We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view, Great food”

Abbott's Lobster In The Rough
Ranked #2 of 6 Restaurants in Noank
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Takeout
Springfield, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great view, Great food”
Reviewed June 26, 2013

A friend and I ate at Abbot's in Noank, CT on June 26. Having never been there, we were pleasantly surprised by the location: overlooking the water. When we discovered we could sit
outside, right on the water, we were very excited. We both ordered the hot lobster roll. It was wonderful.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank norma g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

740 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    335
    240
    91
    45
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New London, Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“no lobster like it anywhere”
Reviewed June 26, 2013

You'd think that lobster is lobster, whereever you get it, but this place does the best steamed lobster I've ever had, and their hot lobster roll is incredible as well. My spouse prefers the lobster salad roll, and says that is is also fantastic. Can get crowded on weekends, have to wait in line to order, but one person can stand in line while the rest enjoy's one of the best views on the planet.
Not to be missed

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank joekr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elkins Park, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
194 reviews
148 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Great Lobster, 'nuf said!”
Reviewed June 26, 2013 via mobile

Really good lobster. Well cooked. Shrimp and corn chowder was also excellent. One and a quarter pound.dinner for $17.98 is an excellent value. Friends told us to sit inside or the gulls would eat our dinner but that didn't happen.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Fauxqui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Estero, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Lobster in the Rough”
Reviewed June 23, 2013

We ate at Abbotts in Noank, CT on 20 June 2013. We have eaten here many times over the past 10+ years and it hasn't changed on bit. The main menu item is lobster in almost any size possible, This day they had a huge 17 pounder at $190. I was able to hold it, One claw alone was the size of 3 or 4 of the one and a quarter pound lobsters which are usually served. You cna eat outside on inside. Nothing fancy just good food at a reasonable price. The 1 1/4 pound lobster with trimmings was 17.95. We had the lobster roll for 13.95. Also on the menu are shrimp, tuna or chicken salad rolls plus clam chowder and lobster bisque. All very good. Not to be missed if you are in the area visiting The Mystic Seaport which is about 7 miles away.

There is also another similar place which is known for serving clams. Strangely enough it is called Costello's. I am allergic to clams so we didn't go there but I have no reason to believe for clam lovers it is just as good as Abbotts is for lobsters.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CharlieWH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverly, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
514 reviews
195 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 304 helpful votes
“Great location overlooking the water!”
Reviewed June 19, 2013

I ate lunch at Abbott's during a visit to the Mystic area. I grew up in Connecticut, and the only type of lobster roll I will eat is hot with butter (none of the lobster salad you get most places!). And this one is excellent! The restaurant is situated right on the water, with plenty of outdoor tables on the lawn and waterfront deck. You order at a window, then wait for your number to be called. The lobster roll is served on a hamburg bun (as opposed to hot dog bun), and has the perfect lobster to butter ratio. I grabbed a table by the water, and it was the perfect lunch stop on a hot day! You won't be disappointed!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lirwin13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Abbott's Lobster In The Rough also viewed

 

Been to Abbott's Lobster In The Rough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing