We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful views, nice landscaping, immaculate...expensive considering value” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Inn at Harbor Hill Marina

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Inn at Harbor Hill Marina
Ranked #1 of 1 Niantic B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful views, nice landscaping, immaculate...expensive considering value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2010

We were travelling through the Niantic area and we had heard so much about this Inn as it was rated 3-stars at AAA. It is a beautiful old house typical of the local Northeast region. IT IS IMMACULATE and tastefully decorated and well-kept. The pictures don't do it justice. The view, as you would expect, overlooks the Harbor and is spectacular at every angle at every time of the day. The atmosphere is "unplugged" (although they do have tv, dvd, wireless access) quaint, quiet, serene, hospitable and there is a fridge stocked with water, soft drinks, wine, ice 24 hours a day. After dinner there are cookies waiting on a platter in the lounge area. The rocking chairs on the porch were my favorite. The grounds are smaller than they are depicted but beatifully manicured. There is on-site parking. Breakfast was cold "continental" and truly not much better than the highway hotel continental breakfast we had the day before. Coffee is served to you and not help yourself. I thought one draw-back to the $250.00/night room rate. Afterall, check-in is at 3pm and check-out is at 11am (so that's a lot of money for less than 24 hours!) Also, there is no one to help with heavy bags up the stairs. (no elevator) and some rooms are three flights up! It is well worth it for a special memory or quiet "veg" evening but I found it lacking in value, overall. By the way, if you want a great dining experience nearby, check out Sunset Rib Co right over the bridge just a couple miles away on the other side of the harbor....

  • Stayed May 2010
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dara2K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

447 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    400
    35
    11
    1
    0
See reviews for
48
301
14
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
connecticut
Level Contributor
75 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2010

My husband and I celebrated our 35th anniversary at this beautiful inn. The innkeepers, Sue & Dave couldn't have been nicer. The inn is spotless and the view is breathtaking. The weather was a bit off but everything was warm and cozy. A glass of wine before heading out for dinner and warm cookies upon our return. We made reservations to return in a few months, can't wait!
Thank you Sue & Dave for making our 35th extra special.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank seets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yarmouth, ME
Level Contributor
97 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2009

I stayed at the Inn at Harbor Hill Marina while traveling for business recently. It was the perfect choice! As a single traveler, I wanted to stay somewhere welcoming and secure. Dave and Sue offered an incredibly warm welcome, and from there I knew I'd chosen the right place. I loved the living room and the porches and grounds were just gorgeous.

As a boater, I am always drawn to places right on the water. The Inn at Harbor Hill Marina has a fabulous view of the water. I awoke to sunrise over the marina, which was peaceful and stunning at the same time. Most guests were drawn to the porch for breakfast to enjoy the view. What a nice way to start the day - sitting in wicker rockers with a cup of coffee and a beautiful view!

My room looked out over the water. It was cozy and warm, with pretty blue and maroon decor. I was easily able to get a wi-fi signal, and work from my room while looking out over a beautiful view of the marina. There's a distinctively nautical feel to the whole inn; again something I really appreciate as a boater.

I would definitely recommend the Inn at Harbor Hill Marina to everyone traveling on business or pleasure.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CousinsIslandgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norwalk
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2009

This was such a fantastic place to stay. The room was perfect the view great and talk about clean. The innkeepers were the best. I tell you we had a wonderful time. Breakfast in the morning really hit the spot.
THIS IS THE PLACE TO STAY

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bksk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2008

We spent 2 nights in room #8. The room was very clean and had a view of Long Island Sound. It was not very big but if you are out sightseeing it was more than adequate. There is a light breakfast served each morning. If you are looking for the B&B hearty breakfast you will be disappointed. Mostly cold cereals and you can toast bagels and toast. It was fine for us since we don't have a large breakfast each morning.
They also have a refrigerator stocked with beer, wine, water and soda that you can take anytime. After the dinner hour there is a plate of cookies for the taking.
The location is fine, Niantic is a small town with not too many shops but you can very quickly get to other attractions in the area. The only negative thing about room #8 is that on one hand you face the sound on the other hand the Amtrak train travels a block from the Inn and at 6 AM it does wake you up.
The Inn constantly has specials. If you get a room on special it is well worth it, I don't think I would pay full price. There seems to be better Inns in the area for their full rate price.

  • Liked — Clean
  • Disliked — Train Noise
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank A&*%_65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kittery, Maine
Level Contributor
125 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2008

Wonderful view of marina from room #1.The grounds are very pretty. The staff is friendly, and helpful. Drinks and snacks available 24 hours.
Room was on the small side, and we wished for a king-size bed like at home. Needed room darkening shades.
The cold buffet breakfast was nice, but think a hot entree should be on the menu.
Thought the price was high without a full breakfast!

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — lack of hot breakfast
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marcia Mae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, CT
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2008

This year my boyfriend and I stayed at the Inn for the second consecutive year. The innkeepers, Sue and Dave, are wonderful people who went way above and beyond to help my boyfriend propose to me on their boat, "Inn Style" and continue to make the long weekend the best ever with champagne, flowers and new friends. They can offer tons to do, or encourage you to do nothing at all but unwind and escape the real world. Stay here, it's well worth it.

p.s. the views are SPECTACULAR. Get up early and experience the fabulous harbor sunrise.

  • Liked — the ambience and hospitality
  • Disliked — nothing!
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank mjp0117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Niantic
9.0 mi away
Saybrook Point Inn & Spa
Saybrook Point Inn & Spa
#1 of 7 in Old Saybrook
4.5 of 5 bubbles 685 reviews
0.6 mi away
Niantic Inn
Niantic Inn
#2 of 8 in Niantic
3.5 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
22.2 mi away
Madison Beach Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.5 mi away
The Whaler's Inn
The Whaler's Inn
#2 of 13 in Mystic
4.5 of 5 bubbles 635 reviews
11.9 mi away
Inn at Mystic
Inn at Mystic
#4 of 13 in Mystic
4.0 of 5 bubbles 642 reviews
8.8 mi away
Mystic Marriott Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Harbor Hill Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Harbor Hill Marina

Property: Inn at Harbor Hill Marina
Address: 60 Grand St, Niantic, CT 06357-3237
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Mystic Country > Niantic
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Niantic
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Inn at Harbor Hill Marina 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the beautiful and fun-filled CT shoreline the Inn at Harbor Hill Marina is a classic New England seaside Bed and Breakfast. Also, a three time winner of the Connecticut Golden Pineapple Award for "Excellence in Service, Hospitality and Tourism Image." The Inn at Harbor Hill Marina boasts uncompromising hospitality and service, a beautiful waterfront location and modern day amenities all while paying homage to New England's rich coastal and boating history. Our 16 guestrooms are decorated in a charming seaside decor with king & queen beds, private bathrooms (some with large soaking tubs), some w/balconies and fireplaces, all with water views, cable tv, and A/C. Guests can walk to Niantic village where restaurants, shops, antiques, a movie theater, a mile-long boardwalk and beaches await. Complimentary use of beach passes, beach chairs & umbrellas. Transient boat slips also available. The inn is just minutes to famed Mystic Seaport, Mystic Aquarium, Wineries, outlet shops, Mohegan Sun and Foxwoods Casinos, CT. College and Coast Guard Academy and so much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Inn at Harbor Hill Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Harbor Hill Marina Hotel Niantic

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing