We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Repeat visit, and will return again.”
Review of Mountain View Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Norfolk
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mountain View Inn
Ranked #1 of 4 Norfolk B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
norwalk, ct
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Repeat visit, and will return again.”
Reviewed April 29, 2011

We returned to Mountain View Inn on short notice when we decided to go see a show at Infinity Hall on a weeknight. Thank goodness they had a room. As returning guests, we love this place. Jean Marie and Dean are such gracious and hospitable hosts. Their inn is a truly-loved home, richly decorated in tasteful Victorian splendor; and, of course, the yummy breakfast is outstanding. We’ll be back again, for sure! And we’ll look forward to a longer, more leisurely stay in this idyllic spot next time. Highly recommended for genuine hospitality and ambiance.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Meg R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    203
    16
    2
    1
    4
See reviews for
22
152
14
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2011

My girlfriend and I were due to stay at the Mountain View Inn in March 2011, but due to a heavy snowstorm where we were staying in New Hampshire we had to cancel our booking on the morning of our intended stay. We expected to have our deposit refunded since this was a force majeure and as such was out of our control. Instead, we were told that not only would our deposit not be refunded, but we would have to pay for the room as well.

The reasons given for this were:
1. The cost of preparing the room; and
2. That the hotel would now be unable to rent out the room to another customer.

Well, the cost of preparing the room can't have been much more than $10, and I know from the online availability chart of the hotel that only one of the other rooms was occupied on the night of our intended stay. So neither of these arguments carries any weight whatsoever.

So do not expect these guys to be reasonable or flexible.

Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank LetEnglandSpeak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avon, CT
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 3, 2011

Dean and Jean-Marie, innkeepers at The Mountain View Inn, provided the perfect setting and atmosphere for a small, family wedding ceremony. The Victorian decor of the Inn is both elegant and inviting, and the rooms are among the loveliest I have encountered in my travels/stays at bed-and-breakfasts! There were 10 of us spending the weekend together, and the Inn was just the right size for our comfort. We felt so at home; and Dean and the staff were a quiet presence in the background, allowing our plans to unfold without a hitch yet anticipating our needs for assistance when they arose. The wedding and the weekend was all we had hoped and more - thanks to the incomparable Johnsons!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tammy_DAvon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Coast
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2011

One of the all-time best B & B experiences I have had! The hosts were just fabulous: the perfect balance of personalized hospitality and professionalism: welcoming, informative, could be found when you needed them (for anything), yet knew when to leave you alone. I was warmly greeted, offered fresh-baked cookies and my choice of hot beverages or apple cider, and helped with my bags upstairs to my beautiful-decorated room. Details, details, details! Everything I could need was there (including the little extras in the bathroom one sometimes forgets to pack). The Inn is lovingly-restored and offers a smorgasbord of visual delights from antiques to nick-nacks and original artwork. The tastefully decorated common rooms and porches to wander, explore, relax in, made it difficult to leave the inn to explore Norfolk. After enjoying a walk in the snow throughout this lovely community followed by dinner and a show just minutes away at Infinity Hall, it was icing on a magical day to be welcomed by a roaring fire in the sitting room. Breakfast was exquisite and the atmosphere created a warm camaraderie amongst the guests who only had wonderful things to share about their stay. (The Inn is so well laid out, I never saw other guests during my stay except for at breakfast and by the fire late at night, despite a full house.) This was my first visit to the Norfolk area and I can’t wait to book another weekend at the Mountain View Inn!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cloverd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oradell, NJ
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2011

My wife surprised with tickets to an event at newly restored Infinity Hall in Norfolk CT which included a stay at nearby Mountain View Inn. What a perfect place to spend an autumn weekend. The common areas and our room were comfortable and well appointed but the best part of the Inn was Innkeeper Dean Johnson. We were meeting friends for drinks and dinner before the Infinity event and Dean brought out wine glasses and invited our friends to share a drink before we left. Breakfast the next morning was incredible as was the conversation with Dean and his son. Paintings by both father and son are throughout the main floor. Our room with canopy bed, sitting area and spacious bathroom were spotless and well cared for. We would love to come back in warmer weather and take advantage of the beautiful stone patio and the immense lawn. We'd love to come back anytime of year!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mcschleg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 6, 2011

We found this place online and we had a great experience from the first phone call on thru our stay... They were a very welcoming and knowledgable couple. We went for the Music hall and it was a short walk away as promised. The rooms were clean and the bed was amazing. It proved to be the best weekend away we have had! We can not wait to go back!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sweets09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nyc
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2011

We spent two restful nights January 16 & 17, 2011. Dean and Jean-Marie were very helpful in recommending excellent restaurants in the area. Dean recommended a massage therapist, who was one of the best we ever had.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank caleb1nyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Norfolk
11.4 mi away
White Hart Inn
White Hart Inn
#1 of 1 in Salisbury
82 reviews
17.1 mi away
BW Premier Collection The Litchfield Inn
2.6 mi away
Blackberry River Inn
Blackberry River Inn
#2 of 4 in Norfolk
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Manor House Inn
Manor House Inn
#3 of 4 in Norfolk
97 reviews
3.3 mi away
Rock Hall Luxe Lodging
Rock Hall Luxe Lodging
#1 of 1 in Colebrook
63 reviews
13.1 mi away
Days Inn Torrington
Days Inn Torrington
#1 of 3 in Torrington
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain View Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain View Inn

Property: Mountain View Inn
Address: 67 Litchfield Road, Norfolk, CT
Location: United States > Connecticut > Norfolk
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Norfolk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mountain View Inn is an elegantly-restored Victorian Country house located in the center of your Litchfield Hills and Berkshires activities. Enjoy your perfect getaway by taking a short walk to the newly-restored Infinity Hall of Music and Infinity Bistro for fine dining and a popular music concert. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mountain View Hotel Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing