We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best review is knowing that you want to return......” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mountain View Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Norfolk
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mountain View Inn
Ranked #1 of 4 Norfolk B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Woodbury, Connecticut
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“The best review is knowing that you want to return......”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2014

and that's what my fiancé and I hope to do. We we're treated to a romantic Valentine's weekend at the Mtn View Inn. Traditional, quaint and beautiful describe this home turned B & B. Hosts Dean and Jean Marie are wonderful. Breakfast is not to be missed. Snowy weather kept us from hiking, but we enjoyed the food and wait staff at the Wood Creek and an evening at the Infinity Music Hall. The Inn was beautiful in winter, so can only imagine how nice it must be in spring with birds and flowers. The Inn will make a special occasion even better. Will return for one of the following anniversary, birthday or concert. Can't wait!

Room Tip: Check website for room details.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    199
    15
    2
    1
    4
See reviews for
21
149
14
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Preston, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2014

My fiance' and I were in Norfolk for a show at Infinity Music Hall recently, and spent a night at this beautiful B&B that was suggested to us by friends who had stayed there on several occasions. We stayed in Mrs Mead's room, which was beautiful, clean and very comfortable. We had a lovely breakfast the next morning, and enjoyed the company of Dean, the Innkeeper, who had some great suggestions for things to do and see in the area. We are looking forward to going back and bringing some of our friends to enjoy this lovely Inn. Thanks again Dean!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watkins Glen, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2014

My wife, 13 year old son and myself stayed at the Mountain View Inn on Saturday, February, 2nd.
We were greeted by the owner, Dean on arrival. He showed us to our room (The Felix) and it was quite lovely. The Felix is a nice sized room even with the cot they brought in for our son to use. The bed in the room is very comfortable. It's also high off the ground so if you have mobility issues it might not be for you. The Wi-Fi in the room was exceptional and the lack of a television was very welcomed. We chose this Inn because it was the closest to the Infinity Music Hall where we attended a performance that evening. It was just a very short walk. In the morning there was a tasty buffet put out that included quiche, breads and kielbasa. We only wish that we could have enjoyed the beautiful front porch, but chances are slim for that in February. We would gladly stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KevAmyT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Haven, Connecticut
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2014

Beautiful antique and art filled gem! We stayed in Felix's room, which was not only lovely, but also very comfortable. The breakfast was amazing, unusual and abundant. The hosts were friendly, hospitable and full of information regarding where to eat, things to do and local history. We chose the inn for its proximity to Infinity Hall. There are also restaurants, antique stores and a couple of great state parks. We especially enjoyed our short hike to the partially frozen Campbell Falls. I highly recommend this inn for anyone who is looking for a relaxing quintessentially New England adventure. Hoping to return to experience the lovely courtyard come summertime!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noank, Connecticut
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2014

My husband and I stayed 1 night at the Mountain View Inn In December, and it was lovely. We were in town to attend a show at the Infinity Music Hall and the Mountain View is located just down the road a bit. We were warmly welcomed and had a nice chat with the Innkeeper, Dean, who then showed us to a beautiful, large room on the 2nd floor. In the morning breakfast was amazing! Dean prepared the meal, served us, and then sat with us while we enjoyed the meal. It was really delicious and it was nice to get to know Dean a bit better. This was a very quick visit for us, but we will be back!

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathrynbct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holmdel, New Jersey
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2013

My spouse and I made a quick trip to the Norfolk, CT area to deliver an antique desk won at auction earlier in NJ. We rode up by rented truck and returned by rented car. We had decided to spend a night and while in the area see some sights. We happened upon this wonderful B&B, knocked on the door as it appear closed, but lo and behold, the proprietor, Dean, came to the door. He indicated the B&B was closed but he sized us up as a good bet and offered to let us stay. He indicated breakfast would be limited because the establishment was technically closed. We were fine with it and Dean offered us a discounted rate.

We had a choice of any room which was difficult because they were all perfect. Once settled in, we went to downtown Norfolk to a restaurant suggested by Dean (he called ahead to make sure they were serving as this was out of season). We had an absolutely wonderful meal and were able to observe and interact with the local populace.

The next morning to our surprise was a wonderful continental breakfast just for the two of us. Dean joined us and we have a wonderful discourse for nearly two hours about everything imaginable.

Our time there was short however the memories shall remain forever.

Please seek out the B&B if in the area or as part of a planned trip. You will not be disappointed.

Tina and Bill

Room Tip: All rooms are wonderful and nicely decorated. Only one room does not have a private bath. Depending...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank William K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, Tennessee
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2013

Spent three nights in Jenny's room, mid-October. Nights were cool, crisp and an invigorating prelude to the wonderful breakfast Dean and Jean Marie hosted. Breakfast is a convivial affair with Dean presiding and leading the assembled patrons in spirited discussions ranging from events at the local Infinity Hall to the facinating history of Mountain View Inn. Jenny's Room was comfortable, quiet and spacious with a lovely sun-room adjoining. Common areas were also comfortable and well-adorned with Dean's meticulously detailed and beautiful floral paintings. Jean Marie's shop sports an amazing array of vintage clothing and accessories that enticed my wife into a pre-breakfast shopping spree.
We travel through western CT annually going to and from vacations in Maine but this was our first visit to Mountain View Inn. The venue exceed expectations on every level and our only disappointment was that we had not discovered it earlier and could not linger there longer on this trip. We are eagerly anticipating our next visit and the renewal of our friendship with Jean Marie and Dean.

Room Tip: Jenny's Room is on the front of the house, second floor. It has a wonderful glassed sun room th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Norfolk
11.4 mi away
White Hart Inn
White Hart Inn
#1 of 1 in Salisbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
17.1 mi away
Litchfield Inn
Litchfield Inn
#1 of 1 in Litchfield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
2.6 mi away
Blackberry River Inn
Blackberry River Inn
#2 of 4 in Norfolk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Manor House
Manor House
#3 of 4 in Norfolk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
5.8 mi away
Locust Tree Bed and Breakfast
16.8 mi away
The Cornwall Inn
The Cornwall Inn
#1 of 1 in Cornwall
4.0 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain View Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain View Inn

Property: Mountain View Inn
Address: 67 Litchfield Road, Norfolk, CT
Location: United States > Connecticut > Norfolk
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Norfolk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mountain View Inn is an elegantly-restored Victorian Country house located in the center of your Litchfield Hills and Berkshires activities. Enjoy your perfect getaway by taking a short walk to the newly-restored Infinity Hall of Music and Infinity Bistro for fine dining and a popular music concert. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mountain View Hotel Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing