, impeccably clean, with all the mod-cons such as fast free wifi, nice toiletries, hairdryers, etc
But the real pleasure comes from the owners, Dean and Jean Marie. Their company and conversation makes the experience of staying at Mountain View Inn very special.
We'll definitely be back,
Kate&Javier

Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank KatieBrooklyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holliston, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2010

I called the Mountain View Inn to inquire about a room- my husband and I wanted to get away to celebrate our 28th Wedding Anniversary- (we hadn't been away alone in 12 years!!!)- After speaking to Dean and Jean Marie (the owners) I knew this was the destination for us- I felt very comfortable knowing we were in for a lovely 3 days in CT. We arrived and were greeted by Jean Marie-she was warm and very inviting. Dean was beyond helpful with "things to do". We settled into the guest house. We were so comfortable, a fireplace which added to the peacefulness and relaxation in the evenings. The morning breakfasts that Dean and Jean Marie prepared were out of this world- delicious quiche, pancakes, raspberry french toast, everything was presented in such a beautiful fashion and with total elegance. The Inn is decorated with Dean's artwork- or should we say masterpieces. The painting are flowers, butterflies, and more- simply breathtaking, I was in awe of the talent and passion Dean has for his work. The back and side area of the Inn has lovely rooms that are filled with the most charming antique clothing, shoes, handbags, hats- this is Jean Marie's flare and passion for sure. The charm and tasteful way these rooms are decorated is like no other Inn we have visited. My husband and I had a wonderful stay and we will be back again. This was a perfect way to celebrate our first 28 years of marriage. Thank you Dean and Jean Marie and Miss Noel (possibly the sweetest dog we have ever met).

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shopmom21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, MA
1 review
Reviewed April 19, 2010

What a location on top of a hill with a wonderful front porch. The hosts were welcoming , friendly .and very helpful. The decor was truly Victorian splendor. The guest room spacious and beautifuly decorated. We had an attached closed in porch that was an extra bonus. The breakfast was exactly what you would expect at a first class bed and breakfast.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PenroseVictorianInn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
1 review
Reviewed April 15, 2010

We heard that the Mountain View Inn was beautiful, but we didn't realize how exquisite it was until we arrived. Jean Marie and Dean have completely renovated the inn and have paid attention to every detail. Everywhere you turn, you find a unique treasure. The grace and beauty of the inn is really a reflection of the two warm, gracious hosts/innkeepers.

It was wonderful to be greeted with a glass of wine and fresh baked cookies when we arrived. And, it was a treat to wake up and have their home-made pancakes, quiches and yogurt parfaits for breakast. We relaxed by the fireplace and enjoyed a quiet, peaceful weekend away from home.

It was also great to discover some wonderful restaurants in town and of course, Infinity Hall. We got tickets to see Dave Mason and couldn't believe how great our seats were--in fact, every seat in the house is great! So we recommend you check that out as well. If you do, be sure to make a reservation at the Infinity Bistro--the food is outstanding and the restaurant fills up fast.

Oh, and we can't forget Miss Noel, the innkeepers' poodle. Adorable and so well behaved!

The Mountain View Inn is a treasure tucked away in Norfolk CT. We definitely recommend it and plan to see Jean Marie, Dean and Miss Noel there again soon.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DBRE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Easton, CT
1 review
Reviewed March 21, 2010

My daughter and I had the pleasure pf staying at this lovely Bed & Breakfast after seeing a concert at Infinity Music Hall & Bistro. The inn is located within walking distance to the venue (in good weather) and we found our experience at the Mountainview Inn very positive. The owners were very engaging, warm and knowledgeable about many topics. We were offered to upgrade our room and felt right at home during our stay. Our breakfast was delicious and the conversation was both fun and quite educational.

  • Stayed March 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patti_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Norfolk
11.4 mi away
White Hart Inn
White Hart Inn
#1 of 1 in Salisbury
80 reviews
17.1 mi away
BW Premier Collection The Litchfield Inn
2.6 mi away
Blackberry River Inn
Blackberry River Inn
#2 of 4 in Norfolk
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Manor House Inn
Manor House Inn
#3 of 4 in Norfolk
95 reviews
3.3 mi away
Rock Hall Luxe Lodging
Rock Hall Luxe Lodging
#1 of 1 in Colebrook
63 reviews
5.8 mi away
Locust Tree Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain View Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain View Inn

Property: Mountain View Inn
Address: 67 Litchfield Road, Norfolk, CT
Location: United States > Connecticut > Norfolk
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Norfolk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mountain View Inn is an elegantly-restored Victorian Country house located in the center of your Litchfield Hills and Berkshires activities. Enjoy your perfect getaway by taking a short walk to the newly-restored Infinity Hall of Music and Infinity Bistro for fine dining and a popular music concert. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mountain View Hotel Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing