We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean, if Quirky” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Days Inn Niantic Near Casinos

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Days Inn Niantic Near Casinos
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Niantic
Oradell, New Jersey
Level Contributor
105 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Clean, if Quirky”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2014

The rate was very good, the desk service friendly and efficient. The room was clean and the mattress was OK. Bathroom was also clean and towels were serviceable, not fluffy but not threadbare. Weak A/C did NOT cool off room but made it bearable.
Breakfast was uncomfortable. One small room with oversized tables to eat in. A closet of sorts to go in and get you fake-bagel, small unknown muffin, various cereals that are off brand and don't match the signs on their dispensers. There was a hot tray with round sponge-like items in it. Eggs? Pancakes? Don't know, couldn't guess. There is also a waffle iron with a waffle batter pump. Pump the batter into a paper cup that is handily left there, then pour onto iron. Close iron and the timer begins. You can top it with the syrup of unknown derivation. Everyone there was trying to politely get their food and get out of each others way. Even the kids were trying their best but with the small and odd shaped floor space it was very uncomfortable. Except for the round disks (which no one ate) breakfast was deemed acceptable food and beverage wise, We got out of there as quickly as possible.
Dangerous entrance at night for persons who are not familiar with the road. The hotel desperately needs to LIGHT THEIR SIGNS AT NIGHT. Road is at a slight curve. It is irresponsible to create the situation wherein someone is going to need to stop short. I came in the daytime and even then noticed the position of the signs was less than desirable.
and Decore? I have no idea what these people are thinking. The furniture doesn't fit the rooms, chairs don't fit under the table edges, the headboard wasn't secured to the wall. And every cheap choche and odd figurine from the owner's home or local garage sale was on display. There is this tiled fountain with no water that... oh, never mind.
It's inexpensive, clean and you get breakfast. I'd stay again for an overnight.

Room Tip: There is a pool in the back. The front parking lot is up a drive from the road. Both sides seemed pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    27
    39
    24
    41
See reviews for
53
42
4
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stratford, Connecticut
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2014

Went there because it was the closest hotel with vacancy to Mohegan sun for this specific weekend. Right off the bat I was charged extra money because there was 3 people staying instead of two (bulls*** charge) because the room is clearly already paid for, shouldn't matter if one more person sleeps in the room. But I paid, went up to my room and went to use the bathroom, there was pee all over the toilet seat and the toilet was FILTHY. As was the bathtub and ice bucket. It also smelled like moth balls so I sprayed my perfume. When I tried to call the front desk about it they didn't answer, I went to my car and got Lysol wipes and cleaned the room myself. Later that night when we got back we discovered that the bed frame was falling apart after my friend hurt her leg walking into the metal piece sticking out. There was also tootsie rolls and what looked like champagne corks under the bed. So basically, it was disgusting, overpriced, unsanitary, and has potential for rodents and cockroaches with food being under the bed. I will never stay there again I would rather sleep in a cardboard box.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Alyshayn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niantic, Front Office Manager at Days Inn Niantic Near Casinos, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Dear Guest

We are truly sorry for the inconvenience caused to you during your stay. Please be assured that this misfortune is an isolated incident, as our goal is to provide every guest with a totally positive stay with us.
We hope this incidence will not discourage you from using the Hilltop Inn® in the future. We realize that you make a decision each time you select the hotel that you will stay with. We want very much to show you that the decision you make will continue to be the correct one.
Please accept my sincere apology and if you have informed the desk they must have resolved whatever issue you had at the of incident. Also there is a expenses involved for extra person for uses that is the reason we charge $15 extra as whatever you paid for was only for 2 person.
Please be assured that your concerns will be dealt within a timely and professional fashion.
We thank you for bringing this to our attention and will utilize your feedback to improve our efficiency and guest service in the future.

Sincerely Yours,

Mike
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Niantic hotels

Fremont, Ohio
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2014

I am staying here now while working at Millstone. Rooms are clean and they are updating the rooms right now. The staff is very nice and helpful. It's a quiet place and close to everything. Close to shopping and beaches. The only thing they don't have that is advertised on their sign would be the hot breakfast. They do offer coffee, juices, cold cereals, bagels, and instant oatmeal. I would definitely recommend staying here.

Room Tip: No elevator to 2nd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2014 via mobile

We've been staying at the Hilltop Inn several times a year for the past 5 years and have found it the best buy in SE CT. It's an older property but is clean and comfortable and the staff are very friendly and eager to help in any way that the can. The night staff is excellent and appears to be on call in case of a problem. We certainly will be back.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Michael J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlebury, Connecticut
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

We enjoy going to Hilltop Inn because it's close to Rocky Neck beach and the staff is very accommodating and friendly. The rooms are quiet and have a dorm size refrigerator and microwave which come in handy. The price is reasonable, The pool was nice and there are picnic tables with umbrellas. We ate in the breakfast nook and saved time from going out to a restaurant every morn. We hope to go back again next year, I recommend it to my friends.

Evelyn

Room Tip: First floor, corridor on the left, rooms on the right are facing the pool and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Evelyn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2012

We were a little apprehensive in staying here after reading the other reviews, but we're glad we did! After a long days drive up the coast all we wanted was a good nights sleep, which we got. The desk clerk was quick and friendly, the room was clean and quiet, and we didn't break the bank staying there. Success....

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
47 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2012

If you prefer a moderately updated hotel this is not the place for you. Carpets are dingy. Don't let the breakfast offer fool you. Dunkin donuts would be more tasty with better juice and coffee. not worth more than 7o per night...halls smelled musty.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank magoo2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Niantic
0.2 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#1 of 8 in Niantic
3.5 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
2.4 mi away
Rodeway Inn Waterford
Rodeway Inn Waterford
#2 of 5 in Waterford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
2.4 mi away
Niantic Inn
Niantic Inn
#2 of 8 in Niantic
3.5 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Groton Near the Casinos
5.1 mi away
Red Roof Inn Mystic - New London
7.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Olympic Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Niantic Near Casinos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Niantic Near Casinos

Property: Days Inn Niantic Near Casinos
Address: 239 Flanders Rd, Niantic, CT 06357-1214 (Formerly Hilltop Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Mystic Country > Niantic
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Niantic
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Niantic Near Casinos 2*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Days Inn Niantic Near Casinos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilltop Hotel Niantic

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing