We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extraordinary hospitality!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mountain View Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Norfolk
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mountain View Inn
Save
You added Mountain View Inn to your Saves list
Ranked #1 of 4 Norfolk B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Worcester, Massachusetts
2 reviews
“Extraordinary hospitality!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

I booked a night at the Mountain View Inn because my friend and I were attending a concert at Infinity Music Hall located just minutes away. We were greeted at the door by Dean, his wife Jean Marie, and their friendly dog. Very friendly and gracious couple! The property was beautifully maintained inside and out, with a lot of attention to detail. The proprietors were very helpful and friendly, yet not at all intrusive. I made sure to take a calendar of events for Infinity Hall because I will definitely return for another event and look forward to staying at the Mountain View Inn. Thank you so much Dean and Jean Marie for a wonderful experience! Linda W

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    190
    15
    2
    1
    4
See reviews for
20
143
14
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Norfolk, Connecticut
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

My sister asked for a "good place to stay" while she attended the graduation ceremonies for my two children. I had heard really good things about the Mountain View Inn however the competition is tough around here so there were several options I gave my sister. As a resident of Norfolk, the most impressive thing I had heard about this particular B&B was that, during some of our severe storms over the past several years, they would welcome residence that were out of power for days, some of weeks, to freshen up while they waited for power to be restored to their portion of the town. I was secretly hoping my sister selected this Inn.
Once she arrived i was invited to join her for breakfast, it was like walking into a time machine as I entered is beautifully restored Inn. The food was amazing, much more than either of us could finish. I stayed with her the last night and slept on the sun porch in Jenny's Room. It was a magical experience to sleep under stars and watch the sunrise in the morning. I often miss this in the busy of my day. My sister's stay at the Inn added an additional level of pleasure to our graduation week because family was invited to sample the beauty and the breakfast. This provided an extra treat to a fabulous week of celebration.

Room Tip: Jenny's Room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lora B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

The Mountain View Inn is wonderfully cozy and lovely. Nestled into the woods and overlooking Norfork, this inn has it all—large, unique guest rooms, beautiful artwork and hosts that made me feel welcomed from the minute I arrived.

The inn itself is a special place and invites one to relax and enjoy. A short walk from Norfork’s town center, Mountain View is well located for all activities in the area. However, you’ll have an urge to simply stay put because of the inn’s inviting porches, gardens and numerous spots to snug into for the day.

Dean and Jean Marie couldn’t have been nicer. I was struck by the thought that Dean put into breakfast—organic yogurt parfait with fresh fruit, free range egg quiche, breakfasts meats, juice, homemade muffins and freshly brewed coffee with cream. Each morning a member of my family that lives nearby joined me for breakfast. (There was no extra charge.)

Between the between the beautiful accommodations, delicious food and delightful conversations, it was truly a special stay.

Room Tip: I stayed in Jenny's Room (#4). There is a sun/sleeping porch that is attached to this room. Fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Barb L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

Full disclosure. We are cyclists who were bike touring the country. Last second we booked a stay just to sleep. Dean did his best to convince me the $130 was the best he could do and it would be worth the stay. We are 22 and we looked a little dirty from 12 days of riding. But after paying on my card for the room you think we would get some respect like any other customer. He looked at us like we were making the hotel dirty and this assumption was confirmed when he showed us the room. My friend sits on the bed after a long 4 hour ride and Dean says, "Do you mind not sitting on the bed those comforters are really expensive." Listen I just paid $150 (including tax) for no tv and your telling my friend who's shorts were dry after the long ride that he can't sit on the bed we literally just paid for. Seemed very snooty. And on the phone he said he'd make us a small granola for breakfast for no charge just the included price for the room. He woke us up with a firm knock after sleeping in a little late (not after checkout) and told us the breakfast was made and it would be $10 each. After agreeing there would be no charge. He gave us a yogurt parfait, small grapefruit, and oatmeal. Nothing special at all. Could get the same thing at mcdonalds for cheaper and be treated better in the process. It made us feel like we were forced to pay for this pre-made meal and we had no options. Maybe if we weren't kids. And maybe if we were a adult couple we would have been treated better. Just treat anyone with respect despite young or old(especially when your the only people staying at the place). We have money, but wish it was spent elsewhere.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joshnjj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mountainviewinn, Owner at Mountain View Inn, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Hello,

It is disheartening to read your review. Over five thousand people, young and old, and from all over the world have stayed with us. We are not all things to all people, but we do our best to accommodate everyone and, foremost, to treat each person with dignity and respect. This is reflected in the heartfelt reviews we have received over many years. As I reflect on your stay, I recall that you mentioned never having stayed at a Bed and Breakfast and that you were quite displeased with your previous lodging. You called four times, while on your bike, and each time I attempted to respond to your questions and to clarify expectations. You challenged the price and I candidly explained the lowest price I could offer. You asked about a television and I clarified that while there are no televisions in our guest rooms, you were welcome to watch the television in the Great Room at any time. When you asked about doing your laundry, I explained that, as with most Bed and Breakfasts, we do not have guest laundry facilities. When you arrived, you were warmly greeted by my wife, Jean Marie, our dog, Miss Noelle, and me. We offered refreshments, which you seemed to enjoy. We helped to secure a safe, dry location for your bikes.and provided details on how and where you might enjoy the evening in our small town. You played our antique organ (a relic, indeed) while chatting about your travels and spending time with Jean Marie and Miss Noelle. Jean Marie offered to do your laundry that evening, and did; it was ready for you when you returned. You had also stressed that you had a plan to get back on the road early and requested a 7:30 a.m. breakfast. When 8:30 a.m. arrived, I made the choice to knock on your door, based on that information. Jean Marie and I were genuinely intrigued to hear about your biking adventure and continue to wish you safe travels and many new experiences ahead.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, Connecticut
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

This was our first stay at the Mountain View Inn but it certainly won't be our last! My husband and I had traveled with friends to the beautiful north western corner of CT for a show at the Infinity Music Hall. Our friends had stayed here before and couldn't say enough nice things about the innkeepers. Well, once we arrived we completely understood why they were raving about this B&B.
Dean and Jean Marie were warm, welcoming, and made us feel at home straight away. The inn is decorated with Victorian elegance which is at once picture perfect but also comfortable and inviting. Our stay was wonderful. Mrs. Mead's room has a lovely little sitting area, full bath, and a bed so comfortable I could have lounged for hours. That is if breakfast were not calling my name! The food was excellent. Fresh ingredients that were delicious and beautifully presented.
We were lucky to have had gorgeous weather and so could enjoy the terrace on the afternoon of our arrival. It led me to thinking what it would be like with the snow flying, looking out while sitting snug and warm near the fire inside… we will definitely be back to enjoy the change of seasons at this gem of an inn.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hilary F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, CT
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

We stayed at the Mountain View Inn this past weekend and needless to say it was as good as ever. My wife and I traveled with friends to see Roger McGuinn at Infinity Hall Theatre, just a short walk from the inn. In innkeepers Dean, Jean-Marie and Miss Noelle were as accommodating as ever and it's like visiting family now as we have stayed there numerous times. I cannot recommend the Mountain View highly enough. It's a great place to go and relax or take in a few of the area wineries as we did this trip. We usually like to wrap a concert at Infinity Hall as part of our visit. My wife and I have stayed at the Mountain View Inn at all times of the year and no matter if its snowing and you are sitting next to a roaring fire in the great room or enjoying a nice summer breeze on the front porch or patio in the back, it's a great place to be. The Mountain View also attracts a nice quality of guests and we have had many interesting conversations along the way! Even when the inn is full you feel like you are the only people there. Very spacious. Breakfast is top notch! Can't wait to visit again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bones1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, Connecticut
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

Had a very enjoyable and comfortable stay at the Mountain View Inn. We were warmly greeted by Dean and Jean Marie (our human hosts) and Noelle (our sweet canine hostess) and made to feel very much at home. We stayed in Felix's room (#6) which was beautifully appointed, immaculate and filled with many thoughtful touches such as interesting reading materials and chocolate kisses! The mattress and the linens were super comfortable and we slept very soundly. As others have mentioned, the Infinity Bistro and Music Hall are just a short walk from the Inn and we appreciated that we did not need to use our car to enjoy dinner and a concert. Breakfast was very well done, delicious, nutritious and elegantly presented. We highly recommend this top notch establishment!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Merril A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Norfolk
11.4 mi away
White Hart Inn
White Hart Inn
#1 of 1 in Salisbury
4.5 of 5 stars 56 reviews
17.1 mi away
Litchfield Inn
Litchfield Inn
#1 of 1 in Litchfield
4.0 of 5 stars 200 reviews
2.6 mi away
Blackberry River Inn
Blackberry River Inn
#2 of 4 in Norfolk
4.0 of 5 stars 104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Manor House
Manor House
#3 of 4 in Norfolk
4.5 of 5 stars 89 reviews
3.3 mi away
Rock Hall Luxe Lodging
Rock Hall Luxe Lodging
#1 of 1 in Colebrook
4.5 of 5 stars 59 reviews
13.0 mi away
Interlaken Inn
Interlaken Inn
#1 of 1 in Lakeville
4.0 of 5 stars 369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain View Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain View Inn

Property: Mountain View Inn
Address: 67 Litchfield Rd, Norfolk, CT 06058-1277
Location: United States > Connecticut > Norfolk
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Norfolk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mountain View Inn is an elegantly-restored Victorian Country house located in the center of your Litchfield Hills and Berkshires activities. Enjoy your perfect getaway by taking a short walk to the newly-restored Infinity Hall of Music and Infinity Bistro for fine dining and a popular music concert. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mountain View Hotel Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing